We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but turn down the heat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good location, but turn down the heat”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This hotel was great location, with plenty of eateries close by . Found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful. We had studio apartment which had very nice views of mountain, city and tiny bit of the ocean. Room was clean and nice enough. However, found it very difficult to sleep well at night due to what I assume was central heating way too hot? We kept window open all night which made it noisy of course, slept with no blanket and in the end no pyjamas in order to just make it sort of cool enough to sleep!! The weather was cold and windy and yet we were boiling in our room . If it wasn't for this I would recommend but I wouldn't go back there again as didn't get a good night sleep whole time we were there (4 nights). The only other slight criticism was the shower was over a rather high bath that didn't worry/matter to us but if you handicapped or elderly could be a bit of problem.

Room Tip: we were on 8th floor and had good view, but not sure if they all do ??
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    165
    84
    32
    11
See reviews for
63
175
18
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here in Feb 2014. We were astounded to get accommodation here on the Saturday of the 7s weekend, and although it was more expensive than usual, you've got to expect that when the rugby's on.
The location on this hotel is brilliant. A stone's throw to Courtney Place and you're in the thick of Wellington night life. We were also really surprised with the kitchen/studio that we had as we thought it was just a standard hotel room. Clean, quiet (even for the 7s!), and would deffo stay here again if I was doing a city break in Windy Welly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lornamcavoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My partner and I stayed on the 7th floor (706) in a city view studio room.

The downsides:
1. It's quite small. They have put a kitchen and dining table into a regular hotel studio room which doesn't leave a lot of free space for something like a two person couch!
2. It's not very clean. The carpet had stains and the floor in general wasn't vacuumed very well. The pool's mirrors looked quite dirty also.
3. It can be a bit noisy. Traffic noise isn't noticeable but there were some skateboarders in the Harvey Normal car park (opposite) which echoed up to our room. The fire alarm went off once as well and we had to be evacuated. We shared an entrance door/small foyer area with 705 and the door opening and closing is very loud.
4. Reception staff were quite clueless and not very helpful.

The upsides!
1. Close to everything! Really great places to eat and things to do are a 5 minute walk away.
2. Had a great sleep every night, the bed is very comfortable.
3. Has a well equipped kitchen, bath, gym and pool.

Room Tip: Higher floors with city views appear to be favourable. Consider a larger room than a studio if trave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugenia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

I used a voucher here for the weekend. Stayed in a Courtyard Studio Room. The hotel is in excellent location, just off the main strip of nightclubs on Courteney Place. Its close to Te Papa, Oriental Bay and lots of food places. Burger king and a Fix 24/7 starmart is just down the road as well.

They have parking for $20 a night which I found useful as its hard to find a park on the road!

The room my friend and I stayed in was lovely. Nice and clean! Came with a fridge, modern oven and stove. Water pressure is good here. The whole room was actually really nice.
Even though we got told off from the lady at reception for having some friends in our room after 10pm we still enjoyed the hotel. The lady was very snippy!
Would go here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NewZealandSarah91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I used to live in Wellington but went back for a few days to stay in the city. The location itself was fantastic, close to shops and restaurants etc the hotel itself was reasonably priced and the staff were good.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Had a great jump-off point to get to know Wellington from this hotel. Also was priced fairly reasonably compared to others I looked at. Only a few criticisms:

- The carpet is atrocious. It should be taken up and tile should be put down in the kitchen/living area because you're never gonna keep carpet clean in a food-prep area
- bed was comfortable but would have preferred a king size
- cannot be sure the property would be comfortable in the summer with no a/c. we kept the balcony door open all night in the fall to stay cool... neither of us are bothered by city noise but that might be an issue for very light sleepers.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SillyGringa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guntersville, Alabama
Level Contributor
135 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed two nights in Distinction Wellington in our visit to New Zealand. The rooms are modern and well equipped with complete kitchen facilities. The rooms are modern and the hotel are very well located in walking distance to the Te Papa Museum and restaurants, theaters and pubs in Courtenay place and Cuba St.

Room Tip: When booking ask for a street view room instead a parking lot view, just because the parking lot is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arvrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
1,577 reviews
0.2 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
740 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.8 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,115 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel

Property: Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
Address: 70 Tory Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand (Formerly Grand Mercure Wellington Century City Apartments)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#20 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinction Wellington Century City Hotel provides the ideal Wellington accommodation base for business or leisure, in a vibrant location in the heart of all the action. On the doorstep of key Wellington attractions including Te Papa Museum, Distinction Wellington Century City Hotel's 89 guest rooms range from impeccably designed studios, to luxurious penthouse suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Wellington Century City Apartments Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing