We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something good happened here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Ranked #4 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We have stayed before and had an ok experience BUT this time was great. Staff are so friendly and helpful, they actually seem to enjoy their jobs. The restaurant is fabulous, something special for all tastes. The first night we had Tapas in the bar/lounge area on a comfy couch. The second night was fine dining at reasonable price in the restaurant. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. Lovely stay. The only down side was very unreliable internet which staff apologised profusely for. The cooked breakfast could have been kept hotter, was warm only.

Room Tip: If you want water view room you must specify on booking and check availability as they are popular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose_G421, Manager at Trinity Wharf Tauranga, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Lovely to hear you found your recent stay much more enjoyable than in the past. We are consistantly looking at ways to improve our services so this feedback is most appreciated. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

795 - 801 of 1,140 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

the hotel was great but the beds were too soft. they had two singles combine to make a queen/king size bed, not ideal if you are looking to stay more than 2 nights. you will get a sore back on your third night. but they should really upgrade their beds. over all the hotel itself was great, good view. located at the beach with water views.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosypin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose_G421, Manager at Trinity Wharf Tauranga, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for your recent review, sorry to hear you found our beds too soft, this isnt a comment we hear often at all. All our rooms with split beds are in the superior category only so would recommend a balcony room or higher to ensure just a king bed without the split. We do look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband made a surprise booking to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. He purchased a $450 package which was to include, chocolates on arrival, a 3 course meal with sparkling wine and breakfast. My husband wanted to ensure the room itself was extra special given the occasion we were celebrating and that we effectively wouldn't be leaving the hotel once we arrived. He emphasized this when making the reservation and the lady he spoke to gave him assurances she'd secured a lovely room for the evening. Unfortunately it would seem throughout the course of the day someone else got checked into our lovely room and we ended up in a poky little room with peeps of the sea beneath concrete pillars. We'd stayed here before by the pool for $180 and had incredible views and our room was just lovely. We spoke with the front desk to see if a mistake had been made and were assured this wasn't the case and they were fully booked and couldn't do anything about it. As my husband went to such lengths to ensure the right type of room was secured and given the total spend of $450 we agreed we just couldn't justify the spend and would have felt like we'd wasted our money. Staying at home would have been nicer with more space available to us. It just didn't make any sense to continue on so we checked out. It was enormously disappointing that the hotel doesn't ensure that these type of packages get better rooms. They'd easily have sold the room they gave us to some happy customers who were simply wanting a night in a hotel to sleep. We were after a total experience and really felt they missed the mark. We felt a bit sorry for the guy on front desk. He bumbled his way through trying to help us and wasn't really empowered to do anything. It was actually quite strange at how simple it seemed for them to watch us walk out the door on what for us was such a special occasion. We're well travelled and have stayed in some stunning hotels across the world and don't mind paying a higher price for a great experience. This hotel on this particular night really failed to get it right with us. Pretty disappointed.

Room Tip: I'm not sure what else we could have done to get a room with better views. My husband spoke to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
8  Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose_G421, Manager at Trinity Wharf Tauranga, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for you recent review, sorry to hear you were disappointed and had to leave so early. We do recommend booking early to avoid missing out on our Premium water view/Premium Water view spa rooms. We do hope you will book again and request one of these room types rather than the Harbour View room category.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed here overnight and really enjoyed this hotel. Restaurant was great and breakfast included yummy. Our room was a little small, (we had our son with us) and the harbour view was a water view rather than full waterfront. Nevertheless we liked it - very good big bathroom and if we go again we would be sure to request a full harbour view. The whole experience was well worth it!

Stayed: September 2013
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose_G421, Manager at Trinity Wharf Tauranga, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay! We do look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Our family stayed here in a 2 bedroom apartment. No sea view though, but a balcony that overlooked the entrance and carpark. Across the road the train kept us amused as carriages were shunted by.
It was a huge apartment, and very nicely furnished, well maintained and clean.
Just a couple of things that may be useful to know... the shower was over the big spa bath - this might be an issue for someone with mobility problems, as you need to climb into the bath to use the shower,and there were not enough handrails. Also to note - only one mirror in the whole 2 bedroom apartment, which was in the bathroom. I would normally expect a full length mirror in the master bedroom. One mirror meant we had to wait our turn to do hair, makeup etc while others were showering.
We had a nice experience at this hotel and would stay again, next time perhaps requesting a sea view, as staying at the back of the hotel did not really give us the full appreciation of staying on the water.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvonnebad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose_G421, Manager at Trinity Wharf Tauranga, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay and will visit again. Yes our 2 Bedroom Harbour View Apartment may be the best option for a similar experience where you can enjoy the beautiful water views. We do look forward to seeing you again. Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This hotel is a wonderful showcase for experiencing the best NZ has to offer- the location is amazing but you do need a room with water view. We had Room 125 which was right over the sea. What better way to lunch than with room service of fish and chips, a glass of Sauvignon, sitting on your own balcony over the water. Reception staff are friendly and helpful, rooms lovely, dining experience is good too- again with stunning views over water and efficient staff. We enjoyed our meal, (except for disappointing bread and dips) but I do think the prices for main meals are too expensive and there are so many restaurants on the waterfront with equally good food but less expensive.
However, the convenience and pleasant experience of strolling down the corridor to enjoy your dinner is a persuasive reason to dine at Halo Restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose_G421, Manager at Trinity Wharf Tauranga, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you, great to hear your lovely review and so pleased you enjoyed this visit. We do hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I stayed here for 2 night's while in town for work, and i asked for a room with a balcony, this was granted and i had a lovely room with a view to the harbour, location is great, and some great places to run
Bed was comfortable, bathroom was lovely with heated flooring, a great big shower and a bath.
air conditioning, good table set up for working at.
Like some other comments i also like a hot chocolate at night, and they had none.
I had room service both nights and both meals were very good, nice and warm and delivered quickly. One night the internet played up and was very slow but the reception staff were onto this quickly, no other problems with it. Room size is good.
Very quiet, I could only just hear doors closing, but no other noise which is great.

Room Tip: I was in Room 118 and that is great on the 1st floor so no stair or elevator to use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danjonelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose_G421, Manager at Trinity Wharf Tauranga, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, we appreciate your feedback and do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
543 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quest on Durham
Quest on Durham
#18 of 57 in Tauranga
136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#23 of 57 in Tauranga
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#9 of 57 in Tauranga
313 reviews
2.1 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
333 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity Wharf Tauranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity Wharf Tauranga

Address: 51 Dive Crescent, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand (Formerly The Sebel Trinity Wharf Tauranga)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tauranga
#7 Family Hotel in Tauranga
#11 Business Hotel in Tauranga
#13 Romantic Hotel in Tauranga
Price Range: £101 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trinity Wharf Tauranga 4.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat that reaches out to the ever-changing waters of the Tauranga Harbourand captures the very essence of New Zealand hospitality. This is a truly unique hotel located on and over the waters edge.Situated on the Pacific Coast Highway, in the sunny Bay of Plenty Region, Trinity Wharf Tauranga is surrounded by a diverse range of leisure and entertainment activities. It is essentially a gathering place - be it to 'gather yourself' or to gather with others. A place where you can be as active, or as restful as you like. Free wifi available throughout the hotel for in-house guests, and 176 on-site car parks. Accommodation: Architecturally designed across three central piers, Trinity Wharf Tauranga presents 123 well appointed guest rooms, of which 60 can accommodate twin share options for group travel or wedding guests. Two Bedroom and Three Bedroom Apartment options with fully equipped kitchen, laundry and spacious lounge/ dining areas make for an excellent family haven. Premium Water View Spa Guestrooms and the Trinity Wharf Suite provide spectacular harbour views, balconies on or over the water and offer luxurious spa baths - perfect for a special leisure escape. Events: Five versatile event venues provide excellent options for in-house residential conferences or special occasions. The Trinity Rooms (with capacity for up to 350 guests) have direct access to the hotel pontoon, enabling event guests to easily make their way to a boat transfer or an awaiting helicopter. For more intimate cocktail gatherings, product launches or corporate meetings, the Pool House Rooms (capacity for up to 80 guests) open on to the infinity edge pool and the refreshing harbour views beyond. An Exhibition Hall suitable for up to 28 trade display booths or themed gala dinners can seat up to 400 people theatre style. Lounge & Dining: Halo Lounge and Dining serves a fantastic array of breakfast, brunch, lunch, dinner and supper options, as well as a fine cup of espresso, cocktails and an excellent wine selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Trinity Wharf Tauranga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Trinity Wharf Tauranga Hotel Tauranga
Sebel Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Sebel Trinity Wharf Hotel Tauranga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing