We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful meal”

Siem Reap Restaurant
Ranked #67 of 921 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful meal”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I have been going to Siem Rap for many years now and are always impressed with the service and quality of the food. It is always crowded which I take is a good sign for such an established restaurant. Prices are a little higher than I usually pay but worth it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fishingadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    63
    12
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicious food, a bit pricey, but generous portions.”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We recently had dinner as a family at Siem Reap. We were a bit hesitant at first, because around 5:30 there were very few customers which can be a bad sign. The prices were also a bit higher than what we normally like to pay(~$25/main) and it was our first time here. And of course with kids it's difficult going to a new place and trying new food. We were pleasantly surprised on all counts and very impressed by both the food and the service.

We ordered Satay Chicken for an entree, which was absolutely delicious. For the mains we had a Ban Chow(rice pancake filled with mince chicken and vegetables with peanut sauce) and Beef Ginger. The pancake was gigantic, and the Beef Ginger was a generous portion as well. We shared all three meals with the kids and they loved it. The flavours were delightful, and the dishes that were rated "mild" were indeed mild(although there are plenty of spicy dishes on the menu as well).

For drinks we had a Nikita mocktail which again was amazingly delicious and quite large.

Service was excellent as well, we never had to ask for our water glasses to be refilled, and the waitress had some excellent recommendations for what to order. We'll definitely be back.

One suggestion I'd make is to have crayons and coloring sheets for children which would've been nice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tincze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good intro to cambodian cuisine”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Took my boyfriend here who had never tried cambodian cuisine. A nice mix of meat and vegetarian dishes, catering for everyone's needs. Decent size portions, to match the price. Only downside is they don't advise while ordering the rice costs extra (so you may get a surprise when paying that it costs extra).
It's always really busy, so pays to book or you may end up having to eat quick or wait a while for a table.

Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We asked for help in our choices as we had not eaten Cambodian food before and the food was absolutely fantastic, the service great and it was quick - just right.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Booked a family dinner based on a recommendation. We were not disappointed. This restaurant has great ambience, a great menu and very good service. Four of us enjoyed a variety of menu options all of which we're flavoursome and very enjoyable. The wine list, and other beverages, provides a good cross section of quality wines and cocktails. The restaurant was fairly busy, however the layout and decor is such that it was not difficult to hold a conversation around the table without straining to hear, which can often be the case.
Staff attentive and professional. A very pleasant evening out.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TonynBarb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Siem Reap Restaurant also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Siem Reap Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing