We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!!”
Review of Quest on Durham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quest on Durham
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The receptionist working on Saturday was fantastic. She was friendly and very helpful. Spacious, clean rooms, very comfortable bed, kitchen was fantastic.The shower/spa bath was a nice addition but the spa bath plugs/jets were peeling and looked old which is why I did not use the spa bath. The covering on the dining chairs was very badly peeled and looked awful especially when compared to the other lovely furnishings, strange that these chairs are still being used? Balcony was small but adequate with a table and 2 chairs, lovely view
Undercover Carpark is difficult to manouvre through, great for small cars though! Nice to be close to restaurants and town centre and still be surprisingly quiet. We enjoyed our stay but would hope the chairs are replaced next time we are there, they were bad!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denise d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
There are newer reviews for Quest on Durham
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

The day we checked in lifts werent working due to a flood caused by workmen on the reception level floor- so had to carry all our belongings - which was a lot - up the stairs to our room, not a fun start - and also had the loud noise of the machines used to dry out the area - I understand it was beyond the Quest's control.
Room was spacious, modern and tidy. We had a good view of the harbour :)
Bit disapointed that the Spa is not now working - website may need updating.
And our washer/dryer trapped our clothes - told the reception first thing in the morning that it wasnt working - we needed our clothes out as we were in Tauranga for a wedding! Housekeeping rewashed our washing in the afternoon, but that did not solve the problem. Seen reception again, they came up and screwdrived the door open, and gave us another room key to use their washer/dryer, which was good - but the dryer I found on these front loaders was crap. So we came home with bags and bags of dirty washing.
Great location, we walked down to The Strand for dinner easily.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirsten85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

When looking for a place to stay in Tauranga I was drawn to Quest due to the photos. The rooms looked huge, with a spa bath and a balcony. I booked and was very excited for a weekend away. On arrival, reception was very pleasant, she gave me instructions to the car park and then I set off. We didn't even attempt to park as we had bikes on the back of the ute and the entrance was tiny. When we got to our room I was very confused, my one bedroom apartment, with a separate lounge area was in fact one big room. WE had to draw pull across panels to separate the room from the lounge (not at all what I wanted or what I saw in the photos advertised online). We then stepped out to see the balcony, it was legitimately a foot in width and about a meter and a half in legnth. After concluding that our balcony wasn'rt really a fun place to hang out we set off to find the spa. When we got there we discovered a note on the door saying the spa was out of order due to lack of use and it advised us to use our own spa baths in our room - only problem was our plug didn't work and when I wen to reception at 6:50pm it was already closed though it is said to be manned from 7am - 7pm. I would not at all stay again at a rate of $175.00 a night, it was an absolute rip off.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gisborne1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quest T, Owner at Quest on Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback and comments. We unfortunately are unable to change the room layouts and balcony sizes but if approached will always see if we can change a guests allotted room to better meet their needs. The issue with the spa bath could have been easily fixed so please do always contact reception whatever the hour and the secrets of the plugs (which are confusing) can be readily revealed. The spa bath issue is one that equally frustrates us. This facility is part of the recreation facility supplied run and maintained by the Body Corporate. We have no say in having this repaired and have removed it from our publicity material. Thanks for your positive staff comments and rest assured we appreciate all feedback positive or negative. In this way we can improve what and how we do everything.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We had delays getting into Tauranga so we checked in at 5:30am - the manager simply requested that we call him when we were leaving Auckland and he would be ready to meet us at reception. We stayed in the 3 bedroom apartment for 4 nights with our group.The franchisee and his team were fantastic to work with, and provided us with friendly service, great facilities and lots of information about Tauranga. The rooms and beds were great, we were given late checkout on the Sunday, and our group of 30 people was treated as old friends! I would highly recommend this location!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BronwynM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We chose the one-bedroom and it was on the main floor with massive patio. Fantastic service from Duncan/Front Desk, the cafe/restaurant and cleaning service. Everyone was super nice and helpful. Incredible shower!!! Everything you need in a kitchen on holiday. Could easily accommodate a small family by utilizing sleeper sofa. Plenty of space. Walkable to the Strand. Secure parking. High speed internet available. Only issues in our room were: sometimes the entry key was difficult and took several tries to get into the room, our dishwasher would turn itself on and error out - not sure why. Fantastic stay with great people in a beautiful location. Close to everything, easy drive to 'the Mount' without the pedestrian traffic or noise! Loved it.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid of the main floor in order to score a massive patio - shared with a few, but sti...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Stayed for 1 night with my husband. Although the location is fantastic it is close to town and a car park that is used by drunks all night, however I understand this is out of their control maybe sound proofing the rooms would be of help. When arrving the gentleman is so lovely and helpful. But in the room the chairs to the dining table and desk have a vinyl that is all peeling off. The jets in the spa bath did not work, and the bathroom was averagely cleaned. It was our first time staying however I don't think we will stay again and we would not recommend to others. Disappointing really. If you have a large vehicle I would not recommend the paid undercover parking as it is two floors down and extremely tight. The bed had a dip in the middle so unless you enjoy sleeping on top of each other all night that was stink too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daniele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

After our previous nights stay in a very average hotel in Taupo, this one came as a lovely surprise. A quite large multi storey building with the Quest apartments on the lower levels, our apartment had a nice balcony and a nice view of the town along with part of the bay.

Lots of room here - no poky motel or dingy bathrooms - all very good quality. Nice furnishings, quiet, good aircon, quality towels; very well presented. Walking distance of only a couple of minutes to a huge range of quality restaurants along the waterfront. Helpful chap on the reception desk on arrival but the checkout lady next morning seemed pretty disinterested in the whole process.

One bug - horrid entry to carpark underneath the building on a really steep slope and curve (the security shutter closed before our eyes before we could even reach it), but even having negotiated that your trouble isn't over with extremely tight ingress/egress for the entire carpark between levels - which shows in the thick paint marks left on the pillars and the thick black tyre marks on the kerbs by many others who have clearly failed the test. Don't try to get a large vehicle in this carpark.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_and_Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.5 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
1,101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
530 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#8 of 57 in Tauranga
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#29 of 57 in Tauranga
305 reviews
1.7 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
315 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on Durham

Address: 6 Durham Street, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand (Formerly Quest Tauranga)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Price Range: £86 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest on Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Tauranga Serviced Apartments are located in the heart of Tauranga's exceptional shopping, dining and nightlife. Explore the fantastic boutique stores, cafes, restaurants and bars that line the surrounding streets. Quest Tauranga offers a mix of 29 studio, one, two and three bedroom self-contained serviced apartments with comfortable and modern furnishings and all the great services and amenities Quest is known for. Each apartment features a spacious living area, full kitchen, deluxe spa bath (except our two fully enabled wheel chair accessible apartments), comfortable king size beds, and wifi or broadband internet access. Whether you are in the Bay Of Plenty for business or leisure, Quest Tauranga invites you to enjoy the finest quality Tauranga accommodation in a perfect location and service of the highest standard. Whether you are looking for accommodation for One Night, One Week, One Month ; Quest Tauranga offers a unique "Home Away from Home" experience. Quest Tauranga's reception hours are 7.30Am to 7pm Monday-Friday and 8am to 4pm Weekends and public holidays. Guest may still check in after these times using our after hours check in service and call centre. Instructions for this can be found outside reception doors. Onsite secure car parking is available at an additional cost; however spaces are limited so please book in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest on Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing