We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay! Nice welcome and lovely appartment.”
Review of Summit Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Summit Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I was welcomed very nicely and showed my room. I stayed at unit 4 with a queen size bed and a normal size one. Both beds were as well as the rest of the unit perfectly clean and tidy. I really liked the fluffy blankets and the fluffy pillows in addition to the normal ones. Kitchen was well equipped and there also were complimentary biscuits and a variety of coffe and different teas. Even though I only stayed one night to explore Tauranga I totally enjoyed it and I will definitely stay here again the next time I come to Tauranga.
Thanks for the nice chats and the great information about the restaurants.

Room Tip: I stayed in unit 4 and had no problems at all. A little bit of noise from the nearby petrol station...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank young_pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

263 - 269 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

We chose this motel because it was just up the road from relatives. We stayed for 4 weeks and can't praise Judith and Mike's hospitality enough. We had a one bedroom apartment which was very well equipped and kept really clean. We were provided with an extra chest of drawers so that we didn't have to live out of a suitcase. The staff are friendly and helpful and very close to supermarkets and other amenities. We highly recommend the Summit.

Room Tip: The units on the upper floor have a lovely view of Mount Manganui.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We had a 2 bedroom unit, big enough to be a small house with big kitchen, large bathroom and spacious lounge/dining. Private grassed area at the rear of the unit. Swimming pool as well.
Owners and Mollie dog super friendly. Unit clean, beds comfortable, great shower.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The hosts were fabulous, everything was so clean and tidy, wouls definitely book again if ever in Tauranga,couldn't have been more accomodating. Had the best time ever, had never been to Tauranga before.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 939Susanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This motel ended up being a very good choice for staying near the city, with easy driving access to all the locations in the city. Hosts were very nice and helpful. The room was fine, and typically clean (as we've found in NZ), with a veranda with scenic views of a nice looking neighborhood. Easy off street parking. Good choice for an interesting city (great walk around the shore and the city mountain).

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARMilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We were here for 2 nights on our summer road trip of the middle of North Island with the family. The place is located 10 mins from Mt Maunganui which was great. The 3 studio rooms we had booked were clean and comfortable and the swimming pool quite welcoming although it was cold water. The only disappointment was that the outdoor spa wasn't working, and hadn't been for 3 years. Nice place to have outdoor breakfast, and the hosts very friendly. They also provided free wifi which was great.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XcitingTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed here one night on our recent three week tour of New Zealand. Very nicely appointed, clean and spacious room...free WiFi. Hosts were very friendly and even had the Canadian flag flying to greet us...nice touch.

We ordered the breakfast from them as it saved us some time....was average in terms of meals.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
542 reviews
2.1 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
1,126 reviews
1.8 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#7 of 57 in Tauranga
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#23 of 57 in Tauranga
315 reviews
1.1 mi away
850 Cameron Motel
850 Cameron Motel
#1 of 57 in Tauranga
228 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summit Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Motor Lodge

Address: 213 Waihi Road, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Tauranga
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tauranga
#8 Business Hotel in Tauranga
#13 Family Hotel in Tauranga
Price Range: £69 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summit Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet garden setting in central Tauranga, Summit Motor Lodge is just five minutes drive from the city - close enough to be convenient, far enough away to be relaxing. It's ideal accommodation for the corporate traveler, family holidays, weekend breaks or group tours. We look forward to meeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Summit Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Tauranga
Best Western Tauranga
Tauranga Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing