We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely despite the rain!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbour Lodge Wellington

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wellington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harbour Lodge Wellington
Ranked #41 of 54 Wellington B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely despite the rain!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights, we booked at very short notice and were so glad we did! Raining heavily, we were tired after hours of driving, and we were warmly welcomed by Lou and Chris. We were shown to our beautiful cosy room (we were the only guests at the time) and found the room just perfect for our needs. Beautiful, comfortable bed, lovely bathroom with heated towel rail AND a luxuriously heated floor! We had our own entrance, and the substantial breakfast provided was very nice, loved the choice of bread! It rained for our entire visit, but the glimpsed views from the room and the breakfast area/lounge looked spectacular.
The driveway is very steep, but the parking is quite flat and accessible. The road to the B&B requires some care, as the house is set into the hill and the street can be narrow in places with cars parked on either side. Overall, would recommend and we would certainly return!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    3
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

This small B&B really is excellent. My wife and I have now stayed here three times, and each time, the owners have been welcoming and have had a great eye for detail and gone that extra mile to make our stay special. The views are stunning, and we really must remember to bring our swimsuits next time so we can try out the pool!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OBC_NMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed here during a recent tour of NZ and were very pleased with both the accommodation and our hosts. The property is in a fantastic position overlooking Wellington harbour and our room was very clean and comfortable with lovely bedding and a very nice bathroom. Lou and Chris (owners) were very welcoming and gave us some really good tips which helped us get the most out of our short stay in Wellington. The Bistro they suggested was excellent and reasonably priced. The breakfast Lou served was lovely and very fresh. Both Lou and Chris chatted and gave us an interesting insight into life in Wellington and made our stay more interesting. When we come back to Wellington we will definitely want to stay at the Harbour Lodge again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

We originally stayed here 2 years ago on our first visit to NZ and liked it so much that when we were arranging accommodation for ourselves and our family in Wellington for our wedding, we naturally picked Harbour Lodge.

Lou and Chris (the owners) are friendly, accommodating and honest and do their best to make your stay hassle-free. The rooms are clean and the views are fantastic.

An easy 5-10 min drive to Wellington CBD, or a 30-40 min walk (though up some quite steep hills on the way back).

Can recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OBC_NMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

Stayed here during Rugby World Cup depsite their 60% increase in price during this busy period, as we really liked the look of it on website. Very disappointing, very different to their photos. Couldn't use pool, it was mouldy, room not cleaned properly, just about had view of harbour past air conditioning unit, but we did have very good view into other guest room from shared balcony and they into ours. That wasn't mentioned in the description! We could hear guests talking in nearby rooms. Breakfast was poor, communal areas untidy and worn. It's advertised as luxury, it may have been once, but it's not now. So disappointing. We didn't stay as long as we'd planned, couldn't wait to leave and can't recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MM1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, Manager at Harbour Lodge Wellington, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
These guests arrived on our busiest weekend of the year, having booked a long time in advance and paid a non-refundable deposit. Before they came to us they were offered free accommodation by a friend. Their criticisms are aimed at getting out of their booking and we deny their criticisms. These guests standout in the last 6 years we have operated the business. We have hundreds of lovely comments in our guest book and by email, and we are often firm friends with our guests by the time they leave and many have kept in touch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
1.5 mi away
Shepherds Arms Hotel
Shepherds Arms Hotel
#31 of 46 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.6 mi away
Orchard Street Boutique Accommodation
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Wellington
BEST WESTERN Wellington
#22 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Acorns Wellington Bed and Breakfast
1.1 mi away
Stay at St Pauls
Stay at St Pauls
#21 of 47 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quest on Thorndon
Quest on Thorndon
#8 of 47 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Lodge Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Lodge Wellington

Property: Harbour Lodge Wellington
Address: 200 Barnard St | Wadestown, Wellington, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing