We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont waste your money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ridge Country Retreat
Ranked #32 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Reviewed 7 July 2014

So we arrived the gate was not operational and the phone number stuck on the intercom to phone in case of problems was not connected. We were greeted by David who showed to us to an icy cold room. We asked about heating and told it would come on at 6.00pm that would be three hours away. David gave us a heater but it took two hours to heat the room. We then phoned David to tell him the heating in the bathroom was not working- he came to have a look but was not sure how it worked as he said that he only been there for two years. Bathroom had industrial size soap half full. The bed was made up of two single beds pushed together with hard linen and lumpy pillows. In the morning David offered to move us to another room where the heating worked but told us this can only be done at 4.00pm. He was under the impression that we should be very thankful that he did this,and told us he hoped this would suit us,as if we were being difficult.But if truth be told we paid $270 for a room that offered so called luxury with heated bathroom floors .At this price you are entitled to get what is being advertised so of course he should move us.It certainly was no special favor but simple common sense.. Honestly these people have no idea how to run a hotel no attention to detail, don’t waste your money going there. By the way I have stayed in 20 better hotels in the last year for business. Seriously its family run with no idea of service or comfort.

Room Tip: Do not stay in main house its an ice block with inappropriate furniture
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
11  Thank paul_behr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relaxing4U, Manager at Ridge Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

First of all, we would like to thank you for your helpful review. You have expressed some concerns that we’d like to address and let you know our view on them.

The gate communications do have a problem on damp days so it is left open when guests are expected to arrive. It was unfortunate that the wind had pushed them shut by the time you arrived. In future, the gates will be locked open to prevent this problem happening again. The phone number on the gate is my mobile number and is well connected. People using telephone providers other than Telecom experience connection issues in this area.

The temperature of the lodge is an important consideration and we are grateful that you have bought it to our attention. Your concern with this issue is completely justified and we have taken steps to ensure that all areas of the lodge will be adequately heated at all times of the day in future.

The suite bathroom floor heating was set to come on in the late afternoon, so that by about 6pm it would be warm to walk on. The heating had only just switched on when you notified me that you thought it was not working. As I mentioned to you, I was unsure whether the AUTO function of the heating control was working correctly so I switched it to MANUAL to bypass the timer and switch the heating on full-time. The result of this test would have been apparent later in the evening and definitely in the morning.
You stated in the morning that the bathroom heating was still not working. On hearing this and on account of this, I let you know that you would be upgraded. You could not be moved into the villa accommodation until the late afternoon as the occupants were not vacating until 3pm.
On inspection of your suite’s bathroom heating control, it was noted that it was inexplicably switched away from the MANUAL setting. Subsequent testing on both MANUAL and AUTO settings established that the heating was working as expected. In response to your concern, the timers in all suites have now been advanced to allow for the extra time required to preheat the floors for maximum comfort.
To prove that the bathroom floor heating was working, it was heated prior to your departure. When I mentioned to your wife that the heating was in fact working, she indicated that she was not interested.

We host retreats of up to 21 days here, hence the reason for having 500ml liquid soap containers in the bathrooms. The reason they are only half full is that we haven’t had any guests require more than 15ml per shower. We are not sure whether you think it is an issue or merely making an observation.

Your complaint that the linen was hard and the pillows were lumpy was investigated. The linen is 800 thread count 100% cotton. If you have been to a lot of hotels, you are probably used to 50/50 Polycotton Percale sheeting, which are not as crisp. We keep four pillows in each room, two firm and two soft. Generally guests can decide on a pillow that suits them. There are also two decorative pillows in each room, which have older pillows inside. There was some lumpiness detected in these, however they are for decoration only and not meant to be used for sleeping.
The beds are Commercial/Hospitality Grade Super Kings, which are able to be split into two king singles. They are top quality beds. Many high-end hotels use these beds.

We hope you were happy with the villa accommodation you were upgraded to. Considering that you spent one of the two nights of your stay in the villa, it’s a bit strange that it doesn’t get a mention. Your late check-out, which you were not charged for, does not indicate any sufferance there.

Once again, thank you for highlighting some areas for improvement. You can rest, assured that future guests at RCR will benefit from your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
There are newer reviews for Ridge Country Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

My wife and I decided on Ridge Country retreat because we wanted to get away and relax after a big build up to our wedding. Being able to relax, swim, use the gym equipment, go for walks, sit by the fire and do nothing was just what we want. Also being close to Tauranga, Papamoa and Mt Maunganui meant we were not to far from a restaurant or shops either. The other thing we loved was the bush retreat atmosphere which meant we were not close to noise, people or traffic, but when we went on trips we were close to a lot of great things to see, Rotorua, Wairere Water Falls and MataMata for Hobbiton just to name a few, let alone the country side.
Thank you David for making our time so special, it was all we hoped it would be.
We are looking forward to being back for anniversary.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the villas which over looks the retreat and the valley you won't be disappointed...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Rang at last minute & David was able to sort his & hers massages and a room with disability facilities for the night.
Beautiful peaceful location, plentiful & delicious breaky, really comfy bed, obliging host.
Great to find a quality establishment that can cater for wheelchairs thanks David!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kiwiapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relaxing4U, Manager at Ridge Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for your wonderful comments. It was such a pleasure for us to be able to provide you with a memorable stay for your anniversary. Sometimes the planets align in the most fortunate way:-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed here just for one night in February. Despite having a GPS we had a bit of difficulty finding it but once we did it was certainly worth it.
David and Lanette were both out in the garden working hard when we arrived, preparing for a wedding a couple of days later. The gardens are delightful but so is everything about the RCR. The room was very large with doors opening onto the terrace leading down to the thermal pool - could have willingly spent the morning in there.
We had been a bit concerned that we were going to have a long drive to find a meal in the evening but David directed us to the Blue Biyou in Papamoa Beach, a 10 minute drive away. It was very busy but they found us a table and we enjoyed one of the best meals of our trip.
Breakfast the next morning was a cold buffet and a pleasant casual atmosphere chatting to David. Although not central to Tauranga this is in such a beautiful setting that it is definitely worth the drive out.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rocky081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed at RCR for our wedding anniversary and had a great time. the food was amazing and we got to relax after dinner in front of the log fire. Great service from the team at RCR. The rooms all have great views.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HeliproMtCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This is a fantastic place to stay near Tauranga, but at the same time removed from everything and in the middle of beautiful bush. The pool is just amazing, and the bed was big and comfortable, no sounds heard at night. Very friendly host who left us extra early breakfast in their big kitchen.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viajeraferoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My family & I recently had the pleasure of staying at Ridge Country Retreat.

We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves with the accommodation, activities & hospitality.

Highly recommend this place.

Thanks David for a great 5 nights... much appreciated.

Rob

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob V M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relaxing4U, General Manager at Ridge Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Was a pleasure to have you here. You'll be happy to know that the development of the walking track to Kaiate Falls through adjoining properties has commenced. All the best and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
6.0 mi away
Quest on Durham
Quest on Durham
#18 of 57 in Tauranga
129 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
530 reviews
6.2 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Boatshed Motel Apartments Mt. Maunganui
Boatshed Motel Apartments Mt. Ma...
#10 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
49 reviews
6.7 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
315 reviews
7.9 mi away
Bethlehem Motor Inn and Conference Venue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridge Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridge Country Retreat

Address: 300 Rocky Cutting Rd, RD 5 | Welcome Bay, Tauranga, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Hotel Class:4 star — Ridge Country Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ridge Country Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing