We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Comfort Inn Academy
Nearby Hotels
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trinity Wharf Tauranga(Tauranga)(Great Value!)
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
850 Cameron Motel(Tauranga)(Great Value!)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ASURE Harbour View Motel(Tauranga)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cottage Park Thermal Motel(Tauranga)(Great Value!)
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour City Motor Inn(Tauranga)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel(Tauranga)(Great Value!)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel on Devonport(Tauranga)(Great Value!)
US$142
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Summit Motor Lodge(Tauranga)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveller rating
115
51
6
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
115
51
6
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscook tophistoric villagewalk in showerprivate areafriendly hostsground coffeespa bathroad sideexcellent breakfastplace to staywater pressurecomfortable roomsa great staynight stayroad noisegood sizestayed for nights
Filter
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 179 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I needed to be in Tauranga overnight for speaking engagement, and was provided a room at the Academy Motor Inn. The hosts were lovely and helpful, the room was very clean, which I appreciated and the room had every amenity I needed for my stay. The Wi-Fi access worked reliably, there was a hairdryer and good iron available for getting ready, and I was able to order breakfast, which was delivered to my room at the time I requested.

The only thing which I didn't particularly like was the mattress - it was a bit hard for me. The location is good - convenient to the Historic Village as well as the 16th Ave Theatre. The trade-off is that is was a bit noisy, as it is located at a very busy intersection.

Overall a very good stay and would recommend to others who find themselves in that part of the city.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMyers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladco, Owner at Comfort Inn Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for your review of our motel after your recent stay. We try to provide all the essentials for a comfortable stay. We are disappointed that the mattress was not to your satisfaction.
Gladys & Kelvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Lovely clean rooms with a real cosy feel to them. I especially enjoy that the units have a back door which leads out to a private area. Super helpful and friendly hosts. More than happy to recommend the Academy!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladco, Owner at Comfort Inn Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

We are pleased that you enjoy our motel. We hear it can be a sociable area out the back of the units. You never know what other smokers and non-smokers are enjoying the area. Thanks for your review and we look forward to seeing you on your next business trip.

Gladys & Kelvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The rooms were tidy and clean with the fittings being in good repair. Also the plunger coffee was a great hit! The staff were friendly however maybe a little over the top by drawing curtains and turning lights on while we were away, maybe a little invasive of privacy??

Room Tip: The one bedroom suite away from the main road was a must for me as light sleeper.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladco, Owner at Comfort Inn Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us. As owners it is our special touch that if a guest is out and it is getting dark, we shut the curtains and turn on the lights to give you a welcoming return to your room. In the winter we also turn the heater on so you don't get back to a cold room. We certainly don't intend to make a guest feel that their privacy has been invaded. When next time you come to stay, please let us know that you don't want us to perform this gesture of hospitality.
Gladys & Kelvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Recently stayed at the Academy Motor Inn over the weekend, place was clean and well presented staff were friendly and very helpful. Ordered the breakfast which arrived with a knock at the door can't complain at all.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladco, Owner at Comfort Inn Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thank you for posting a review of our motel. We are pleased that you enjoyed our service and the breakfast delivered to your door - we hope you enjoyed the breakfast. We look forward to having you stay when you are next in Tauranga.
Gladys & Kelvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

A friendly and warm welcome from the hostess, Gladys. Loved the clean unit we were in as it was very neat and spotless. Nice decor and furnishings and it was such a delight to have fluffy white towels in the bathroom and have my morning coffee from a coffee plunger in an ample supplied kitchen that cater for most of our needs during our stay. Was nice to be able to relax and enjoy the spa pool there too. Nice location as almost handy to everything, place looked nice from the road too. I would definately choose to stay there on my next visit. I highly recommend Academy for all your options and needs in Tauranga.

Room Tip: we were on ground level across from the Motel reception and found the studio unit was just as quiet and accommodating for all our needs.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lillian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladco, Owner at Comfort Inn Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for your review showing your appreciation of our motel and service. Kelvin has worked hard since we started here in March, which is reflected in the fresh new colour which makes the motel more welcoming. We are doing our best to provide a quality, comfortable stay and it is lovely to find it is appreciated. Thanks again.
Gladys & Kelvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews