We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chimney cake! And be sure to check out the City Market nearby”

Harbourside Market Wellington
Ranked #41 of 235 things to do in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dunedin
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Chimney cake! And be sure to check out the City Market nearby”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Beautiful place to get produce and all that, of course, but since I was only visiting, I was more interested in the food! We got pulled pork sandwiches which were great, and then went to the chimney cake stall. It's hard to concisely describe chimney cake, but I'll say it's more like bread with a delicious crisp crust rolled in crushed hazelnuts (or almonds, or cinnamon sugar if you like) and melted chocolate brushed on the inside. Definitely worth the wait in the long queue!

The next time we visited, we went to the City Market in Chaffers Dock almost next to the Harbourside Market. You must try the roast scotch fillet burger; it's amazing and delicious. Macarons from Creative Cooking were so-so only, completely soft and missing the crisp and delicate crust. But CC's salted caramel eclairs were a dream. Beautifully presented and just delicious.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank camoozle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    33
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must See”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

This is a great market to go hang out at on Sunday mornings. Go get breakfast or lunch here. All of the food vendors are delicious! My personal favorite were the crepes!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank heta l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“MotorSport Awards Evening”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This is the second time we have had the Annual Awards held at this venue. The staff were brilliant. Serving over 250 people didn't seem to be an issue. Wish I had taken a photo of the Dessert plate. Manificent! Almost too good to eat. Hope we come back again in two years time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great market on a lovely Sunday”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Meet friends at this market on a wonderful Sunday (Mother's Day). Lots of wonderful food and produce. Was a great winters day and we were able to grab a variety of things and set near the harbour and eat. Definitely add this to your 'to do' list while visiting.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank luvtotravelBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great fun, and food for the week”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

What a great way to see a brilliant cross-section of the Wellington community, and enjoy the bounty of the fall harvest! We got most of our food for the week, incredible selection, good prices. Plenty of food trucks, specialty items (fresh herbs and hummus, amazing honey, etc). Performances from musicians and other community groups. Parents out with their strollers, right along the harbour and the Te Papa museum. Had a little trouble finding a taxi afterwards to get all our goodies home, but otherwise, can't be beat.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Web D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harbourside Market Wellington also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Harbourside Market Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing