We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very satisfied”
Review of Masala Cafe & Bar

Masala Cafe & Bar
Ranked #123 of 930 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$16
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very satisfied”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Been there a second time now within a few weeks and still like it. Service friendly and efficient, asks not just when taking the order but also during we had our meals if we wish anything else. The food was very good, had chicken, lamb and beef curry, there are different styles of spiciness available as in 'kiwi hot' or 'Indian hot' for those who likes it real authentic! Will definitely coming back!

Helpful?
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    43
    9
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Tasty food, excellent value!”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I always plan my stays in Wellington around the nights that the YHA hostel gets take out from this restaurant. Most recently, I got the aloo gobi with rice and naan. It is such a good deal and a perfect portion. I've also had the saag paneer, which is tasty too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank RoamingTheGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good take-away for a good price”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I got the take-away special offer: for 12 NZD you can choose any chickenpox vegetarian meal to take away and get complementary rice and a plain naan. The service was quick, but the restaurant was mostly empty at the time I went there. I chose a Paneer Tikka Masala, which was tasty and quite nice. The serving was very generous, I could actually eat it twice. The interior seemed nice, you could see into the kitchen and check what the cooks were doing, which might be not quite as nice once it gets really busy.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Okay food”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Not too bad but not great. Probably went for the wrong meal (Lunch). It all seemed just re-heated and served with no great flavour in the meat. I have heard that dinner is better, but disappointed with lunch.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sanjeeva07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice interior, service not great, generous portions”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Good points: Well decorated, central location, generous portions and selection of food

Down sides: Slow service without a smile (even though the place was quiet when I was there), you have to pay extra to take away any left over food that you have....seems a bit of a cheek.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Genn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Masala Cafe & Bar also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Masala Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing