We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aussie Funtimes”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wellington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lighthouse and the Keep Wellington
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Aussie Funtimes”
Reviewed 16 August 2012 via mobile

We were delighted to spend 2 days at The Lighthouse. A unique experience in a beautiful location with breathtaking views. Every care was taken by Bruce (owner) to ensure our stay was relaxing & pleasurable from the special touches of arriving to a pre-warmed residence, chocolates beside the bed and over indulged with a large selection of choices for a continental breakfast (2 boxes of cereal, loaf of wholegrain bread, crumpets, fresh fruit, yogurt, milk, butter and/or selection of cooked breakfast (gourmet sausages, bacon, eggs, tomato, mushrooms) including a selection of condiments & tea/coffee (including plunger). The restroom and shower/ hand basin adjoined to the kitchen (1st floor) was very clean, functional & included an optional towel warmer with hot water readily available with a strong and full stream in the shower. There are Power-points galore on each of the 3 levels and fan (1st floor) and oil (2nd & 3rd floor) heaters that efficiently warm all levels of the Lighthouse (we are from the tropics & had only the oil heater on the 2nd floor on). Fabulously priced you won't find an accomodation equivalent elsewhere. Very comfortable bed wth option of 4 pillows and additional bedding. Limited TV reception (2 channels) however fabulous screen & DVD Player. Just remember whatever you take up to the top storey must come down when you leave! Gorgeous accomodation - a must do in Wellington.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Frieda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
39
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NZ
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We spent 2 nights here last weekend and had a wonderful time. The place is perfect for two. Long walks on the beach and dinner at the Cheeky Pipi in Island Bay. Take some books and some DVDs and CDs (you can play your CDs through the DVD player).
The views are to die for and Bruce leaves a great selection of breakfast foods and there is plenty of heating if its wintery.
We will definately stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMXNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed at The Keep for one night and we loved it. It was so relaxing and romantic. It is three stories, on the 1st floor is the kitchen and dining area which has a window looking out onto the ocean (beautiful view!), the 2nd floor is the bedroom which has a toilet, shower and even a spa bath which is huge. If you go up the 3rd set of stairs you come to the roof where you open a latch and can sit on a picnic table and admire the beautiful view of the ocean. At night you can take a glass of wine up there and sit under the stars. Bruce is the owner and he makes the stay really special, supplying plenty of food for the morning and other special touches such as flowers on the window sill etc. Because it's right on the beach, you can wake up, have a coffee looking out onto the view from the dining room and then go for a stroll on the beach early morning. We would definitely recommend this place to others, if you're looking for somewhere different, relaxing and romantic then this is the place for you. We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becz-Awa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The Lighthouse is a cozy place on 3 floors. The kitchen and bathroom are on the first floor, bedroom on the next and the top floor is a treasure with windows all around. It is a quaint building and the story behind the Lighthouse is so romantic! Bruce built it for his wife as she was an artist and he did it all undercover, so she never saw it until it was finished. The sea views from any floor are wonderful. Bruce left plenty of vegetarian food for me and it was a haven after a day of hiking to Red Rocks, or around town. Wine in hand sitting in the top floor studio with the doors open was the only way to smell the sea, listen to the crash of the waves and watch the sunrise or sunset. Ahhh!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giphtedone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Busan, South Korea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed at The Gap for only one night :( It was easy to find and had everything you needed for a great stay. The only downside (some would say its an upside) was that there was no cellphone coverage ... but cross the road, turn right, walk down and around the corner and you've got a good signal .. and 25 minutes later Hell Pizza were delivering our dinner to "our" little castle. We'll definitely return :D

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

we stayed at the keep for 3 nights and found it something special. The amount of food Bruce left for us was fantastic,and the variety was great.Bruce went out of his way to make us feel welcome.the only thing i would say needs adding was a radio so we had music and a slightly bigger fridge. thanks for a special stay loved sitting at the window sipping champers and waving to the joggers.

Room Tip: shop at the kilburnie pak n save and buy heaps of fresh mussel's Mmmmmm
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bfg62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

First off, It's a Lighthouse! How cool is that. We stayed 1 night and it was simply fun. Be prepare to climb some stairs, so don't pack to heavy, not a big deal though. The light house has a lot of charm but it is a bit old and could use some TLC. The kitchen and bath room are a bit small but that was completely expected. The kitchen was stocked with a good amount of food, fruits, and cereal. It was quite funny, I ran out hot water in the middle of my shower, no joke. But I have to say it was my gf fault for taking such a long hot shower. Can't fault the light house for our mistake. The top stairs is narrow and was a bit scary to come down at first but it was expected from and added to the fun of the Lighthouse. The top floor has a perfect 360 view. I have to say that we lucked out. The night we stayed was a full moon and it rose from the ocean right in front of the small island. We stayed up all night drinking wine and enjoying the view and the sound of the ocean. I have to say the TV on the second floor was one of the nicest TV's I have seen in a NZ rental but I we never turned it on so I can't tell it it worked as well as it looked. The beach area was nice to walk along, we found some abalone shells on the sand. But when we walked around the corner toward the Keep there were a bunch of abalone shells all over the place, super cool. We had caught the #1 bus to the lighthouse and it was about a 7 min walk from the last stop. Not bad at all.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank achiabuchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
1.9 mi away
Ascot Motor Lodge
Ascot Motor Lodge
#36 of 46 in Wellington
36 reviews
3.1 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
740 reviews
3.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
3.1 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
1,577 reviews
3.8 mi away
Wellesley Boutique Hotel
Wellesley Boutique Hotel
#26 of 46 in Wellington
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lighthouse and the Keep Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lighthouse and the Keep Wellington

Property: The Lighthouse and the Keep Wellington
Address: Island Bay, Wellington, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing