We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location close but not in the city”
Review of Summit Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Summit Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location close but not in the city”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This motel ended up being a very good choice for staying near the city, with easy driving access to all the locations in the city. Hosts were very nice and helpful. The room was fine, and typically clean (as we've found in NZ), with a veranda with scenic views of a nice looking neighborhood. Easy off street parking. Good choice for an interesting city (great walk around the shore and the city mountain).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARMilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    59
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
128
63
14
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We were here for 2 nights on our summer road trip of the middle of North Island with the family. The place is located 10 mins from Mt Maunganui which was great. The 3 studio rooms we had booked were clean and comfortable and the swimming pool quite welcoming although it was cold water. The only disappointment was that the outdoor spa wasn't working, and hadn't been for 3 years. Nice place to have outdoor breakfast, and the hosts very friendly. They also provided free wifi which was great.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XcitingTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed here one night on our recent three week tour of New Zealand. Very nicely appointed, clean and spacious room...free WiFi. Hosts were very friendly and even had the Canadian flag flying to greet us...nice touch.

We ordered the breakfast from them as it saved us some time....was average in terms of meals.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Hi, I stayed four days last summer. The place was really clean and peaceful. good location, perhaps 12 or 15 min driving to the mount. Internet free was limited. :( it should be free and unlimited. beds were comfortable as well as the amenities. I will recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Rooms are very spacious and clean. The owners are such friendly people. It is a great location as well. Beds are super comfortable. Would definetely recommend this place and I would definetely stay there again if I am ever in Tauranga again. Thanks so much for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eltekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Owner at Summit Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Thank you for your positive review of the Summit Motor Lodge. Our rooms being spacious is a comment often voiced by our guests and this applies to the studios, one bedroom units and our two bedroom unit alike. It is always good, particularly when you have travelled quite a distance, to have ample room to breathe and relax. We look forward to your next visit to Tauranga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Very 70's. Sparkly ceilings, pelmets, taps. So clean and nice. It was great. Nice and handy to everything we required. No air conditioning, just open the windows and get some good clean air. The lemon tree and the roses were a nice touch.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Owner at Summit Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Thank you for your very positive words. We really enjoy our grounds and I know Judith wishes she had more time to spend pottering in them. She has managed to get the vegetable tower planted again and scrambled eggs with spring onions will once more be on the breakfast menu. The Summit is quite central as you have noted and being only ten to fifteen minutes from anywhere in Tauranga and Mount Maunganui, people are able to get where they need to go very quickly. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Tauranga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here. My 2 young sons and I stayed in a studio room which was very clean, well sound-proofed and well presented. Lovely comfortable beds. Attention to detail was much appreciated - bottles of shampoo, pump soap and moisturiser instead of the usual inch size bars of soap etc and biscuits included with the tea-making facilities. We ate out both nights but the kitchen was well-equipped should we have chosen to eat in. The boys enjoyed the swimming pool, pool table and table tennis provided. Have plans to come back again next year. Thanks Mike for your hospitality and your friendly manner.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 223Roz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Owner at Summit Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. The pool area is very relaxing and a pleasant place to while away a few hours. It is great to see you found the beds to be very comfortable - our topper pads are doing their job. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
519 reviews
2.1 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
1,080 reviews
1.8 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#9 of 57 in Tauranga
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#27 of 57 in Tauranga
298 reviews
1.1 mi away
850 Cameron Motel
850 Cameron Motel
#1 of 57 in Tauranga
204 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summit Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Motor Lodge

Property: Summit Motor Lodge
Address: 213 Waihi Road, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tauranga
#2 Spa Hotel in Tauranga
#8 Business Hotel in Tauranga
#13 Family Hotel in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summit Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet garden setting in central Tauranga, Summit Motor Lodge is just five minutes drive from the city - close enough to be convenient, far enough away to be relaxing. It's ideal accommodation for the corporate traveler, family holidays, weekend breaks or group tours. We look forward to meeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Summit Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Tauranga
Best Western Tauranga
Tauranga Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing