We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a beautiful day, this can be the highlight of your trip!”
Review of Interislander

Interislander
Book In Advance
More Info
US$46.12*
and up
InterIslander Ferry - Wellington to Picton
Ranked #24 of 244 things to do in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Cruise with Interislander from Wellington to Picton across the Cook Strait and through the stunning Marlborough Sounds in just over three hours on the three largest ferries in New Zealand. Interislander is one of The Great Journeys of New Zealand and our three ships each feature several outdoor viewing decks that allow you to soak up the gorgeous New Zealand scenery as it floats by. They also have plenty of lounges, cafes and bars to choose from, plenty to keep the kids entertained - including children's play areas - and plenty for mum and dad too. Cars, vans, caravans, campervans, motorhomes, motorcycles and coaches - all vehicles are welcome, just drive on, drive off. And for the rental car providers, just drop off your car at the rental depots within our terminals then pick up another at the other end - easy! Interislander operates a FREE shuttle bus. Departing 50 minutes before each sailing from Platform 9 at the Wellington Railway Station.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift, Activities for young children
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

great experience, good food inside, try to check in early to get good seats looking to the front of the ship!, if you get dizzy, they say to go up to the deck and look out to the horizon ;-), I brought the car with me, and it was also a great experience to just drive off the ferry and not having to worry about bags or luggage. I ve done it many times and it s always been fun and a great experience

Thank Eddie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin H, Online crew at Interislander, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Eddie S, Thanks for the great review. Nothing beats the convenience of taking a car full of possessions (and even pets) with you on holiday! Many thanks, Robin | The Great Journeys of New Zealand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"south island"
in 494 reviews
"cook strait"
in 273 reviews
"marlborough sounds"
in 146 reviews
"queen charlotte sound"
in 71 reviews
"top deck"
in 59 reviews
"ferry crossing"
in 73 reviews
"hire car"
in 47 reviews
"great trip"
in 131 reviews
"inter islander"
in 34 reviews
"comfortable seating"
in 70 reviews
"foot passengers"
in 45 reviews
"both ways"
in 64 reviews
"ferry service"
in 35 reviews
"beautiful scenery"
in 72 reviews
"hour trip"
in 32 reviews
"return journey"
in 35 reviews
"free wifi"
in 75 reviews
Filter

13 - 17 of 3,379 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Took the car on the Interislander and the process was very easy. The trip across was very smooth and the ferry has some lovely eateries and they even have a scone trolley with freshly baked scones, jam and cream.

Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin H, Online crew at Interislander, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Karen G, Thanks for the five-star review! Glad to hear you got to enjoy our famous "cream tea & sea" :-) Hope to see you again! All the best, Robin | The Great Journeys of New Zealand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The ferry is working well and everything is going.

The view you have outside is amazing. Have fun on the crossing.

Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin H, Online crew at Interislander, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Martin B, Thanks for the four-star rating. We are pleased you enjoyed those spectacular views and that the ferry worked well for you. Hope to see you again one day! Best wishes, Robin | The Great Journeys of New Zealand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We headed down to the South Island and thought we would take the Ferry. With just a small car we thought rather than book we would just 'rock up'. We were told as we got to the ticket kiosk that because of the number of trucks we may not get on so we would have to wait to see, or we could try Bluebridge. While waiting we thought we would go on line and see our options. While online we noticed we could still book for the sailing, why we weren't told this by the groups of staff we spoke to is beyond us and left us shaking our heads in disbelief. Anyway once on board the very comfortable and well appointed Kaitaki vessel we decided on breakfast. The cooked breakfast special was $19 for 4 options (scrambled eggs, bacon, breakfast sausages, hash browns, baked beans) with toast and hot drink complimentary. A good meal at a great price despite the signage being a little cryptic as to what the deal actually includes and what is complimentary. Our cashier saw our dilemma and gave us a discount to reflect that. Anyway, great trip and friendly staff made this an enjoyable way to start our south island road trip.

Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin H, Online crew at Interislander, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Steve J, Glad it all worked out well. When we get down to selling the last few slots, it can be a bit tricky to work out how much space is left. Haulage firms book space that they don't end up using, and a lot of people underestimate the size of their vehicle when booking. So it does end up being a bit of a guessing game and the staff prefer to be cautious. Great to hear the discounted breakfast hit the spot! All the best, Robin | The Great Journeys of New Zealand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

There s no other way to get from the North to the South Island with your car (not sure if the Wellington - Nelson ferry still operates) ...but it’s not that the ferry company (Interislander) takes advantage of the fact, the service is efficient, friendly and does provide a certain level of comfort ....probably not the best place to have a decent sleep if you are on the night service but then .... Clean and functioning restrooms, ships on both trips where in good condition, getting on and off with the car wasn t any problem at all, a well functioning crew. Coming back from Picton in the morning gives .. on a sunny day as ours .. the best views of the Marlborough sounds and Wellington Harbour .... Great trip!

Thank Bapu54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin H, Online crew at Interislander, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Bapu54, Thanks for the great feedback! We are State Owned and so our emphasis on providing a service for the nation and not on profiteering. It great to hear you got to enjoy a wonderful sunny sailing - we have been blessed this year with some of the best weather on record! Best wishes, Robin | The Great Journeys of New Zealand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Interislander also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Interislander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing