We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great deal for Wellington” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gourmet Stay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gourmet Stay
Certificate of Excellence
Milton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
86 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great deal for Wellington”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Hidden away on a side alley, this is a quiet spot, but it's minutes (on foot) from Cuba street and Courtney Place. The bed and large and comfortable and the room, though basic, had everything we could need. We stayed in a room with a (private) bathroom across the hall; a bit awkward after showering but not that big a deal. For the location, the price is unbeatable if you don't need super fancy digs. We already have a booking for a second weekend made.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisaAAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    116
    27
    8
    0
See reviews for
72
161
57
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

friendly smiley staff that are only too willing to help.great cafe down stairs. close to everything. fabulous trendy bar around the cornor.would definately stay again hands down! highly recommend.loved the place
jackie

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saintsnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

I stayed at Gourmet Stay for a few days' holiday. Overall it was a good stay but it's a bit different. The staff were friendly and unobtrusive, and the cafe downstairs was excellent (have the mushrooms, they're divine). My room was on the small side (think London dimensions) and would have been cramped for two people, plus it was almost impossible to watch the TV comfortably. Sharing a bathroom was not a problem at all, and the upside is that the bathrooms are enormous. The only downside was not having water accessible in the room. There was some street noise, and there is a business directly opposite which looks into the street-facing rooms. But for the price it was reasonable, and the location is excellent, in easy walking distance of Wellington's best gourmet venues and coffee shops. I would stay here again, but might choose a different room in hindsight.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theproseclerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

Our family stayed at Gourmet Stay recently. We booked over the net. Their systems were competant and on arrival we were given a door keycard and brief explainations about the way the place operates and the facilities and shown to our room. It is quite a funky wee place in an out of the way so quiet but close to everything location. The staff were friendly. The Hotel has a blackboard in the foyer listing local places to eat and drink which was handy. We arrived around 4pm and there was a table set up adjacent to the foyer with tea, coffee, milk and scones with butter to help ourselves to, we were told this was left out until 11pm. There was also hot drink making facilities in the rooms. Presumably the scones were leftovers from the adjacent cafe which had shut by the time we arrived but what a good idea and it builds goodwill with your customers. The suite was very clean and newish but pretty basic although it had access to a balcony. Overall we were very happy and would stay here again. Only negative comments are (1) one ceiling light in our suite was not working and (2) the floors between floors do not appear to be solid concrete and we heard the people in the room above us walking around, the floors squeaking and their shower and toilet running - so maybe request a room on the top floor if at all possible.

Room Tip: We had suite 4 on the first floor, it consists of a bathroom and two other rooms, one with double be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WaihekeIslandCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timbuktu
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Very tastefully renovated rooms, very helpful staff, great location near town. My congratulations to the owners - a very dedicated and helpful couple!
By definiton the loctation is in a quiet part of town - so you should have no problem catching a good nights sleep! If not: there is free Wifi available in the room ;-)
The ground level cafe closes at 14:00 (2 PM), and the unsold goodies like croissants etc are left for use by hotel guests ... along w/ coffee .... a super idea! This definitely qualifies for very special mention ;-)

Room Tip: Just be aware of your needs: "private" bathrooms are across the hallway, and there is no w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Uhuru966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne NZ
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

We were booked into Gourmet Stay by the couple whose wedding we were attending that weekend. They booked a group of friends and family from round NZ and Australia into this hotel so we could all be in one place. We found the hotel was noisey (you could hear doors baning, toilets flushing, people in the next rooms talking). It was difficult to get bags up the narrow stairs. One of the couples were about to go to bed on the first night and their smoke alarm went off for no reason, and caused the top floors evacuation. I think the group felt for the price, the hotel was really average. We were all feeling a little hard done by. However, one of the hosts, Mark, was exceptional. He kept a look out for our children (teenagers) and took them hot chocolate on the night we were at the wedding. We all had breakfast over several days at the cafe and the food was great. The free cake and coffee for guests each day was great too. Then on the last evening, after we were all feeling a bit worse for wear and wanting a quiet night, Mark very generously let us buy in our own food from the supermarket and take over his cafe - just for the wedding guests, and basically spend the evening in the cafe, and Mark supplied the wine glasses and tea and coffee. So after the whole weekend we can say that the experience overall was good and we really appreciated the host.

Room Tip: As for a room with a bathroom, otherwise you have to share.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

Great hotel in a great city, and "gourmet" indeed - full of restaurant recommendations and within a short walking distance of plenty of Wellington's best coffee and food places. Fantastic location, we walked pretty much everywhere. Central yet very quiet at night.
We loved this hotel so much that we stayed there twice - once on our way to the South Island and once when we came back, heading north. The hotel is small and cute - though the rooms are of adequate size. Everything is very clean.
The owners are so nice and friendly. Free wi-fi is a big plus, as are the leftover baked goods available every night after the cafe downstairs closes...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NK_NYC_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.9 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.4 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#9 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gourmet Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gourmet Stay

Property: Gourmet Stay
Address: 25 Frederick Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gourmet Stay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gourmet Stay is a cool little boutique hotel, especially designed to provide excellent accommodation for the discerning budget conscious traveller. Gourmet stay is a comfortable, modern design with soft tones and is warm and inviting and friendly. At Gourmet stay we unashamedly promote Wellington as the culinary capital of New Zealand and support our thriving local artisan producers and suppliers. We have our own coffee bar and deli on the ground floor where you can enjoy breakfast. Lunch items are available to enjoy in house or to take with you as you explore the city. Our desire is to offer food that is locally sourced, nutritious and delicious. We are also able to recommend our favourite bars and restaurants. You will love the convenience of staying in our vibrant location in the heart of all the action. Gourmet Stay is located in Frederick Street, a quiet side street in the centre of Wellington city. There is no need for a car here! It is a 5 minute walk to the entertainment and theatre district of Courtenay Place . We do have several off street car parks available if you require parking.Courtenay Place is also home to a diverse range of excellent restaurants and bars. The lovely waterfront with its many promenades is only 5 minutes away. We are approximately 15 minutes by car to the airport. About 2 kms north of Gourmet Stay is the Railway Station from which a train service to Auckland departs and the station is also the hub for the suburban transport network. We are about 3.0 kilometres from the Interislander Ferry terminal. Ferries leave from here to take you to the South Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Gourmet Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing