We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great inner city apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great inner city apartment”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Really enjoyed staying at the Grand Mercure Wellington Century City Apartments, it was in a great location, handy to markets, restaurants and pubs, and the waterfront. Staff were friendly, and the apartment itself was quite spacious.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    168
    86
    32
    11
See reviews for
65
178
18
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Havelock North, NZ
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed over the labour weekend in a superior room apartment. It was immaculately clean (and I am fussy), spacious, tastefully decorated in contemporary design and furniture. A bit of noise overlooking Tory St but the double glazing made a difference, nothing to complain about. The staff were absolutely excellent from front desk to the housekeeping staff where all of them that we passed etc greeted us with a smile and were very friendly. Dont know why some of you are complaining about little things when we have stayed at some top hotels and this has to be right up there. Well done team....I have plugged this hotel to my clients and would definitely stay again. Awesome.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsabelMcKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Negatives: noisy - street / layout of next door room/ not double glazed
Not as clean as it could be, specifically the crockery cutlery in kitchenette, carpet very stained, rest ok.
No 'compedium' type thing - its really difficult to find any info ie is there a gym, usual services etc.
Internet really slower than it should be, be not ridiculously priced as with some local hotels.
Positives: great location, facilities really good although no instructions, modern comfortable studios and apartments, (ive stayed in both).

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room not facing street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort William, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2011

This was a first rate apartment and had everything we wanted. Very spacious and the appliances etc were all brand new. However there was nowhere to hang your clothes and the wall to the corridor was extremely thin. This meant that when other guests and cleaning staff were going in and out of rooms the doors would shut loudly and rattle the walls!! Street noise was to be expected - a pair of earplugs by the beside would be a useful addition!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

My wife and I stayed at Distinction Century City Apartments (formerly Grand Mercure) for one night. We were pleasantly greeted and our check-in was handled efficiently.

We stayed in room 806. We were quite impressed with the stylish and tidy kitchenette area - particularly the large fridge/freezer. The bed was comfortable and the tv swivelled enough so you could watch tv from the large and comfortable chair or from the bed. Although the chair was comfortable, it was only large enough for one person. The bathroom was clean and stylish although the glass ceiling tiles should be removed and cleaned (dust and probably insulation).

The studio was in a good location just a 2 minute walk to Courtney Place. Should you stay a few days, one of the best markets for foodies , Moore Wilson, is just up the street.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 806 which has a balcony over-looking Tory Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike & Terri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,621 reviews
0.8 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
753 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.0 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel

Property: Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
Address: 70 Tory Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand (Formerly Grand Mercure Wellington Century City Apartments)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#20 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinction Wellington Century City Hotel provides the ideal Wellington accommodation base for business or leisure, in a vibrant location in the heart of all the action. On the doorstep of key Wellington attractions including Te Papa Museum, Distinction Wellington Century City Hotel's 89 guest rooms range from impeccably designed studios, to luxurious penthouse suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Wellington Century City Apartments Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing