We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere ”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Bella Italia

La Bella Italia
Ranked #22 of 911 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: From the moment you step through our door, you will feel like you are in Italy. A unique combination of a Restaurant, Cafe and Retail shop, La Bella Italia in Petone, Wellington was born from director Antonio Cacace's passion to educate Kiwis about the beauty of traditional, authentic Italian products and cuisine.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Went with a group of friends on a Saturday night. Definitely make reservations as they were extremely busy, although still reasonable service.
Very authentic with little Italian supermarket inside. Great atmosphere, and fantastic food.
Will definitely go again!

Helpful?
Thank 960Caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    62
    28
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wells, Nevada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“excellent pasta dish and nice ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Friends recommended this restaurant, so we have it a go even though it's very out of the way. It was packed on a Friday lunchtime, and the dishes coming out of the kitchen looked fabulous. I had a pasta dish which was delicious, my partner had a pizza which was decidedly average. The staff were very pleasant, and the dessert and coffee both very good. Definitely worth searching out.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnieBooboos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good coffee”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Friends rated this place, so we went there for a coffee and a catch up. It was ok, the concept of the restaurant and cafe, and shop selling the Italian imports in the same building is not great. Fair to say the coffee were good. You'd have to know where they are though, as they are not on a main road, or in the normal view.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peckanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing pizza”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Disappointing pizza. Small but bases tasty. Topping sparse and only had one price of seafood if that. Dominos better and next time will go to mediterrean pizza.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigger218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Classic Italian Food - Fresh and Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

This is a great restaurant that serves wonderful fresh and delicious Italian food. Although somewhat out of the way in Petone, it is well worth a visit if you enjoy genuine Italian food. The surroundings are somewhat rustic being in large, warehouse type building that also serves as a shop for Italian food, wine, oils, etc. You can see the kitchen working which I always thinks builds trust.

We had a team lunch there during the week and everyone without exception were delighted with the food. The anti-pasti and with fresh cheese, salami, olives and breads were the perfect starter for the table. I had cannelloni which, like all the food, was fresh and tasty. Likewise with the desserts. I always have tiramisu and the one here had moist but firm sponge and fresh cream with freshly topped cinnamon. One of our table was in raptures at the Affogato al Liquore.

Afterwards we shopped at the instore deli for the same fresh cheese, salami, olives we had had with our meal.

Prices were medium.

Simply delightful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KiwiTraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Bella Italia also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to La Bella Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing