We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay with perfect hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wellington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oriental Bay Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 45 Wellington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Stunning views & very friendly welcome from Bev & Warren to their home. They very kindly drove us into Wellington on our first day, and also took us to the ferry terminal when we left - much appreciated! Comfortable bed, excellent shower and large bedroom. There is also a useful microwave and fridge in the room, although did need them with super breakfast and excellent Wellington restaurants. Would definitely return to this B&B if in Wellington again.
Dragonfly restaurant excellent, as we're Te Papa museum & Botanic Gardens (both free). Old St Paul's church well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2013

We have just spent two nights here and there is nothing less than excellent to describe the Oriental Bay.
Bev and Warren are very friendly, chatty, and happy to share their knowledge of the city with you.
Rooms are beautifully appointed and there are little extras like biscuits, newspaper and fruit.. Very clean and comfortable with stunning views of the harbour from the dining room..
Great Location, although quite a steep climb to the house its an easy walk to all attractions, or bus stop.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAC167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

A 5-star stay in Wellington does not get better than this! Not only is the location oustanding, John and Bev deserve an award for architectural excellence. Each room is beautifully appointed, and breakfast is served overlooking the bay with stunning views. Bev ensures that you do not leave hungry and even prepares eggs according to your preference. John provided us with local orientation just after we arrived and ensured that we found a great place to have dinner. We wish we could have spent one more night here!

Room Tip: The rooms are all on the same level and each is individually appointed with high-level decorations...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wellentonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We stayed for 2 nights with another couple all in our 60s. Wellington is built on hills and this B&B is in the most expensive part of Wellington. The view from the eating area was superb. Bev and Warren were very good hosts. You feel like you are with friends. The rooms were beautifully decorated as Bev has an eye for decorating. They have a zebra skin in their living room. Bev cooked a wonderful breakfast and Warren kept us amused with all his tales. The only drawback is getting up with a car and we had a van. There was adequate parking for us even with the van. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slovak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Bev and Warren are amazing hosts. They know the city inside and out including most of the people who live there. This couple is gracious, funny and have a very relaxed attitude while running a beautiful home catering to your needs. The views from the dining room are phenomenal. What a perfect place to have breakfast served to you by Bev. Great location, comfortable room, good food...what more do you want?

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debsnotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

Great stay n tasty cooked breakfast. Wonderful hosts. thanks Bev n Warren for your lovely welcome n alwaya ensuring their guests are always well taken of.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank johnevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Following a long journey from Lake Taupo to Wellington, short journey to Oriental Bay and a short climb to a wonderful location.The welcome was warm and cheerful but the building and location surpassed all expectation. To call this a 'bed and breakfast' is to describe Champagne - a fizzy drink. Our hosts (Beverley and Warren) are rightly proud of this wonderful home with extended accomodation for 2 guest groups. The room was luxurious and beautifully decorated, every thought had been put into making our stay so relaxing and warm.
You are treated better than guests and much more like family friends. The best is yet to come as you are made welcome at the breakfast table together with outher guests and their family. Relaxing and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble and the breakfast is substantial and as good as it gets.
The views from every panorama window are breathtaking, looking out over Wellington harbour. We were taken to the morning ferry as if it was always part of the service.
We would like to return soon and this is definitely on our top places to return. Thank you Beverley and Warren, you have such a wonderful family and a beautiful home.
We will keep such memories until our return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Taurus42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,670 reviews
0.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.7 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,912 reviews
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriental Bay Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Bay Bed & Breakfast

Address: 18A Hay Street | Oriental Bay, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, location. Prime location to the City.Warren and Bev welcome you to enjoy their Architecturally Designed modern home in Oriental Bay, Wellington's city beach, located only a short stroll to all major activities and City centre.No need to drive around the city as everything is so close and we have free off street parking.Exquisite views of the City Beach and Buildings around the Port and one of the world's most picturesque Harbours.Enjoy breakfast watching Tug boats and Ships moving around the Port before strolling 10 minutes into the City where you will find Te Papa Museum, Theatres, Cafes, Shopping, Cable Car to the Botanical gardens.Our prime location is only 10mins drive to the Airport.Ferries and Railway StationPick up from the these terminals is available by arrangement.Both B&B Studio Rooms are self contained with Ensuite (heated tile floors) and Kitchenette(Fridge and Mirowave) so you can self cater, or come upstairs to the Dining room for a fully cooked Breakfast or an extensive Continental.A warm welcome from us is assured. A home and hospitality to remember. Credit cards accepted ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing