We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but cold!”
Review of Boulcott Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boulcott Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location but cold!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I would stay here again as it was great location with nice modern facilities but they need to sort the heating out! Column oil heaters are no good so we were very cold. Few blankets on the beds and no electric blankets - in winter. I see other reviews stating the same things so hopefully management will take notice rather than just saying there are extra blankets and heaters provided - not really helpful. Perhaps wait till summer before you stay here if they don't take it seriously, especially as it does cost quite a lot to stay here. They could also do with some new pillows as they are really thin.

Room Tip: Ask for ones that are heated with proper heaters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ClaudineUsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    122
    33
    13
    4
See reviews for
126
64
10
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We spend 3 days in the apartments with a group of 8. We had 2 of the 4 bedroomed apartments.

They are modern and well appointed, the beds were comfortable and the bathrooms just fine. It was winter and cold, but the apartments stayed warm, despite just small heaters (and I feel the cold!) They were spotlessly clean. My only gripe, that there was no flexibility at all on staying a little longer, even though we were prepared to pay. The additional 2 hours that we stayed until midday cost us $30. I think it would be great to be a little more receptive to customer needs.

These are close to some great restaurants, and most of the attractions of Wellington. I would recommend them.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageAccommodation, Guest Relations Manager at Boulcott Suites, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Glad your enjoyed your stay, the townhouses are a great option for a larger group. We look forward to welcoming you back next time your in Wellington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feilding, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I recently stayed at one of the townhouses and to my amazement there was basically NO heating ! One would have thought a modern premises like this would have had a heatpump, but no - they had a tiny oil column heater for a massive 30-40 sq. metre living area which not only was completely ineffective, it was a complete waste of power as it did NOTHING but was running at full power the whole time along with 2 other heaters upstairs in the bedrooms. Plus there was basically only a sheet on the kids beds - no duvets or blankets. We had to ring reception to get more blankets, we asked for more heating, they had no 'spare heaters'. However we did stay in a 2 bedroom apartment there uring a warmer time of the year and it was lovely. It is very nice accommodation I would stay there again but definitely NOT in WINTER, although the extra $25 per day for parking is a put off.

Room Tip: Take a heater if your staying in winter! The town houses are not worth the extra $, They are locate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karla N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageAccommodation, Guest Relations Manager at Boulcott Suites, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. The townhouses are very spacious and modern, we do provide fans for the hotter days and heaters for the colder days. There are spare blankets in each room with more available on request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

3 adults stayed here before leaving on the early morning ferry after finding a deal on travel bug. What a find! This 2 storey, 2 bedroomed, 2 bathroomed apartment was fabulous for what we needed. Great central location and free parking too. Highly recommended and a particular bargain if you get it on a deal. Hoping to return. I rarely give 5 stars but this place ticked all the boxes.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageAccommodation, Guest Relations Manager at Boulcott Suites, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for such a glowing review, the townhouses are a great option and very spacious we are glad you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We spent 4 magical nights here and location is great, only a 5 minute walk from most attractions. The suites are clean, comfortable and well equipped. I highly recommend anyone visiting Wellington to book into the Boulcott Suites. Amy from customer services is superb and we felt most welcome. Thanks for a great stay, we'll certainly see you again!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BrendonLombard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Great location in the thick of it all in Wellington. A short and easy stroll down hill to good restaurants, galleries and the heart of the city.
Main concern is that this place actually calls itself 'hotel style' and charges that way but...
three main things I found really wierd:
1. No internet, unless you pay for a stupid card with a complicated password that you have to re-enter everytime your computer goes to sleep.
2. No air conditioning. Yes Wellington is often cool and windy, but that actually makes opening a window even harder so makes no air pumped in even more difficult.
3. No room servicing. This place is actually quite expensive per night so a real surprise to find once you get in to the room you have to pay extra to actually have your 'hotel' room serviced.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KZ7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Booked via wotif.com; stayed in a Two Bedroomed townhouse; priced well for what it was.
Relatively easy to find, however nowhere to park on arrival to check-in (and located on a narrow sidestreet). Parking nearby @ $15 per day.
Two swipe cards and a room key and then directions to get to room all a little tricky for the wary traveller.
Townhouse clean, comfy and spacious - kitchen, living and dining downstairs, two bedroom and two (small) bathrooms upstairs. Stairs to get to upper lever quite steep (something to watch if traveling with children, elderly or people with mobility problems).
Only had two issues during our stay - the glassware/crockery/cutlery was pretty dirty so we had to wash everything prior to us using. Our TV was not working (problem with Sky decoder) and no one able to remedy that evening, however sorted following day.
Would happily stay here again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CountryLass2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,381 reviews
0.4 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
740 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
1,577 reviews
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.3 mi away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#9 of 46 in Wellington
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulcott Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulcott Suites

Property: Boulcott Suites
Address: 5 O'Reily Ave, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Boulcott Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From studio apartments and spacious single-level suites to fully-equipped executive four-bedroom townhouses, Boulcott Suites is ideal for guests looking for quality and space. Boulcott Suites offers a range of options for groups, individuals or families. With secure undercover car parking available, large well-appointed living areas, high speed Wi-Fi access, Sky TV and a 5-star Qualmark rating, Boulcott Suites is your premier accommodation option in Wellington. The brand new North Tower provides executive and premium studio and one bedroom apartments, some with balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Boulcott Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulcott Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing