We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another visit, another great experience”
Review of Gourmet Stay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gourmet Stay
Certificate of Excellence
Ealing
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Another visit, another great experience”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

First time with the family staying here - were in room 3. Bit of a climb, but good size and great bathroom (as they all are). Same old pristine room too! Visiting nephews appreciated a scone, then sneaked another. WiFi coverage recently improved.

Room Tip: Just tell 'em what you want from a room and they'll sort it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karenandtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    128
    32
    8
    2
See reviews for
81
170
64
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melton Mowbray, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stopped here on our recent motorbike tour around New Zealand before taking the ferry across to the south island. We arrived in wet weather but were instantly welcomed and given somewhere to park the motorbike out of the wind. The room was very comfortable, and the added bonus of being able to have a bath rather than a shower was very welcome after 3 hours in the cold on a motorbike! We were also offered free scones which were lovely and homemade. We did eat in the cafe downstairs the following day and the food was delicious. Although quite a small hotel would love to stay here again if we ever pass through - highly reccomend!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My wife and I recently visited Wellington and were wowed by the very cool capital. But, we were really lucky that somebody recommended a stay at Gourmet Stay, a smallish boutique hotel only 5 mins walk from Cuba Street. We were really really made feel at home here. The owner and super cook Lucy and her husband Mark just could not do enough for us. On entering, they saw we were tired from travelling and we were offered lovely hot scones. Our spotless room was simple but more than adequate and had everything we wanted, including a very comfortable bed. The food in the cosy cafe was very healthy and very tasty. Above all, we found we got great value for money. The location was perfect and our hosts gave us excellent recommendations as to restaurants to eat in, places to visit and things to do.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch,New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I found Gourmet stay on Google maps, good location close enough to Cuba street.
Young Couple in our 20's had room #1. Simple room, warm, dry, quiet and a very comfortable bed.
We loved the spa, and the large deck.
The staff were very friendly and we loved the tasty free scones.
Best sleep i have ever had staying in accommodation!
Recommended to all and will stay here again next time we visit Wellington!
:)

Room Tip: Room #1 For Couples :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rurallady_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in en suite room (No. 3) which was clean and comfortable with a huge shower en suite. Lovely home-baked scones for guests and simply divine breakfasts in downstairs cafe with locals visiting too. Very friendly staff and central location but quiet as well. Would definetly come back. Perhaps just a window-box or similar to brighten up the window view.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This was a great place to stay on an all-too-quick stay in Wellington. Location is excellent. Rooms were spotlessly clean and well appointed. Bed was comfortable. The photos of the rooms are accurate. The cafe space downstairs looks like a lovely space to read or work in after the cafe is closed (when it is available to guests). The complimentary scones and cakes are a very nice touch! Excellent value, especially given I was able to park off street also at no extra charge. The boutique experience was sealed by the delightful customer service. Lucy was warm, helpful and very nice to chat with and I appreciated her excellent suggestions about where to have dinner. I'll definitely opt to stay here again.

Note this is a tiny hotel with perhaps only 10 rooms and it offers a range of rooms and amenities. Not all rooms have ensuites so if you care about that, double-check when you book.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rar0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I've stayed here several times over recent months and I always enjoy it. The owners are excellent, friendly and helpful, the location is great and Room 10 is ideal for an overnight stay. The bed is really comfy and bathroom spotless. The cafe is buzzing in the mornings with amazing food smells and happy people. Gourmet Stay is a real Wellington charmer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rhopenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
747 reviews
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,602 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,390 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gourmet Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gourmet Stay

Property: Gourmet Stay
Address: 25 Frederick Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gourmet Stay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gourmet Stay is a cool little boutique hotel, especially designed to provide excellent accommodation for the discerning budget conscious traveler. Gourmet stay is a comfortable, modern design with soft tones and is warm and inviting and friendly. At Gourmet stay we unashamedly promote Wellington as the culinary capital of New Zealand and support our thriving local artisan producers and suppliers. We have our own coffee bar and deli on the ground floor where you can enjoy breakfast. Our desire is to offer food that is locally sourced, nutritious and delicious. We are also able to recommend our favourite bars and restaurants. You will love the convenience of staying in our vibrant location in the heart of all the action. Gourmet Stay is located in Frederick Street, a quiet side street in the centre of Wellington city. There is no need for a car here! It is a 5 minute walk to the entertainment and theatre district of Courtenay Place . We do have several off street car parks available if you require parking at an extra cost.Courtenay Place is also home to a diverse range of excellent restaurants and bars. The lovely waterfront with its many promenades is only 5 minutes away. We are approximately 15 minutes by car to the airport. About 2 kms north of Gourmet Stay is the Railway Station from which a train service to Auckland departs and the station is also the hub for the suburban transport network. We are about 3.0 kilometers from the Interislander Ferry terminal. Ferries leave from here to take you to the South Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gourmet Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing