We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect little cottages to stay while in Wellington”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wellington City Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect little cottages to stay while in Wellington”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

These cottages were amazing and catered for everything we required for our weekend stay in Wellington. Perfectly located at the top end of cuba street it was only a 10-15 minute walk to courtney place and the waterfront. I would recommend this to everyone and definitely would stay again. Thank you very much

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityCottages, Owner at Wellington City Cottages, responded to this review, 12 November 2014
Thnaks for your review. The great thing about our location is that it is only 15 minutes walk from almost anywhere in Wellington - or to the main bus-stops for visits to Peter Jackson's studios or further afield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    37
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
81
101
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

when you're hardly ever in it. Cottage was walking distance to all the places we wanted to explore and very reasonably priced. Stayed 2 nights, unfortunately, first night was spoilt by very loud music coming from the restaurant behind until the early hours of the morning. Traffic noise was noticeable but not enough to keep you awake (double glazing could be an option?). Loved being able to self-cater. Very clean and tidy. Heating panel on the wall was sufficient but wouldn't cope with the colder weather, but a bar heater was also supplied. Had to jam a chair under the front door handle at night as the wind made it rattle. Pity about the first night, as it would make us think twice about staying there again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank pacifictrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityCottages, Owner at Wellington City Cottages, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the convenience and self-catering aspect of the cottages. We are also really sorry that you were disturbed by the noise from Arthur's Restaurant. They close at 10pm so I am not sure why there was noise later than that. I will contact the owners, but it would be great if you could email me with the dates of your stay so that they can raise it with the staff that were working that night. Many thanks, Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Thank you trip advisor! Without your app we would not have found this gem of a place nicely hidden down a Lane/Grove. So central to the eclectic culture of Cuba St. Close to eateries of all types. The noise of the night is to be expected given its locality. Tidy, modern and comfortable. We were in the 2 bedroom cottage which is a large open space with a queen bed at one end which has a sliding door to separate for privacy from living area. In the remaining space there is a sofa bed which creates a comfortable Queen bed in the lounge. Great water pressure in shower. Electric blankets and heaters thankfully as it was a chilly night. Very thankful we stayed here. Well done Jeff and thank you! We will definitely be back!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Biffee63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityCottages, Owner at Wellington City Cottages, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your very generous review. We have tried really hard to provide the type of accommodation that we appreciate when we travel. It seems we have achieved it for you! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Cottage was very clean and had some well thought out ideas to make it a pleasurable stay - keyless entry, freshly ground coffee, storage area for luggage after you check out, free parking and free wifi are some of the thing that stood out. (WI-Fi should be free in all accommodation IMHO - but rarely is in NZ)

Overall a great option if you need somewhere to stay short or long term in that part of the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CuppaTforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityCottages, Owner at Wellington City Cottages, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thanks for your review, Dan. We know from our travels that it is the little things that make a huge difference, especially free wifi and freshly ground coffee!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We had a lovely stay at the city cottages. Our only regret was that we didn't stay longer. After staying at a range of accommodations across several weeks in New Zealand, this was by far our favorite. It felt, if only for a few days, like a home away from home.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chalpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZRed, Owner at Wellington City Cottages, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for your great review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAnchester
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We decided to stay at City Cottages based on tripadvisor reviews. We were not disappointed! Very clean, modern and stylish self-catering accommodation with the added bonus of a free parking space, a rarity in Wellington! Being located just off the top of Cuba Street was ideal, leaving us with a choice of numerous restaurants within a few minutes walking distance. Good value too, compared to other places. Only minor issue for us was that there were some road repairs taking place at the rear of the property, but that was just bad luck! We would highly recommend staying at City Cottages.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizShrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityCottages, Owner at Wellington City Cottages, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your great review! Sorry about the road works behind the cottages. They were part of the project to build the new memorial park in time for the WWI commemorations. They were really annoying but are now finished.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We would definitely recommend this cottage. It was in a great location and everything, shops, restaurants and art house movie theatre was on our door step. Lovely and clean with good amenities, we much preferred staying here in a cute cottage than a soulless hotel. Hope to be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.5 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.2 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.5 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington City Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington City Cottages

Property: Wellington City Cottages
Address: 5 - 7 Tonks Grove | Cuba Quarter, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wellington City Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two heritage cottages built in 1880 and fully renovated 2010. Each cottage sleeps up two 4 guests (total 8) and comes with a carpark and wireless internet. Located in vibrant Cuba Quarter, within a few minutes walk of most Wellington attractions. Combine with nearby Wellington City Townhouse, Wellington City Studio and Wellington City Bed and Breakfast to sleep a total of 22 people! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wellington City Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing