We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient & Passable.”
Review of Aspect Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aspect Apartments
Reviewed 18 March 2014

At first sight, quite adequate. Comfortable bed and serviceable furniture, albeit rather 'utility'.
Conveniently placed for the shoppings and sightseeing around and about.
Only down side was the horrendous noise at night, possible caused by an un-closed door in an adjacent apartment coupled with an open window. (It was the night that the tropical cyclone passed through!)
Al together, not a poor experience and fit for purpose.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Sudarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageAccommodation, Guest Relations Manager at Aspect Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for your review we appreciate the feedback, it is a very convenient location right in the heart of the city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

Unfortunately stayed here with my husband and son for 12 nights and never again. My comments are same as previous reviews. The smell from restaurant was always present, particularly bad in lobby. The two bed apt tight squeeze for three adults don't know how 4 would manage, 2 seater sofa, arm chair and 3 kitchen chairs! No storage for clothes, clothes hanging rails and one chest of drawers.for us the worse was the improvised duvets , mattress covers sandwiched between 2 sheets, in all the beds were uncomfortable , bedrooms dark with windows looking onto walls.
Curtains carpets and sofas stained and grubby, put towels on sofas before sitting on !
Shelves missing on fridge door,.
Wifi expensive and very slow.
Central location but without a doubt one of the most awful places we ever stayed.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Blanche112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I too experienced the wind tunnel effects described by the previous review. The wind was so loud and frightening I thought there was a hurriane happening. I knocked on the door of my travel mates, who were staying in a room at the front side of the building, believing that they may have been in danger, only to find that all my night fears were due to improper window installation and being located in a wind vacum. I'm not exaggerating when I describe them as Banshee type wind tones. We were genuinely frightened in this hotel room. I did not get a moments sleep and when we complained to the office, the following morning, our comments were not given any consideration. I too saw blood in the foyer, which was not cleaned up 2 days after it was first noticed. The room was dirty, smelly, and dimly lit. Whenever anyone flushed the toilets in the entire building , you could hear the water in the pipes outside my room. My mattress was old and lumpy. Not one window had a view. It felt very claustrophobic. I was relieved to put this hotel behind me and move on to better times.

Room Tip: I do not recommend any rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Beware. Four of us stayed in a two bedroom unit on the back side of the building. My first impression was it smelled, so we opened the windows and the adjacent building was a mere few feet away. We actually could see nothing but the building. The curtains were dirty. The walls are paper thin, we could hear conversations, music, baby crying in adjacent rooms. There was blood in the foyer of the building for over 24hours. The last night the wind picked up and caused a wind tunnel between the two buildings, which caused a noise so loud it kept all of us from getting ANY sleep. We stayed awake most of the night. I have been through two hurricanes and the noise level was not as loud as I experienced that night.

I would recommend you NOT book a room at the Brandon Village Apartments.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

I won't be rushing back here in a hurray. The lobby area always had flies buzzing around probably from the restaurant next door. The rooms are very basic not what like the website shows you. The shower was not very clean. There were roadworks and building works on across the road until late which I Am sure they would have been advised of so a note telling me of the would have been appreciated

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annmarie555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights. The evelvator has exposed wiring which I'm sure isn't legal. It also stinks. My 1 bed apartment was woeful, bed uncomfortable, shower rubbish and hot water fluctuates, furniture old, smoke from other balconies comes in if you're on a higher level - and you need the windows open to get rid of the stench! My kettle and tv remote didn't work. I asked for a new room, which I was given. This was a back room which was no better but less natural light so I stayed where I was.

During the day the whole building smells of sushi from below cafe - I love sushi but it was horrible.

Location is brilliant though.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzlittleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Recently stayed for 2 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment. Bedrooms very small. Only 3 easy chairs and 3 dining chairs for 4 people. The code we had been given to get the key from the box was incorrect. Were told on departure no late checkout was available and there was nowhere to store bags so out on street at 10am waiting for the 2.30pm ferry. Great position and reasonable price but would not stay again or recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Domaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
41.5 mi away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#9 of 47 in Wellington
885 reviews
41.5 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
42.0 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 47 in Wellington
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
41.4 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
2,225 reviews
41.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
41.8 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 47 in Wellington
1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspect Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspect Apartments

Address: 22 Brandon Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Wellington
Price Range: £101 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aspect Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspect Apartments is a traditional serviced apartment location in the sense that it does not have a reception. For full check-in and check-out details, please contact the customer services team (details provided in confirmation email). Aspect Apartments is a recently refurbished apartment building featuring one, two and three bedroom apartments. Enjoy Wellington’s favourite cafés or restaurants with chargeback facilities available, or stay in – every apartment has a full kitchen plus dishwasher. These apartments are perfect for a quick stop in the Coolest Little Capital or ideal for a longer stay where the comforts of home like high speed internet and private laundry facilities are appreciated. Just 10 minutes’ walk from Wellington train station and the Westpac Stadium and 200 metres from the beautiful Wellington waterfront, Aspect Apartments is ideally located for any visitor to Wellington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aspect Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing