We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but where is the Air Conditioning??”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good location but where is the Air Conditioning??”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here recently and the location is good. It's a pain having to drag your luggage up stairs. The lady at the counter wasn't overally helpful. Parking costs $20.00 per night but it is secure. The room has a weird layout but we couldn't believe that in a fairly new complex there was no air conditioning! Surely this should of been thought of when building this hotel??? We left our balcony door open to get so e fresh air but the noise was a bit unbearable. We wouldn't stay there again and wouldn't recommend to friends.

Room Tip: From what I gather there is no air conditioning in any of the rooms. I would also suggest when check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenant143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony A, Manager at Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for your comments honeymooners143. Yes it is unfortunate that air-conditioning wasnt not installed when the hotel was build. Wellington does have a fresh and windy reputation but we can turn on some stunning days as well. All the rooms to have opening windows and balcony or courtyard and a fresh Wellington Breeze. We will be putting fans in the rooms for our summer period.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    168
    86
    32
    11
See reviews for
65
178
18
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Recently stayed 1 night in a Standard One Bedroom Apartment - City view! Amazing location, close to the restaurants and bars but far enough not to be too noisy.
Within walking distance to almost everything you need. New World only a 5 min walk, bus stops etc all close.
Would highly recommend if you need full cooking facilities and a full size fridge.
Only downside would be the lack of a/c but opening the double sliding doors with fresh air was great.

Room Tip: Ensure you book a city view and not a courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikNiksxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights in the hotel.

Parking was $20 a night, which I thought wasn't too bad considering parking is pretty expensive in town. The park was secure and safe, although there were no lifts from there, so we lugged our luggage up the stairs to the lift.

Check in was easy, and we were offered advice on where things were by the people at the front desk.

The room itself was quite nice, and the bathroom was big, white and bright!

We had a studio room with a view of the "courtyard". It was really a view of the parking building 3-4m away.To the hotels' credit, when the ranch-slider was closed you did not hear a thing outside, and the curtains certainly blocked any light.

We quite often heard doors slam shut from the closing arm on the doors - maybe this could be adjusted to help people sleep better!

One problem we did have was that it was weirdly very warm in the room on the first night, and there is no air conditioning. We weren't going to leave the ranch-slider open with the car-parking noise, but we weren't getting any sleep either. We rang reception and they offered us a fan to use, which was nice during the evening - at least it made it a little cooler. The bed was pretty solid though.

The location of this hotel is excellent - we were able to walk to Te Papa in under 10 minutes. We walked to the cable car in 15-20 minutes, and from there walked to parliament. Lonestar was less than a 1 minute walk, and Courtenay Place was a minute away (go to Steer and Beer next to the cinema - awesome food!).

The definite plus about this place is the location to everything... although next time I'd pay for a city view room.

Room Tip: Get a city view room if you're staying during the week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobinthebottle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed here for a single night - served my purpose as it was close to where my conference was. Good price and nice hotel. Room was large, clean and very well appointed.

Unfortunately was much closer to the local bars and clubs that I thought, so there was some noise. I often sleep very lightly when travelling so it was noticeable but I still got a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DamianLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The location is great is you are staying for business or pleasure. Really close to Cuba street and lots of bars and restaurants. Only about 15 minutes to get to Lambton Quay. Nice sofa's and beds. If you need wifi make sure you connect to the cheaper Century City Hotel Ultrafast rather than paying at reception.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

We were very disappointed when we arrived at our so called 4 star room.. The bed is double, not queen, the room has one ridiculous armchair for the tv which only fits one person, there's NO air conditioning, they didn't change our sheets!!! or make our bed properly after we put up the please service our room sign (the most basic of things you'd expect in any hotel!), the information in the hotel book is usless (leaving us confused about the carpark situation), overall it was just disappointing and a huge waste of money! Definitely would not stay again and would not recommend

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony A, Manager at Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. It sounds like you were in a Studio Room which are the smallest of our rooms types. These room do have limited space for extra furniture. We have a number of other room types from Standard & Superior one bedroom apartments that give extra space and comfort.

I have discussed your comments with our housekeeper as the room should have been fully serviced daily and linen changed if you were staying more than two nights with us. I do apologise if this was not the case.

Our in room compendium has information on location and price of the car park and the front desk staff have further information on parking and directions when needed. This should be communicated on check in at the hotel.

Regards
Tony Abbott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I usually stay here for business trips. I find it well appointed with everything you need. The studios are really roomy. I particularly like having a proper couch to relax on and not just a desk chair as with most studios. It is handy to restaurants, supermarkets and oriental parade. But I always make sure book a 'City view' room after seeing the 'courtyard' rooms once, these open directly on to the carparking building. Luckily they were able to move me to another room on the city side. You can imagine what it would be like to have a carpark building 1 m from the sliding door/windows. I would give this a 4-Very Good for a city room.

Room Tip: Pick a 'city' room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janes00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.8 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,144 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
753 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.0 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel

Property: Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
Address: 70 Tory Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand (Formerly Grand Mercure Wellington Century City Apartments)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#20 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinction Wellington Century City Hotel provides the ideal Wellington accommodation base for business or leisure, in a vibrant location in the heart of all the action. On the doorstep of key Wellington attractions including Te Papa Museum, Distinction Wellington Century City Hotel's 89 guest rooms range from impeccably designed studios, to luxurious penthouse suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Wellington Century City Apartments Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing