We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and location - some noise from local bars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good hotel and location - some noise from local bars”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed here for a single night - served my purpose as it was close to where my conference was. Good price and nice hotel. Room was large, clean and very well appointed.

Unfortunately was much closer to the local bars and clubs that I thought, so there was some noise. I often sleep very lightly when travelling so it was noticeable but I still got a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DamianLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    168
    86
    32
    11
See reviews for
65
178
18
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The location is great is you are staying for business or pleasure. Really close to Cuba street and lots of bars and restaurants. Only about 15 minutes to get to Lambton Quay. Nice sofa's and beds. If you need wifi make sure you connect to the cheaper Century City Hotel Ultrafast rather than paying at reception.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

We were very disappointed when we arrived at our so called 4 star room.. The bed is double, not queen, the room has one ridiculous armchair for the tv which only fits one person, there's NO air conditioning, they didn't change our sheets!!! or make our bed properly after we put up the please service our room sign (the most basic of things you'd expect in any hotel!), the information in the hotel book is usless (leaving us confused about the carpark situation), overall it was just disappointing and a huge waste of money! Definitely would not stay again and would not recommend

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony A, Manager at Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. It sounds like you were in a Studio Room which are the smallest of our rooms types. These room do have limited space for extra furniture. We have a number of other room types from Standard & Superior one bedroom apartments that give extra space and comfort.

I have discussed your comments with our housekeeper as the room should have been fully serviced daily and linen changed if you were staying more than two nights with us. I do apologise if this was not the case.

Our in room compendium has information on location and price of the car park and the front desk staff have further information on parking and directions when needed. This should be communicated on check in at the hotel.

Regards
Tony Abbott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I usually stay here for business trips. I find it well appointed with everything you need. The studios are really roomy. I particularly like having a proper couch to relax on and not just a desk chair as with most studios. It is handy to restaurants, supermarkets and oriental parade. But I always make sure book a 'City view' room after seeing the 'courtyard' rooms once, these open directly on to the carparking building. Luckily they were able to move me to another room on the city side. You can imagine what it would be like to have a carpark building 1 m from the sliding door/windows. I would give this a 4-Very Good for a city room.

Room Tip: Pick a 'city' room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janes00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Having booked and then reading reviews I was apprehensive but was pleasantly surprised with our City View Studio.The studio was very well appointed with everything we needed for one night.Loads of tea,coffee etc and quality toiletries.Very comfy bed!!The ensuite was very roomy and even though the shower was over the bath it was fine.Very clean ,pleasant staff welcomed and assisted with bags.There is a bit of a challenge with the carpark being downstairs and along concrete corridors but you can park and unload right outside the hotel.I did get lost in the corridors but the manager rescued me !!Could have down with aircon as room was warm.We opened the ranch slider for fresh air.Outside street noise was there but didn't bother us too much.Balcony was a nice touch.Would suggest they exchange "Huge" armchair for 2 smaller ones or a 2 seater couch so we could both sit down.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view as the others face into carpark building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staffydog55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

We also stayed in a COURTYARD room 202. To be precise June 18 ...they are joking describing it as a courtyard ...the smell from the gas on lvl 2.... Was sickening..and like you it was so stuffy and hot that we had to leave the door open....the light switches had a mind of their own....the carpets dirty...we booked for 2 nights and thanks to bad weather we cut our business trip short...thankfully...we have stayed several times city view at Distinction and although pricey ..no complaints...will we be staying again .....AFRAID NOT.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessjames73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Firstly, I should have spent more time reading the bad reviews on here, so it's really my own fault. I was looking for centrally situated accommodation and that's the only redeeming quality this place has. We stayed in a "courtyard suite", which didn't look like the ones in the pictures on their site. It was very small, with no "lounge suite" or over-bath shower. And it had an uncomfortable double bed, not queen. For the price, a total rip-off. The bathroom looked like that of a mental institution (see picture). After a shower, the whole bathroom floor is wet and slippery. There are open pipes where a washing machine used to be. Then there is the view. To be fair, they state on the website that there is a limited or no view of the courtyard. Courtyard? More a 15 x 3m smoking area. The infamous parking garage is about 3m from your room; I suppose that's the view. They should really mention this on their site. There is no air conditioning. Even when it was 13 - 14 degrees outside, we had to keep the door ajar all the time, it was unbelievably stuffy in the room. The one blind was broken, so we couldn't get it to shut completely. I was very disappointed and embarrassed and would never stay here again.

Room Tip: I don't know what the rooms on the street side are like, but must be better than the ones in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mala1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.8 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,141 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
753 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.0 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel

Property: Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
Address: 70 Tory Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand (Formerly Grand Mercure Wellington Century City Apartments)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#20 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinction Wellington Century City Hotel provides the ideal Wellington accommodation base for business or leisure, in a vibrant location in the heart of all the action. On the doorstep of key Wellington attractions including Te Papa Museum, Distinction Wellington Century City Hotel's 89 guest rooms range from impeccably designed studios, to luxurious penthouse suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Wellington Century City Apartments Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing