We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation and very welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
Ranked #5 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation and very welcoming”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We arrived here and were instantly greeted by lovely staff and made to feel very welcomed!!! We loved this place so much that we cancelled our Auckland accommodation ( still had to pay:( , however well worth this amazing scenery!!). We ate at Zeytin which hubby claimed to have his best meal (and he even enjoyed my vegetarian plate- which I might add - was amazing).... Our second night we ate at Phoenix (despite my horror by the stuffed animals, they served a lovely vegetarian dish) and apparently served hubby the BEST meal ever!!! We wish we had discovered the Bay of Plenty well before having Ito head back home to Australia!!!

Room Tip: Loved this place and would definitely return!!! Felt so welcome and staff were wonderful!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    79
    24
    3
    5
See reviews for
31
144
6
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Zwijndrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

In February we spent two nights in a Waterfront Suite on the first floor. Our room was modern, tastefully furnished with a nice complete kitchenette that even had a real Nespresso machine. The room was spotlessly clean. Although it was not very big, it was one of the better accommodations we stayed in during our four-week New Zealand holiday. When we arrived we were a bit disappointed that our room didn’t had a balcony, however the huge window facing the bay was really nice. Although there's a railway bridge near the motel, there is no noise of trains. Front desk service was very friendly and offered us a free bottle of water as it had been a hot day!

Room Tip: Waterfront rooms have a nice view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonia-en-Rudolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

What excellent service from Sandra. We arrived on a wet night and she had turned on the heating for us, provided us with some complimentary fruit and juice, than put cones by our (rather specia ) car in the car park. So thoughtful and friendly. The room was spacious, the bed the best ever for my husband's bad back and then in the morning we enjoyed lovely views over the water.

Room Tip: Some have views - just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antoinette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I organised with Sandra a one night stay and conference at The Tauranga. Sandra was very accommodating and went well above and beyond expectations, Changing the menu as suited for our desires. Adding on and Changing last minute accommodating with us. Sandra catered to my every question and very needy phone calls, with no hesitation. The CEO and my managers who attended and stayed at The Tauranga were overwhelmed with the food, service and accommodation. Very well done! will definitely be using this in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahJoyLeighs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porirua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed in one of the waterfront rooms with lovely views over the harbour - just like the pictures on the website. Great location - quiet and yet so close to The Strand and all the great restaurant choices. Staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Request one of the waterfront rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WellingtonJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
253 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We only spent a night here but found this place to be among the best motels we stayed at in NZ. The bed was almost brand new and comfortable. The kitchen layout was a bit odd but serviceable. The woman checking us in was very helpful, showing me the room and explaining all its features. As is the case in some other NZ cities you are better off NOT having a waterfront view as with the view comes noise from a busy street.

Room Tip: Upper level away from the waterfront makes for the quietest night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joerussin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

While visiting New Zealand celebrating our 30th anniversary we decided to spend a few nights at The Tauranga at the Waterfront. It was the best decision we made as we were initially going to stay in Mount Maunganui but after enjoying the beach there we realized that there were limited restaurant choices and shops whereas The Tauranga on the Waterfront is located within walking distance to the town centre. There was an abundance of restaurants to choose from and great shops (definitely ask Sandra at the front desk where to go for the best coffee; she was truly helpful in every way). Due to unfortunate circumstances, we arrived a day early of our reservation and was personally greeted by the owner of this lovely establishment. Not only were we taken in immediately but also upgraded to a lovely suite with an incredible view. We loved the spaciousness of the room; the vaulted ceilings and the incredible double sink bathroom with the best non-scented Earth Botantic products. The staff are amazing from housekeeping to the front desk; all who made us feel very special indeed. The owner arranged for us to have an early check in and had fresh flowers and chocolate awaiting us. We would highly recommend staying at The Tauranga on the Waterfront as it truly offers the luxury accommodation we were looking for celebrating our anniversary.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retiredandlovingit0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.9 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#4 of 57 in Tauranga
1,081 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
519 reviews
1.7 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quest on Durham
Quest on Durham
#19 of 57 in Tauranga
126 reviews
0.6 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#6 of 57 in Tauranga
305 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#27 of 57 in Tauranga
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel

Property: The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
Address: 1 Second Avenue, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tauranga
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tauranga
#10 Business Hotel in Tauranga
#12 Family Hotel in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Tauranga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing