We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff, clean rooms. Would have loved a bigger window!”
Review of Ohtel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ohtel
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great location, friendly staff, clean rooms. Would have loved a bigger window!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Location great, walk away from bars. Great staff, clean rooms that are very spacious. Few points the ground floor room had a tiny window in the corner that doesn't open... would have liked bigger windows. Sure there are nicer rooms in the hotel. Also TV was not opposite bed but at a strange angle on the wall and was quite small, so difficult to watch. Would recommend asking about different rooms before booking.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony view/large windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thanks for your positive review James, and good advice reminding guests to confirm room location before finalising your booking as they all offer something slightly different.

There are pdf floor plans of the hotel on our website, or if you are not good with pictures, please give us a call with any queries you may have.

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    81
    34
    10
    3
See reviews for
30
238
35
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

The place to stay in Wellington, OHETL ....This small boutique hotel is awesome from the location, view, decor, design to the service and cleanliness. I stayed in the junior suite which has views of the harbour and park which was nice. The decor was perfect,will stay there again ... 5 stars

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Tan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hi Tan E,

Glad you enjoyed your stay, and the view from your room.

Hope to see you again soon !

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

In our recent trip around NZ I have got to say this was the worst part.
We stayed here for two nights and quite frankly I would have left but we had paid in advance and there was no refund.
Wellington is not going to be on my agenda again. NZ is lovely but this place was a definite low point.
While the room was clean and tidy (we had a suite) and quite large the ambiance was that of an internet cafe. The reception area is hard to describe but when you pay for 5 star and the receptionist is sitting behind a cheap melamine desk. It was not what I expected. The access to the hotel was awful with limited public parking across the road, I had to feed the meter at 8am. really not good enough. I'll not be back. The reception area doubled as the breakfast bar where they served cabinet food. This was a new one on me. I have travelled all over the world and this was a first. Cabinet Food i.e. food from a cabinet. not what I would expect from a five star. Just reading the other reviews and it makes me think we stayed at a different hotel. Not recommended.
Niall & Marian Perth WA

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Noggy1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hi Niall and Marian,

I'm really disappointed to hear you didn't enjoy Wellington and Ohtel - both are generally well regarded by visitors.

I'm a bit puzzled by a couple of your comments and your expectations referencing '5 star'.

We are a 4.5 star self-rated, owner-run, boutique hotel with just 10 rooms. As you have pointed out, our small lobby and reception space that doubles as a café for locals and visitors to the hotel. We serve breakfast and sell a variety of small 'cabinet' food items, and other refreshments in this space - not an unusual concept in the coffee capital of NZ, or in many European cities around the world...

Our reception desk is an expensive and genuine 1960's Teak office desk on polished chrome legs with a leather writing surface, not an ounce of melamine in sight !

We have tried to make it as clear as possible that we don't have a car park on site. There is ample street parking that is free overnight and on the weekends, alternatively we can valet your car to a secure facility nearby if you wish. We would generally advise guests to walk or use public transport around our compact city.

It sounds as though you are more suited to a larger, conventional chain hotel which we are definitely not !

Regards

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We did and loved it! Very helpful staff, and a quiet intimate feel to the place. Rooms were well appointed and we had a fantastic roomy bathroom. Loved the cafe at reception (good breakfast!), and loved the location. If you are a Kiwi you'll get the cultural references, if your not then its a great chance to break from the generic big hotels and see something just a bit different.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yellow_Eyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hi Yellow_Eyed,

I hope the kids were well behaved while you got some well-earned time out with each other.

Ohtel is the perfect place to escape from life's daily commitments !

Thanks

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Checked into the deluxe room for the night with my wife, now kicking myself for not staying longer.

Let me sum up my stay in a few words or the best I possibly can - great location, clean, quite, spacious, secluded and beautifully decorated with rustic furniture which is rather refreshing compared to all the other places I've checked-in previously... great selection of goodies in the mini bar. And the best part... not having to open/close the bathroom door coz there wasn't one (door that is) LOL
After a days long drive into Wellington and a crazy day at work, I have to say we slept rather comfortably.

Overall a great stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Zealnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hi Zealnz,

I'm glad you found us and enjoyed tucking into the minibar..

Being only 4 hours drive away, I'm sure you'll have reason to come back some time soon !

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Wonderful hotel that does everything really well.
Great staff, great coffee, great food, great location, great decor.
Ohtel just nails it.
10 rooms makes this an intimate experience, you are respected, remembered and obviously valued.
Stop looking elsewhere!!

Room Tip: Facing the bay is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ado3361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Ado !

Thanks for the high praise ! We really love it when people 'get' our place.

Appreciate your review - hope to see you back soon.

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Beautifully decorated unique boutique hotel on the waterfront.
Rooms and bathrooms are huge in size and would highly recommend this accommodation. The staff where very friendly and go that extra mile to make your stay great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJC1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Nice to hear from you BJC - and great that you enjoyed your stay !

It's policy here, (well with all 3 of us), that we are committed to making your time not just inside the hotel, but in our great little city, the best it can be.

We like to get to know our guests and what they are looking for, even if it's only for one night....

Cheers

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,602 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.1 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
747 reviews
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.9 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohtel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohtel

Property: Ohtel
Address: 66 oriental Parade | Oriental Bay, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wellington
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#10 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#15 Family Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ohtel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ohtel's exclusive seaside location provides stunning views over Waitangi Park, Te Papa and the Inner harbour. Run by the owner and a select group of friendly, unpretentious staff, Ohtel provides convenience and luxury with an eco-friendly conscience. Experience contemporary New Zealand design, coupled with original "mid-century" furnishings throughout the lobby and ten spacious suites. Enjoy regionally sourced, gourmet food and beverages in room, or in our intimate lobby. Ohtel, sophisticated urban chic. Free Wi-Fi & local calls, King-sized beds, 55+ Sky channels, air-con, solar hot water... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ohtel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohtel Hotel Wellington
Design Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing