We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'd move to Tauranga in a second and live at this hotel!”
Review of Hotel on Devonport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel on Devonport
Ranked #3 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“We'd move to Tauranga in a second and live at this hotel!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We fell in love with Tauranga the moment we arrived. The Hotel on Devonport was a fabulous, modern establishment. We loved the central location and the quiet room. The complimentary wine in the room was a lovely touch as well! The washoom with heated towel racks and large glass shower was beautiful and we slept very soundly in the big, comfy bed. We strolled through the cobble-stone streets, lined with fragrant lilac trees on our way to a fabulous dinner at a Mexican restaurant. The next morning we climbed Mt Maunganui and soaked in the hot pools afterwards. It was incredible. We grabbed a Copenhagen cone on the way out of town as well. Tauranga is an incredible, beautiful little town.. we'd move there in a heartbeat! We can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theRoamingMurphys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelondevonport, General Manager at Hotel on Devonport, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we loved to hear how you enjoyed your visit to the hotel and the local area. Yes please, you definitely must come back and visit us again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    142
    27
    5
    4
See reviews for
87
271
20
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hornchurch
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Very modern hotel with spacious rooms. Staff were very helpful and the hotel is located in the centre of town so within walking distance of shops and restaurants. Car parking was included which was handy. Whilst in Tauranga definitely head down to the beach and would recommend Kaiate Falls (hidden waterfalls) even if you're not an experienced hiker its worth it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cher2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelondevonport, General Manager at Hotel on Devonport, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments, I will certainly pass these on to our team. We love our location too, it is so easy to walk everywhere, perhaps not to the beautiful Kaiate Falls, but certainly to everything in central Tauranga. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Great room.Staff very helpful and friendly.The great location of the Hotel was in the main city.Everything was in walking distance.I would recommend this Hotel to everyone.You will be given complimentary drinks on arrival,secure parking.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelondevonport, General Manager at Hotel on Devonport, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
We were so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us again. Thank you so much for taking the time to place a review and I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband and I returned here after staying for our wedding over 2 years ago, the Hotel was as good as ever, and provided us with a lovely quite night away. We were given complimentary drinks on arrival, secure car parking and free unlimited wifi.

We were able to order dinner in from a nearby restaurant and enjoy it in our room, which was nice treat in winter.

Staff were always extremelt friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mclarky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelondevonport, General Manager at Hotel on Devonport, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Hotel on Devonport, we really appreciate your kind comments and hope in the future we can welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

SUPERB BOUTIQUE HOTEL IN THE CITY

My family and I stayed one night at this hotel with a city view.

This suite room, which looks more like a studio apartment to me, consists of 1 bedroom and a convertible double sofa bed in the living room, sleeps 4. Beds are very comfortable too and so is the double sofa bed in the living room. Comes equipped with a compact kitchenette with a mini bar, cutlery and crockery, bread toaster and even a microwave oven with coffee and tea making facilities, a fridge and safe and 2 bathrobes were provided for guests’ use. There is also an ironing board and iron and hair dryer as well. There are two sky tvs, one in the bedroom and the other in the living room with two sofas. Ensuite bathroom is big with a spa bath and a standing shower with a heated towel rail in the bathroom. There is also a small balcony.
A large welcome drink is provided upon arrival and sent to your room. Each room is entitled to 100MB free wifi per night and there are complimentary apples in the lobby as well as newspapers. There is also secure parking at the basement of the hotel. Staff are friendly, helpful and cheerful. Breakfast is offered as room service only as they do not have their own onsite restaurant. Delivery of meals can also be made to your room with orders from several nearby restaurants.
Location is great within walking distance to all the shops and restaurants.
My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this superb hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelondevonport, General Manager at Hotel on Devonport, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you so much for your extensive review of the hotel, we really do appreciate it. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 1 night (a rare weekend without kids) so wanted something nice. We weren't disappointed. Our room was comfortable, quiet and had a lovely view. Thoroughly recommend spending the extra to book one of the new Harbour View rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stansta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelondevonport, General Manager at Hotel on Devonport, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hotel on Devonport.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 1 night for our 1st anniversary.

We booked the room and then paid an additional $70 for the romance package. This included a bottle of bubbles, 2 chocolates, a small teddy bear, cooked breakfast and a late check out (12pm).

When we arrived we were greeted by friendly staff. We got up to our room and they had put (fake) rose petals on the floor and bed. A little while later we were delivered our bottle of bubbles and our complementary glass of wine and chips.

The room was to a high standard and very clean.


The bed wasn't that comfortable and the 1 pillow we had each was worse.

The cooked breakfast was very nice.

My biggest complaint was not having any milk in the fridge for a morning coffee. Oh, and the cleaners trying to get into our room half an hour before check out while I was getting dressed after getting out of the shower.

You also have to pay an extra $10 for parking which I thought was a bit on the nose.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelondevonport, General Manager at Hotel on Devonport, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review of Hotel on Devonport.

We were delighted to hear you were happy with the room and our service. Thank you also for your feedback with regards to the bed, we are delighted to advise we are currently in the process of upgrading the beds in all of our rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.7 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#4 of 57 in Tauranga
1,087 reviews
1.7 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest on Durham
Quest on Durham
#19 of 57 in Tauranga
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#7 of 57 in Tauranga
308 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#27 of 57 in Tauranga
302 reviews
1.9 mi away
850 Cameron Motel
850 Cameron Motel
#1 of 57 in Tauranga
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on Devonport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on Devonport

Property: Hotel on Devonport
Address: 72 Devonport Road, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tauranga
#2 Family Hotel in Tauranga
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tauranga
#2 Business Hotel in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel on Devonport 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Tauranga, Hotel on Devonport offers a modern boutique style property with an emphasis on style, service and comfort. Stay connected with your office or loved ones with free high speed Wi-Fi in every room or relax with a choice of over 60 Sky TV channels. Choose from 5 room types with balconies and views of either the city or harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel on Devonport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On Devonport Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing