We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My regular in Wellington. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Clean, spacious, comfortable with a fully equipped kitchen and laundry facilities in the bathroom.

Everything a business traveller needs.

Great thing is the location, 2 minutes walk away from shops, restaurants, bars and cafés.

There are plenty of attractions such as the national museum Te Papa, the Cuba mall, the cable cart and government grounds within a walking distance.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank GMtech99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here 75 days. They have two sides rooms, never get back view side room because you feel yourself in a cave after a while.. Room was looking to car parking area and it was too dark. Our bed was uncomfortable as well, its linen was slipping every night and two different levels was occurring in the bed..Carpet was not clean but room service was doing their jobs well, they sorted out every time what I required from them..Staff in the reception was professional and lovely..its location was good very central and close to shops, supermarkets like new world and Moore wilson..

Stayed: February 2014
Thank TunaYamali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I bought a grabone deal and it was $129 for 1 night in a 1 bedroom superior room. Upon arrival we went up to the room and found an empty can of redbull and a glass in the sink, on the ground a balloon pump, piece of plastic, and a twistie tie thing on the couch.. so there was clearly not a very thorough collection of rubbish before we took up the room! We enquired about the pool and you need to get the key from reception when you want to go (ie your room key doesnt access the pool). Not too bad i guess but a little inconvenient... so on we went to try find the pool. We were told to follow the blue lines on the floor on some level so we did... turns out the pool is up the lift and across a carpark building into another building! This isn't somewhere I'd walk alone at night. Upon inspection of the pool it's looking rather run down and we decided we definitely wouldn't swim in it. The gym is also a bit old looking... to me the gym/pool looks like its part of some cheap membership type deal that perhaps students would use. I didn't know the pool was out of the building like this and in such an old state before booking so wasn't very happy about that because i specifically wanted a hotel with a pool. :( I think if we didn't know it had a pool and there wasn't random rubbish in our room it would have been okay. The sound proofing between apartments and the hallway isn't good either and you could hear lots of banging through the night so we were constantly woken up. The heater in the room was good though and the balcony was large and in general the apartment was modern enough. No bath plug for the bath though. Carpet had various marks on it like a student flat. All in all it was okay for the price we paid but there were definitely some let downs! Location was a major selling factor for us as it's right across the road from moore wilsons.

Room Tip: We got a superior 1 bedroom which faced towards tory st.. from other reviews this seems to be the si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank peanutsauce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 2 weekends, first in a deluxe room and second in a standard, and had no problems either time.
The reception staff are very helpful, the rooms were very comfortable and well equipped.
The only problem was the noise from the hallways because they aren't carpeted and every sound echoed.
Would definitely stay here again

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank joeyb66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony A, Manager at Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thanks for your review joeb66
Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Look forward to seeing you again.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Went here for a birthday treat, $800 a night and quite disappointed. Great location but the place needs a spruce up, or even maybe a dust and a coat of paint. wouldn't go back there, The Museum Hotel has an amazing penthouse for $100 less.

Room Tip: Don't splash out on penthouse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Lily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony A, Manager at Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thanks for your feedback Lily
Sorry the Penthouse didnt meet your expectations. We will be be addressing any panting that may need doing thanks for bringing that to our attention.

Kind regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I have stayed at Distinction in Wellington multiple times and will be booking once again for the Wearable Arts. It is by far the best hotel in Wellington for the price that is paid. The location is great with easy access to restaurants and shops. The rooms are clean, tidy and modern. The kitchen, living area and bedrooms give the impression that nobody has stayed there previously which is what I look for in a hotel. There was no trace of past travelers and everything looked very new. Booking is simple and I have often been able to sneak into a room last minute, which is not to be said about many hotels. Yes, you can have more luxury elsewhere but only for an extra $200+. Overall a very clean and comfortable stay every time.

Room Tip: You can save money if you aren't worried about the view and can close the curtains. This is grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ChelseaHay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony A, Manager at Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thanks for your Comments Chelsea
Great that you enjoyed your stay. Hope we see you again soon.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Room is nice & spacious with a great bathroom & cooking facilities.

Room was a front room so over looking the street, noise from the street was easily heard & early morning rubbish trucks there to wake you!!

Good gym facilities, best that I have come across at a hotel during my travels. Well equipped.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank SOC100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony A, Manager at Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thanks for your comments. Pleased that you enjoyed the gym. If you are into weights then there is a good choice.
See you again soon.
Regards Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
1 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#8 of 47 in Wellington
1,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
1,422 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#6 of 47 in Wellington
1,714 reviews
0.8 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
2,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel

Address: 70 Tory Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand (Formerly Grand Mercure Wellington Century City Apartments)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#20 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: £81 - £584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinction Wellington Century City Hotel provides the ideal Wellington accommodation base for business or leisure, in a vibrant location in the heart of all the action. On the doorstep of key Wellington attractions including Te Papa Museum, Distinction Wellington Century City Hotel's 89 guest rooms range from impeccably designed studios, to luxurious penthouse suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Wellington Century City Apartments Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing