We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finnemore House”
Review of Finnimore House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wellington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Finnimore House
Ranked #11 of 45 Wellington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Willie and Kathleen are a delightful, friendly couple who obviously enjoy the company of their guests. The bedrooms are large and airy. The breakfast will set you up for the day. We stayed there before and after our visit to South Island. Even the cat is very friendly !
Alan Thomas, Glanaman, Wales.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2011

Had the most delightful stay in this beautiful family home, rich with culture and charm. Willie & Kathleen are the most delightful, helpful and superb hosts you could wish for. If you are looking for a warm and friendly home from home (complete with the friendly house cat Bilbo) very close to all the attractions of Wellington, you can do no better.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

This was my first visit to New Zealand. The folks at Finnimore House immediately made me feel welcome and it was quite similar to feeling at home. I really appreciated the interaction with them. I did not feel "here it is contact us if you want anything". Casual conversation enabled me to really get to know NZ. They were most helpful with refining my trip through the rest of New Zealand. Both are excellent ambassadors for New Zealand. I rate them to be the highest I could rate.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamorrison1929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

Willie & Kathleen Ryan made us so welcome that, over the 17 nights we stayed there, we almost felt part of the family. It's not a hotel, it's a small B&B with a shared bathroom for the two huge downstairs bedrooms, a shared lounge and dining room. It's an old (1920s style) house on a hill with some lovely art Deco aspects. There's no TV, radio, telephone or mini-bar in the bedroom but we'd happily stay there again for the comfort, the relaxed atmosphere and Willie's marvellous hospitality and breakfasts.
There was tea & coffee making in the bedroom (top up the milk jug from the kitchen fridge as needed), we had our own front door key, there was ample parking and areas to sit out in to enjoy the morning or evening sunshine.
Bilbo the cat was as friendly and well-behaved as a cat could be.
The location suited us, being half-way between the city and where our relatives were living.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Abrausmuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Arnaud C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Christina_Rudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
1.3 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#15 of 47 in Wellington
684 reviews
1.9 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
2,225 reviews
1.5 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 47 in Wellington
1,698 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Wellington
Quality Hotel Wellington
#13 of 47 in Wellington
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finnimore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finnimore House

Address: 2 Dransfield Street, Wellington 6021, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing