We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Taranaki NZ
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Location is great, although be prepared that if its raining there is a dash along Tory Street that is not undercover.
Ask for a room at the front, as the back rooms look straight into a concrete wall of the car park building.
Don't expect the reception staff to be pleasant and friendly - they are not.
We changed room upon arrival as we were not happy with 2 nights looking out on the concrete wall, the room we ended up with was ok, not very clean and the previous guests food and bottle of milk in the fridge was not required.
Room wasn't serviced until very late in the day (5pm) right when we were trying to get freshened up etc to go out for the evening, this was annoying.
Mould around bath/shower, bathroom sink took forever for water to drain away, not pleasant when brushing teeth etc. door wouldn't open fully as washing machine behind door stuck out too much. No spare roll of toilet paper available we had to ask for it when we ran out. Rubbish, flannels, dirt and dust all down the back of washing machine, obviously cleaners never clean behind it and just let things get dropped.
Leather couch looks good but it "deflates" when sat on so is not comfy, leather dining chairs ripped and wobbly, pen drawings on walls, stains on carpets. Don't be fooled by the flashy looking mod-cons you see in their pictures.
Room was very noisy with shared door to next door room, and wind whistles loudly thru filthy deck and ranch sliders.
For price we paid, we could have had a top knotch room at various other great hotels in Wellington and with decent service, and if I could have canceled our room and got $ back straight after checking in - I would have. (I did ask and express my disappointment)
I won't be returning or recommending this to anyone.
Such a shame for a great location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeknaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony A, Manager at Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback Jeknaki
I was disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and that you did not find the staff friendly.

We place the upmost importance on our friendliness at Distinction, I have discussed your comments at length with our team to ensure they are providing our normal friendly service.

It would be good to confirm which room you stayed in so we can take a closer look at the housekeeping / maintenance issues highlighted in this room to ensure that we have already addressed them. I can be contacted via our website just click on the contact us button. Our housekeeper has taken time to check that everything is as it should be in all our room.

Sorry for the delay in servicing your room on your second day. The housekeepers work hard and we try and get the rooms cleaned as quickly as possible.

Thanks for your tip on room selection. My favourite rooms are on the city side of the hotel, the higher rooms have a very nice view of Mt Victoria. I would always recommend booking any of our City View rooms.

Kind regards
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    160
    80
    31
    11
See reviews for
62
170
18
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a long weekend recently and was very impressed with the presentation of the room. We paid for a studio and got an upgrade to a one bedroom which was nice. The room had wonderful black out curtains which dimmed the lights from the city. Only downside was a strange rumbling / buzzing noise / vibration that occurred every few minutes or so. We never figured out what it was! Also the staff are highly unfriendly (aside from the cleaning staff). We were greeted with a smile ONCE in four days; icing on the cake was having to listen to an inappropriate conversation between front desk staff as we were waiting for a cab haha.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amypixi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony A, Manager at Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. I was disappointed to hear that the staff were less than welcoming. Customer service is extremely important to us at Distinction and we will be focusing our training on this.

I'm sure on your next visit our service will be professional and friendly.

Kind Regards
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gore, Southland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

It was a steal getting a one room apartment upgrade and the experience was well worth it. The car parking is a bit awkward but that is the only failing in my stay. There is no room service facility (but that is coming soon) but when you realise that you are right beside the Lone Star- who do meals to go if you are a solo traveller and don't want to eat in. The number of different kinds of cuisine to choose from in this location is astounding. You would only have to venture with in a one block radius to come onto something that you fancy.

The one room apartment was tastefully decorated with a large white leather chais lounge. It is one of those types of rooms you just want to have a party in. Sliding doors onto the balcony to over look Tory Street in Wellington and feeling the pulse of a city. You have a full size fridge, range, oven and a small dishwasher to work with should you want to cook. A washer/dryer are also available in your bathroom.

The service at reception was amazing on check in and check out. There wasn't anything that I could ask for that was out of the realm of being catered to. I did get stuck in the car park on the way out and had to run into reception and ask to reset my key card but that was an easy fix.

Enjoyed my stay and would highly recommend to others.

Room Tip: Venture out and ask the locals for a recommendation for places to eat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony A, Manager at Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you Hanna H
Our car park is an adventure, we have instructions on the car park voucher to help the weary travellers.

We hope to have our Restaurant up and running later this year so watch this space. If you have an awesome name let us know we are looking for something catchy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwijndrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in Feb 2014. The location of this hotel is very central in Wellington and the room was really great. It was a very complete kitchen/studio with a large separate bathroom. The room was very clean and had a very comfortable bed. However we stayed on a Saturday night and the street is obviously in the routing to the entertainment area, so it was very noisy during most of the night. In spite of the noisy Saturday night, it was worth to stay here

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonia-en-Rudolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony A, Manager at Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you Antonia-enRudolf
Being close to the entertainment you do get a wee bit of traffic on the street. We recommend our rooms on the back of the hotel for those that are light sleepers at the weekends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Writing this review as I am currently staying here for the first time. Usually an Accor fan but they have got too pricey in Wellington. Rooms are modern, service outstanding (especially John on the front desk) and the one bedroom units have everything you need for a short or long stay, even a washing machine! I am a VERY fussy traveller as I spend a lot of time away and this one ticks the boxes. No restaurant or bar on site but everything in walking distance.

Room Tip: Worth paying a bit more to get a one bedroom that has more than a studio I imagine. I got a free up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dramaticAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony A, Manager at Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thanks for your review.
I'm pleased you enjoyed the upgrade the one bedroom city views are very comfortable.
John is a star I'll pass on your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

As a single female on a business trip I wouldn't stay here again. I arrived in the evening with a rental car, I had to park this myself in the basement of the car park building next door. I had to walk through a concrete corridor and up flights of stairs to get back to hotel. I didn't feel safe!
The room had a balcony that if I leaned out could touch the car park building next door! I had booked. City view!
The room was well equipped with kitchenette, dishwasher etc.
The TV didn't have many channels and TV3 wasn't there at all.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Distraction14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony A, Manager at Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for your comments. We have a selection of channels at the hotel with 5 sky and 3 national channels available. We will check the rooms to ensure they are all being received.

The car parking is in a low traffic area as it is separate to the public parking area. We have not had any safety concerns before, however if you are with us again feel free ask on of the staff to come with you.

All our court yard rooms face the rear of the hotel so do not have views. I would be happy to check your reservation details please feel free to contact me on reservations@distinctionwellington.co.nz . City view rooms face out towards Tory Street and have views out towards Mt Victoria and have more desirable views.
Once again thank you for your comments.
Regards
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

A great location for doing Touristy things, and the room itself was fantastic. Our main gripes were: robotic reception staff (one in particular, the rest were nice enough); having to pay $20 per day for parking, only to find we could have got a better weekend rate in the same carpark if we hadn't gone through the hotel; having to walk through the carpark to the pool, which was small but adequate, then finding that the one shower at the pool didn't work, so I had to walk back across the carpark to shower, wrapped in my towel...; the light and extractor fan on the hood of the cooker didn't work; only getting one towel each, which didn't make using the pool very comfortable if you wanted a shower again later on/had showered earlier.

But we had no problems with noise, the night reception was very accomodating with us having a guest in the evening, and all in all we had a good stay. The bonus was definately the size of the room.

Room Tip: we got a deal which upgraded us to a one bed appartment from a studio room through wotif.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
0.7 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#9 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.2 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel

Property: Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
Address: 70 Tory Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand (Formerly Grand Mercure Wellington Century City Apartments)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#20 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinction Wellington Century City Hotel provides the ideal Wellington accommodation base for business or leisure, in a vibrant location in the heart of all the action. On the doorstep of key Wellington attractions including Te Papa Museum, Distinction Wellington Century City Hotel's 89 guest rooms range from impeccably designed studios, to luxurious penthouse suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Wellington Century City Apartments Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing