We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful restaurant”
Review of Logan Brown

Logan Brown
Ranked #5 of 917 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$106
Cuisines: European, New Zealand, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Awarded TWO HATS Good Food Awards 2013, 2014, 2015 and Supreme Winner Restaurant of the Year NZ 2009. Nearly 20 years after Steve Logan founded the restaurant, Logan Brown is still showing newcomers how to do fine dining. The neo-classical interior remains as plush as ever, drawing diners who wouldn't normally brave the upper reaches of Cuba St, while competent, confident service encourages adventurous choices from the wine list. The kitchen, headed by Shaun Clouston, continues to turn out innovative, but not gimmicky, food. There's a strong emphasis on local and seasonal flavours, with a nod to the huntin', shootin' and fishin' enjoyed by the restaurant's founders. Classic Kiwi flavours are embraced and showcased with a sense of humour. In brief: style, service and food you can bank on Said international guest judge, Ralph-Kyte Powell, "If I had to select an international flagship for New Zealand cuisine. Logan Brown would be hard to go past"
new plymouth
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We had heard lots about Logan Brown so couldn't wait to see if it was good as we had heard, and it is ! Food is amazing. Started with the scallops then on to the snapper for a main and for dessert cardamon and lime creme brulee (divine). Had a lovely bottle of Louis Roederer to accompany the meal. Service was fantastic and the decor of Logan Brown is classic and elegant. Would recommend.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DesignerLas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    771
    204
    75
    37
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Lovely Restaurant”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Food was absolutely fantastic. We had a lovely seat in the main restaurant. Only problem we found was that the portion sizes were a little too large and we struggled to get through the degustation menu with matching wines. Left slightly uncomfortable, but having said that we will definitely be back.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
motueka
Level Contributor
114 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Special Occasion Must Do”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Used to visit Logan Browns quite often when lived in Wellington. This only third visit since we moved away 6 years ago. The restaurant has barely changed since our first visit in 1999. The food is excellent, service impeccable and setting lovely. However, the prices have shot up with entrees around NZ$30 and mains around NZ$50. You also have to pay for extra side dishes that are required. The wine list is again pricey but there is excellent choice. My wife and I visited this last time on a Sunday evening when you can bring your own wine. Our waitress showed us to our table and allowed us to settle in before asking if we would like pre dinner drinks. She explained the specials and left us to decide. We decided to share a tasting plate of a goat terrine followed by crispy duck confit. We were then delighted to find that as a special desert was complimentary. Could not fault any of the meal and throughout she kept our glasses charged.
To sum up I would give 5 stars but for the price of the meal. If it had not been a Sunday evening (no entrée, own wine, complimentary desert) the bill could have been well over NZ$300 for 2. Very expensive for NZ but perhaps not for Wellington. However, it is still a lovely place to dine.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeff_motueka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papamoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A 'must' on your trip to Wellington”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Fine dining at its finest! The food here was outstanding! So much flavour, that every bite was a taste sensation worth savouring. I think we mmmmed and ooohhhhed our way through each course.
Without a doubt, the best restaurant in Wellington - if not all of New Zealand!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronwen60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
157 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Sublime, Superb, Sensational and Special”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

No words can adequately describe how perfect the nine course degustation menu with matching wines we had on 28 July see web link http://www.loganbrown.co.nz/degustation-menu-logan
The dishes came out small and perfect and built up in richness and size so you were not left feeling hungry or overfill. Fabulous favors and textures and excellent wine matches. We started with the Louis Roderer Champagne for an extra $10 each and finished with port and coffee. This is not a cheap night out but it is value for money - and great for a special occasion. $300 for two plus wine at l$160 favor two. Allow three hours. We prebooked a taxi so we could really relax and enjoy being pampered by attentive, friendly and capable staff. Courses came out at a comfortable pace and the wine was served as half or whole glasses so we enjoyed but didn't get sloshed. Menu is reproduced below. I haven't even described the venue which is superb old bank with high domed ceiling and columns and private tables slightly art deco and fish swimming in bar tanks too!

Chermoula Roasted Goat Shoulder with Cumin Yoghurt & Crisp Bread
Paprika Dusted Pork Crackles
Soup Shot
Tonon Prosecco NZ (Half)

~

Smoked Eel with Horseradish Panna Cotta, Frisee Endive & Bacon Vinaigrette
Rippon Riesling '10 (Full)

~

Fresh Tio Point Oyster with Waikanae Crab Salad & Popcorn Scampi

~

Paua Ravioli with Coriander, Basil & Lime Beurre Blanc
Churton Sauvignon Blanc '08 (Half)

~

Venison Tenderloin with Parsnip Mousse & Game Sausage
Vavasour 'Felix's Vineyard' Pinot Noir '10 (Half)

~

Rangitikei Lamb Rack with Braised Shoulder, Provencal Vegetables & Falafel
Isole E Olena Chianti Classico '07 (Full)

~

Cardamom & Orange Panna Cotta with Pistachio Wafers, Lemon & Pomegranate Delight
Fromm Late Harvest Gewurztraminer '10 (Half)
or Yeastie Boys Gunnamatta IPA

~

Chocolate Caramel Torte with Espresso Milkshake & Candied Hazelnuts
Yalumba Museum Reserve Muscat NV (Half)

~

Over the Moon Galactic Gold with White Fig Compote & Oat Wafers
Churchill's 10 Year Tawny Port (Half)

~

Coffee & Boxed Chocolate truffle


$150pp (including GST) for the menu only

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cosmo132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Logan Brown also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Logan Brown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing