We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wellington City Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Perfect home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

We were delighted with our stay in this quaint and historic cottage and quarter. Beautifully furnished and warm in the snow freeze! Loved exploring this new favourite area of Wellington with its character shops and cafes completely true to its era. Our hosts were awesome - an extra night free of charge and airport collection when our flight was cancelled due to the weather - truly beyond the extra mile..... :-)
Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AmandaB30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    37
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
80
100
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wanganui
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Fantastic people, service, accommodation, fittings, locality and parking. Dean couldn't have been more pleasant, welcoming and helpful. We will definitely return. Want to try out the lovely outdoor area on a warm day. Fabulous value when you consider that breakfast and parking are covered within price!! Loved that we could arrive and depart anytime without the need for an office.Thanks to all concerned.
Completed by: Rankin Family --- On: 25 July 2011 --- Rating: 10/10

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMCKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Just a wonderful place to stay, right in the heart of the Cuba quarter. Like a little sanctuary after a busy day walking the waterfront, museums, cafes, galleries and shopping of Wellington. The breakfast basket was generous and it was excellent being able to return to the cottage, relax and put the kettle on. Especially good if you want a change from a tiny hotel room. Have already passed on the name to friends who visit Wellington regularly and want somewhere different to stay. Will return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jassy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOCKSVILLE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

There were 2 of us and we stayed 8 nights. It was a wonderful experience being close to Cuba Street and bus routes.
We didn't have a phone; would have been nice if City Cottages had a phone, but everything else was great.
Highly recommend this place. It was clean and nice. We also enjoyed our stay in Wellington because we had a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morningglory12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

Lovely stand-alone cottage with dignified, modern, new furnishings and fittings, all presented with care and immaculate attention to detail. A dear wee pebbled courtyard out the back complete the picture. Full kitchen with dishwasher and washing machine/dryer is just so convenient, although the perfect Vegan breakfast roll is but a 2 minute walk away at Midnight Express cafe'. The high ceilings and clever layout give a spacious feel, and the cottage is cosy warm, with 3 heaters supplied if needed.

The lovely owners left us utterly to ourselves, and all transactions were done on line. We were so comfy we stayed an extra 2 nights and this transaction was hassle free and easy. Designated parking in safe wee private car-park too, and the location was perfect. 10 steps to Cuba street. Everything right at the door.

I will be returning. Highly recommended!!!!!

I'd live there if they'd let me.;)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VeganAlien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here, every modern convenience you could need -inc mini dishwasher and private laundry. There is a moving wall to seperate the bedroom, when it's open creates a nice open space. Comfortable modern bed and powerful shower. Very good Wifi. Own designated car parking. Cute patio out the back with bench. Great location for walking around town, didn't use the car once in a week. The owners were very pleasant to deal with.

Room Tip: We stayed in number 5, and really loved it.
See more room tips
Helpful?
2 Thank kellbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

When we planned our nz trip, we wanted to live the nz life, and what better way to do it than to stay in a place like city cottages. It was just like our own home. Buying groceries and cooking breakfast on our own. The little apartment-like sanctuary gave us all the privacy we needed. We've never checked into accommodation that didn't require any check in over a counter! Booked and paid for this place over the net from home (Malaysia) a few months in advance, and all we had to do upon arrival was to key in a code to open the door. Brilliant. It had everything we needed, including our own little backyard. Imagine this right in the heart of Wellington, along Cuba street. We walked to every place we planned to go. The pleasant surprise was that there were 3 (yes, 3) Malaysian restaurants just down the road. Not that we were gonna eat Malaysian food throughout, but gave us a sense of being close to home at the same time. Dean our landlord was especially helpful when it came to little queries eg Internet connection etc (we still don't know what he looks like but thnks to SMS). we'd recommend this to anyone wanting to stay in the city and with utmost privacy at the same time. Well done city cottages. Youve become our standard accommodation for our future trips!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zuccaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.5 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.2 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.5 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington City Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington City Cottages

Property: Wellington City Cottages
Address: 5 - 7 Tonks Grove | Cuba Quarter, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wellington City Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two heritage cottages built in 1880 and fully renovated 2010. Each cottage sleeps up two 4 guests (total 8) and comes with a carpark and wireless internet. Located in vibrant Cuba Quarter, within a few minutes walk of most Wellington attractions. Combine with nearby Wellington City Townhouse, Wellington City Studio and Wellington City Bed and Breakfast to sleep a total of 22 people! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wellington City Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing