We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So handy to hospital”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Southgate Motor Inn
Ranked #30 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So handy to hospital”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I stayed 3 nights to be with m daughter who was in Wellington Hospital. It only took me a couple of mins to walk between motel and hospital, which was great. Rooms were good size, clean, great amenities and very helpful staff. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    21
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
27
12
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights this time. Have been here a few times prior and have always found the owners to be most helpful and pleasant. The rooms are like a small apartment with its own well appointed kitchen with all utensils, flat screen TV, large bathroom (shower only), and separate bedroom. The bed has electric blankets which are needed on those cold Wellington nights and there is a heater for the rest of the apartment. Would always stay at this motel when visiting the NZ School of Dance as it is within walking distance.

Room Tip: As the motel is opposite the hospital, I would ask for a room at the back. I always use ear plugs s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MollyBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Fantastic clean and modern rooms with the best beds! Everything you could possibly need. Dave and Nat are great hosts and more than happy to go out of their way. They can certainly recommend some great restaurants! Motor Inn is great location opposite hospital and just up the road from bus stop. Even not a bad walk into central city. Handy to Massey Uni campus too. Thanks so much and will be back soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Our team loved the spacious clean rooms, very & close to WIS centre & airport. Everything we needed in close walking & driving proximity :) Had a lil concern about no locks on the bathroom doors, as a couple of us were caught out lol, but overall a very enjoyable stay. Realy nice, helpfull staff, would definitely recommend to anyone wanting to stay in Newtown or close to the city.
Thank you :) Manukau O30s Flamers

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
412 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

It is superb, I feel as if we are in our own flat so well equipped and so clean. Very friendly and short bus ride to Wellington. Like home from home comfy sofa great tv and lovely bedrooms. Everyone loves spa bath too.

Room Tip: Rooms at back very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gill h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Thanks SO MUCH to Nat & David for looking after me during my short stay in Wellington. The rooms are spacious, clean and the BEST bed that I have slept in, in a Moter Inn ever.
Definitely would have no qualms in recommending any of my family and friends to stay with them.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheri1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Thank you so much to David & Natalie for their amazing service, they took me in at short notice, moved me when I needed to change rooms and were just wonderful. The rooms are large, extremely clean and well kitted out. Bathrooms are huge with fabulous Spa baths and great 'power showers'. Across the road from the hospital, yet very quiet considering they are on a main road. Would definitely go back and reccommend them, especially to anyone having to spend time at the hospital or hospice.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BillBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellington
0.1 mi away
Ascot Motor Lodge
Ascot Motor Lodge
#35 of 46 in Wellington
38 reviews
1.0 mi away
Brentwood Hotel
Brentwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kilbirnie
296 reviews
1.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Adelaide Motel
Adelaide Motel
#43 of 46 in Wellington
32 reviews
0.4 mi away
88 Wallace Court
88 Wallace Court
#36 of 46 in Wellington
62 reviews
1.0 mi away
Capital View Motor Inn
Capital View Motor Inn
#28 of 46 in Wellington
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southgate Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southgate Motor Inn

Property: Southgate Motor Inn
Address: 70-72 Riddiford Street, Wellington 6021, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Southgate Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Southgate Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing