We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality!”
Review of Gourmet Stay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gourmet Stay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We spent a night at Gourmet Stay in a dorm room, and it was a great experience. The room and the washroom were very tidy and clean. The beds were comfortable to sleep on too, and it was not noisy at all at night (compared to other backpackers). The staff were friendly, and Mark (one of the owners) was very nice letting us store our luggage before the check-in time and after the check-out time. Free WIFI too! We highly recommend a stay here if you are in Wellington!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pennyw25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

Lovely to deal with so far. Highly recommend if you want somewhere a bit special. No kitchen facilities in rooms but they provide great looking menu downstairs. The rooms are pricey but seem worth it to me if you like clean and tidy.

Stayed: October 2012
Thank 1HappyCamper2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I recently stayed at Gourmet Stay for the 1st time, and booked for a large group, had to make a change to numbers but that easily accomodated by the owner / manager. Booked for 8 people ,adults mostly family, in total - mix of singles and couples, and all were very impressed with the place. It is in town, near but not too near the heart of town, and was surpringly quiet. Value for $, this is a great place and very welcoming, clean and comfortable.would stay here again and would recommend it.

Room Tip: I would choose a room with an opening window so fresh air, it's quiet enough so noise not a prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwimum54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Omg ... I shouldnt b writing this .... the best backpackers Ive stayed in ... Great hospitality ... awesome price ... clean..clean..clean ... comfy beds .. close to city ... and a few steps away from a sumptuous breakfast ...

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

Lovely place to stay in Wellington! It's in a perfect location, close to Cuba Street and close enough to the ferry!
I stayed in both the family room and the triple room.
Both rooms were impeccable!
Really friendly host and hostess. Great food in the cafe and the left over cookies were yummy!
Free parking in the city centre was a real bonus too!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CiaraPennyLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We spent one night in Wellington and chose to stay here. The staff are very warm and welcoming, and the building is really beautifully decorated and in a great location. We booked room 5 (with the private bathroom across the hall) but got upgraded to room 4 which was very generous, because this had a full ensuite and an extra bedroom.

The building is close to Cuba st and not too far from the wharf. Parking was difficult; we wouldn't recommend this location if you have a car, as it is in the city and there are only 2 offstreet parks. However, you don't really need a car because of the great location.

We ordered from their cafe in the morning. The eggs benedict was disappointing - the hollandaise sauce was lacklustre and both of our poached eggs were completely solid.

I'd recommend Gourmet Stay for the unique factor - it has so much charm that you don't get in a big hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouiseB783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We loved Gourmet Stay! We stayed in Room 4 and it was perfect, the separate double room is great for a bit of space and there is an ensuite bathroom.

We ate breakfast in the cafe downstairs, I had the muesli which was excellent and came recommended from the staff! Good shout!

A special mention for Mark who runs the place, he was very friendly (as were all the staff actually, but he was the one we had most contact with).

The left over baked goods are a great bonus! And the tea/coffee facility is open until about 11.

The location is brilliant, nice and quiet, but walking distance to Cuba Street and Courtenay Place, so lots of choice for restaurants, bars etc.

One of the best places we stayed in New Zealand. Thanks for a great stay, looking forward to returning one day to this great hotel in this great country!

Room Tip: Room 4 you can hear your neighbours chatting. If this might be a problem, ask if there is a room se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orourkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.2 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
1,434 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#8 of 47 in Wellington
1,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.4 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 47 in Wellington
802 reviews
0.9 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#15 of 47 in Wellington
2,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gourmet Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gourmet Stay

Address: 25 Frederick Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Wellington
Price Range: £60 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gourmet Stay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gourmet Stay is a cool little boutique hotel, especially designed to provide excellent accommodation for the discerning budget conscious traveler. Gourmet Stay has a comfortable, modern design with soft tones and is warm and inviting and friendly. At Gourmet Stay we unashamedly promote Wellington as the culinary capital of New Zealand and support our thriving local artisan producers and suppliers. Breakfast is served each morning downstairs, with daily fresh cheese scones. You will love the convenience of staying in our vibrant location in the heart of all the action. Gourmet Stay is located in Frederick Street, a quiet side street in the centre of Wellington city. There is no need for a car here! It is a 5 minute walk to the entertainment and theatre district of Courtenay Place . We do have several off street car parks available if you require parking at an extra cost.Courtenay Place is also home to a diverse range of excellent restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gourmet Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing