We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good location but could be better”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

This apartment was in a good location for easy access to the main attractions including the Te Papa Museum and waterfront but it could do with a really deep clean and new carpets. It had a large balcony but no outdoor furniture which was a shame as we visited in the summer and would have spent a lot more time on the balcony if there had been even a chair to sit on. The shower was adequate but the hosing falling apart and the toilet brush holder had definitely seen better days! The kitchen was well equipped and generally it was adequate for a 2 night stay but we probable wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sazzled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    166
    85
    32
    11
See reviews for
64
176
18
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokoroa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed for homegrown weekend as very close to festival and Courtney place. Room much better, studio with single room that included queen bed, fully functional kitchenette. Separate bathroom with shower over bath, toilet and hand basin. Balcony backed onto other rooms. All basics needed as room for sleeping only. No street noise from late night revellers like rooms that overlook city streets. Room serviced, clean and adequate for our needs. Only negatives is room doors slam on every room in hallway, you hear conversations clearly in hallways. Carpet in room a bit grubby.

Parking is extra $20per night.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking city streets not the greatest if you want a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1hdsoftail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony A, Manager at Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thanks for your feedback. Hope you enjoyed the Homegrown concert it was a fantastic weekend. All the courtyard rooms face the rear of the hotel and are perfect if you want a nice quiet room. We will look into that carpet thanks for letting us know.

See you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Was excited bout girl's weekend away , all ready to go for a swim....got our togs n towel n walked towards the pool you had to go threw the public car park to get there pool walls were dirty and there was ppl having sex. Room was noisy as woken up very early and parking was cheaper down the road

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girls97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony A, Manager at Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Hope your girls weekend was good. We share the pool complex with Century City Apartments and have been discussing the glass mirrors in the pool area. Due to the mirrors being over the the pool they get water on them regularly and it is quite difficult to clean these when the pool is full. Also we cannot get the cleaning product in the pool water so this is a challenge. Something we are working on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This is an apartment style hotel located not far from Courtney Place the 'party' area of the city. The facilities were very clean and well presented. We booked a Studio Room, which came with a small kitchen. The only drawback was that the Studio Rooms do not have a washing machine, although there is pipework for these to be installed, neither is there a guest laundry. Wi-Fi is an extra charge and having a large fridge freezer in the bedroom can be noisy. All in all though this place is very well located clean & just the job for visiting the city.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

I will be staying in this hotel for 3 months for work purposes. I have found the staff and managers to be extremely accommodating and have provided much needed support during my time here. Room itself is great with kitchen and washing machine facility's which provide a level of independence that you need when your far away from home. Location is great and plenty of food options nearby. Would recommend this hotel!

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nicknoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

You need to choose and pay for the 'city views' room otherwise you will be facing into a car park building less than 3m from your balcony door. On the weekend I stayed this was very, very noisy as people were actually racing through the carpark in the early hours. The bed was uncomfortable, there was no chair for the desk (why then have a desk?), and no A/C, however they did provide a fan in the room.

Overpriced for what it is and provides, but it is an excellent location in the city.

Room Tip: Choose the city view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyD73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Far from impressed with my stay. I checked in late for two nights stay to what I hoped was a great sleep in a great room. However, from parking my car in the carpark to walk up a pretty gruesome stairwell covered in chewing gum and fluff to get into a separate 'building area' (you have to walk around the corner to the tiny lobby) - I began to wonder what I'd done. From there I got into a shabby elevator to get to my floor.

Floor hallway, to be fair, was nice and I got into my room which on first glance was tastefully decorated etc. I was dog tired and so just wanted to get some sleep on what was actually a comfy enough bed. Upon trying to shut the venetian blinds it became apparent I wasn't going to be able to stop the street lights flooding in nor was I going to be able to sleep for revellers drunkenly tottering about the street till the wee hours. Sound proofing is woeful and should you have the want to open the balcony doors for fresh air seeing as there is no air-con ... shame!

Remember the blinds? Well you'll be rudely awakened by sun streaming in first light to top it all off. The sun is great though as it then allows you to see the room in it's full glory with grubby carpet and dirty balcony and you then painfully realise that this is actually at best a 3 to at a push 4 * serviced apartment that you've paid 4 to 5 * hotel prices for! Fantastic!

I checked out first thing in the morning in disgust with no recompense for my next nights stay.

Overall, not a great experience. Room strangely set out so difficult to view television with poor selection of channels (you get more in highway motels for less than half the price you pay for this place!). Internet is added extra, as is parking. No air-con. Hallway doors to other apartments bang shut. Cleaning standard is average. Noise from street. Blinds do nothing to stop light getting in. Fridge empty - not even a complimentary milk carton. Poor grubby pool, gym located through carpark!

The key lies in the establishments former name of "Grand Mercure Wellington Century City Apartments" - they are still serviced apartments!! They've just decided to call themselves a hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,603 reviews
0.2 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
747 reviews
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,129 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,391 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel

Property: Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
Address: 70 Tory Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand (Formerly Grand Mercure Wellington Century City Apartments)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#20 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinction Wellington Century City Hotel provides the ideal Wellington accommodation base for business or leisure, in a vibrant location in the heart of all the action. On the doorstep of key Wellington attractions including Te Papa Museum, Distinction Wellington Century City Hotel's 89 guest rooms range from impeccably designed studios, to luxurious penthouse suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Wellington Century City Apartments Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing