We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service and excellent location if working at the hospital”
Review of Ascot Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ascot Motor Lodge
Ranked #34 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Had to stay overnight as had a job Otago's Medical School (Wellington Hospital) campus - staff where friendly, rooms okay and comfortable - it is the location that make this place so good and would have no hesitation staying again for work

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sebcat14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Ascot Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed here over a weekend when on a conference next to the hospital; I was upgraded from a Queen studio to a one bedroom, where the bedroom was upstairs with the bathroom. I don't always sleep well in a city as live rurally but no problem here. Excellent friendly service.

Room Tip: I was at the back of the complex away from the road.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

This motor lodge is directly opposite Wellington hospital which is why I stayed here. This is not a 5 star hotel nor does it pretend to be.
The rooms are comfortable, tidy and clean. Cooking facilities (a stove top, but no stove) are available and include a microwave plus basic cooking equipment.
Staff are very obliging.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Ascot Motor Lodge is a very convenient place to stay overnight in Wellington. Easy to locate with good public transport access to Wellington city-centre. Rooms are quite good, although the Wellington main Hospital is across the road we experienced no disturbance. Friendly service, very helpful in planning your way into town.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pineapple_girl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

I had to stay in wellington when a family member was in wellington hospital. The hotel across the street was very nice. The staff are friendly, i could do cooking (it had a stove top and not just a microwave), yay for not have to share a kitchen/bathroom/tv etc, and it was handy to be literally across the street at a zebra/pedestrian crossing with lights. There is some kind of convenience store next to it, but I didn't go in there. I found the shops of Newtown were only a block away...everything you could want in very easy distance (supermarket, pharmacy, funky clothes, indian saris, a real french cafe, weekend market, ....). And on a main bus line to Downtown Wellywood or (in the other direction) the Zoo. I would stay there any time (except if I was broke) ;-)

Room Tip: Some rooms are upstairs and some are furthur back from the road (so some might be quieter/noiseier)
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank richards1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Very close proximity to hospital (literally across the road!) and short walk to Newtown supermarket & restaurants. City centre and airport are also both close by car/bus.

Very pleased with 1 bedroom apartment: while not fancy, clean and functional and just what we needed. TV reception wasn't the best but this only affected some channels; not really a concern. Service was friendly and free wi-fi was included. Would stay again if re-visiting Wellington Hospital.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geenie_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

My daughter and I had come to Wellington to see the Wiggles concert and hadn't realised that the All Blacks were playing the same day. We were lucky enough to get a room here at Ascot Motor Lodge with undercover parking. The hosts were very helpful with any questions we had, and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were clean and the bed was very comfortable. While the unit was close to the road, it wasn't as noisy as I thought it would be. It's only a short distance to town so we were able to take a 5 min bus ride and not worry about parking in town. The breakfast was great as well, if a little late. It was reasonably priced considering the lateness of the booking. I will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellington
1.1 mi away
Brentwood Hotel
Brentwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kilbirnie
302 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments
0.1 mi away
Adelaide Motel
Adelaide Motel
#44 of 46 in Wellington
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Southgate Motor Inn
Southgate Motor Inn
#30 of 46 in Wellington
72 reviews
0.3 mi away
88 Wallace Court
88 Wallace Court
#36 of 46 in Wellington
63 reviews
0.9 mi away
Capital View Motor Inn
Capital View Motor Inn
#27 of 46 in Wellington
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Motor Lodge

Address: 46 Riddiford Street | Newtown, Wellington, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range: £87 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot Motor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ascot Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing