We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch food and service”
Review of Charlie Bill - Fine Food Bistro - CLOSED

Charlie Bill - Fine Food Bistro
Price range: US$12 - US$28
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Charlie Bill brings you modern New Zealand cuisine with an emphasis on honest, wholesome food in a cosy and intimate dining environment. Award-winning chef Hemi Tahu and partner Leigh Thornett look forward to welcoming you to Charlie Bill - Fine Food Bistro. Located on Tinakori Road a stone's throw from the city centre.
wellington new zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Top notch food and service”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Fantastic food, we have been many of times and continue to make it our regular place to eat. Leigh is fantastic, her service is always welcoming and accommodating. I recommend the salmon entre, pork belly, and passion pot dessert. The soups are always AMAZING. Especially the recent pea soup, top notch.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikayla90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    15
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent and tasty”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

My girlfriend & i were in Wellington for a week & honestly it was one of the best meals we had while we were in Wellington, coming from Sydney & the way the food scene is very garnished up, it was a refreshing reminder of why i love and miss the place i grew up in. The atmosphere is relaxing, happy go lucky but also has a certain professionalism about it, cosy tight little place for a nice romantic dinner for two or even a table of 6-8 people. The food we ordered was great i had the eggplant dish and it was very well balanced, my girlfriend had the soup and it was smooth and creamy on a chilled winters night, then for main course i had the pork belly which was melt in the mouth while my girlfriend had the lamb which was wholesome and tasty, finally for dessert i had the frangipani pear tart which was comforting and warm while my girlfriend had the orange chocolate hazelnut salad which was refreshing and to to sweet which is great. CB is a set menu place where you pay $68 for 3 courses, it is worth every penny we paid for and we will be back at least once a year. I would highly recommend Charlie Bills to anyone who lives in Wellington or even passers by, its nice comfort food simply done, cooked perfectly and it taste great… ps the homemade bread to start with nz butter is yummy.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rongopai R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Intimate fine dining in Thorndon”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This tiny restaurant is one we have returned to more than any other in Wellington. The quality of the food and service are impeccable and the surroundings intimate and quiet. The latter quality is much appreciated after trying to hear conversation over the loud music amplified by hard surfaces in so many other restaurants. What I enjoy particularly is a changing menu that has beautifully prepared, imaginative dishes that I would not attempt at home.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison_m_valentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This restaurant is a hidden gem, in Tinakori road. We went there first time for our 35th anniversary dinner. Food and service was amazing. will definitely recommend to our friends and family and will go again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bharati J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just ´wow´.”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Absolutely delicious. Haven´t eaten like this in years. Having dinner in a small living room feels very cosy and the food was amazing. Not the cheapest, but absolutely worth the money. Will definitely return.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HansenNienke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charlie Bill - Fine Food Bistro also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing