We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay at again”
Review of Quest on Durham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quest on Durham
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will stay at again”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

I purchased a two night stay at Quest in Tauranga, this included parking and breakfast. I was very impressed with the quality of accommodation. The apartment was larger than expected, spa bath, balcony and the bed was very comfortable. I was exhausted and when I entered the apartment I felt it welcome me to rest. It was very clean and spacious. I would have liked to have received the internet password on arrival but it only took a phone call to get in.
It was in the main shopping in Tauranga and only 2 minutes walk to the water. This was so refreshing. I found the staff polite and accommodating also. for the price I will definitely stay at this place again if I am in Tauranga.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quest T, Night Manager at Quest on Durham, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Thanks so much for your positive feedback. We have addressed the internet access as suggested thanks for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    53
    17
    10
    6
See reviews for
27
53
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Stayed here in December 2012. Well appointed room but was disappointed to see that all guest floors were on the bottom floor with no views. I can understand that this is an apartment complex with commercial tenants, however would have looked elsewhere if I knew you could not get a view for the cost of $150 NZ per night. Close to shops and strand.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank btnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quest T, Night Manager at Quest on Durham, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Our rooms are located on Ground Floor as you state but we do in fact have as many on the 1st floor as well. Many of our apartments on both floors have nice harbour views and some with good outlooks to a nearby park. Sorry none of those were available for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
118 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

It pains me to have to say it but big is not always better.

I booked this on the phone with Quest after asking for Quest in Mount Maunganui. The reservations person clearly told me it was the Quest Tauranga but being a Pommie tourist I didn't realise there was a difference and so we found ourselves on the wrong side of the bay.

The check in was easy enough. Parking was a white knuckle right down a precipitous slope into the bowels of the earth down to basement level 4. (Another thing I didn't realise is that most of the building is residents only so the tourists are relegated to the bottom.) The parking space was tight so I was reluctant to get the car out again while we were there.

The apartment itself was huge. We had a one bedroom apartment that would have comfortably slept six on a combination of a double bedroom and two sofa beds but the facilities themselves were a bit worn out. The bed slumped badly in the middle, the spa bath didn't work and don't get me started on the internet. Internet by cable? Well OK, if I have to but it didn't work. At all. No connectivity at all. The reception guy came straight up and offered me to try my laptop in another room and then to move us if it worked but by then we had unpacked and I was using the washing machine by then so we weren't keen to do this.
I asked about WiFi and was told that the one modem they had was already out on loan. Really? in 2012 they only have one modem?
I resorted to hanging off some free WiFi from the public library a massive 5Mb of it...

Luckily the weather was fab so we were out and about and ultimately it wasn't a massive deal but it wasn't what we had come to expect from our other stays with Quest while we were in New Zealand.

I know that Quest have only recently taken this property over but for goodness sake, a comfortable bed a bath that works and Wifi aren't much to ask, are they?

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angels1five
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quest T, Night Manager at Quest on Durham, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Unfortunately we cannot do anything about the location of the car park. Note your comments though. What we can and have done is to sort out a few things we do control.

We are part way through replacment of the beds. We have installed WI-FI throughout all the rooms we manage and like many new installations have had a few glitches we hope these are over and we are up with the rest of the 21st century.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012 via mobile

Sadly this was not a pleasant experience for me. The kids were Ok on the other side of the apartment, but unfortunately my room backed onto the car park which come 2am became a hang out for all the local teenagers and their cars, with a lot of noise.

Prior to this I had to contend with a party in a 'residents' apartment next door and on level above, which come 11.30 I'd had enough and called the resort manager. Aaron was attentive, and advised he'd see what he could do. Unfortunately the party kicked off again at 3am and went on to 5am with residents deciding to hang out on their balcony, topped off with a haka at 4am. Also, I have never slept anywhere where cigarette smoke somehow oozed through the seal of the window, so to be catching that at 4am was not pleasant.

Smashed bottles and noise in between all this from the car park resulted in the worst nights sleep I've had in a long time.

Everything else about the apartment was great - clean, spacious and great access to town although I have given this a poor location mark for its backing onto the car park. At 2am there were about 30 cars in there. At 8am there were 3.

My recommendation - do not sleep in rooms backing onto car park, especially at weekends, unless Quest fit them with double glazing - the kids slept great elsewhere in the apartment.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GolfNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quest T, Night Manager at Quest on Durham, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Thanks for your comments. Since taking over the complex we have continued to have discussions with the local police who have paid much more attention to this location. We have to our knowledge had no further major disturbances form inside the complex. We will always take firm action of anyone disturbing other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
214 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Great location just a short walk from The Strand where most of the bars and restaurants are but far enough away to be quiet.

Really good sized studio apartment which would easily sleep 4 as the main bed area was separated by shutters. Good bathroom marred only by not-so-hot water in the morning, otherwise recommended.

Service was OK, functional but friendly.

Room Tip: Stayed on the ground floor but still very quiet, no road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveCardiff_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quest T, Night Manager at Quest on Durham, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Thanks for the feedback. Unfortunately the whole building is supplied from one hot water boiler. At the time you stayed they had some technical issues and we apologise it affected your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Reception were very welcoming and knowledgeable about restaurants and the surroundings. Small spa bath in room but great spa bath & sauna facility for guests. Narrow hallways & uncomfortable bed make this a slightly overpriced hotel.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra & get a lot more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dreese005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quest T, Night Manager at Quest on Durham, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Unfortunately we cannot do anything about the location or the cinstruction of the halways although we are a little supprised as our corridors are 2.0m wide. We note your comments though. What we can and have done is to sort out a few things we do control.

We are part way through replacment of the beds and bedding and have installed WI-FI throughout all the rooms we manage. Thanks for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#7 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#30 of 57 in Tauranga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
1.7 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on Durham

Property: Quest on Durham
Address: 6 Durham Street, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand (Formerly Quest Tauranga)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest on Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Tauranga Serviced Apartments are located in the heart of Tauranga's exceptional shopping, dining and nightlife. Explore the fantastic boutique stores, cafes, restaurants and bars that line the surrounding streets. Quest Tauranga offers a mix of 29 studio, one, two and three bedroom self-contained serviced apartments with comfortable and modern furnishings and all the great services and amenities Quest is known for. Each apartment features a spacious living area, full kitchen, deluxe spa bath (except our two fully enabled wheel chair accessible apartments), comfortable king size beds, and wifi or broadband internet access. Whether you are in the Bay Of Plenty for business or leisure, Quest Tauranga invites you to enjoy the finest quality Tauranga accommodation in a perfect location and service of the highest standard. Whether you are looking for accommodation for One Night, One Week, One Month ; Quest Tauranga offers a unique "Home Away from Home" experience. Quest Tauranga's reception hours are 7.30Am to 7pm Monday-Friday and 8am to 4pm Weekends and public holidays. Guest may still check in after these times using our after hours check in service and call centre. Instructions for this can be found outside reception doors. Onsite secure car parking is available at an additional cost; however spaces are limited so please book in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest on Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing