We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Stayed there for 4 nights 3 adults and 1 child beaut room sea veiws plenty of room.Bar dining room andpool high standard. Service excellant.The location so assessable to the city center and thesights around the city.Menu a good variety and cater for children.

Room Tip: Front of hotel looking at the sea still quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,611)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,215 - 1,221 of 1,611 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2013

Room very clean and modern. Staff helpful and the breakfast was fantastic. My husband could not eat enough of their baked beans and the brewed coffee is yum! Great view over the harbour. Easy walk to te papa and other markets etc. would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sincshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Wonderfully central to all Wellington has to offer as a city and very helpful staff. Apparently the restaurant is great - but unfortunately didn't get the opportunity to try out. Would have loved to try the Beef Wellington :)

Room Tip: Make sure it's a room with a view over the harbour - magnificent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLinosMair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed this weekend in Copthorne Oriental Bay and found the location was beautifull. Stunning harbour views (if you're lucky). The breakfast was far from impressive. The first morning at 9: bacon hard as a rock, no scrambled eggs, baked beans, sausages or has browns. Staff looked overwhelmed with the number of people. Very poor service and breakfast. We stayed here for $99 per night, but I presume they don't change the breakfast if it is more expensive. The location is a bit far from central Wellington. The room was big and nice. Bathroom very small, good shower. Bed big and nice and firm. Staff not very helpfull with answering questions. Overall an average stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wim31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Easy drive from airport. Very pleasant reception. We needed to be back at the airport very early next morning so had little time to appreciate the hotel or surrounds. The room was small but clean and met our requirements (cheapest available rate). We were able to enjoy a late evening drink in the lounge with a lovely view of the nightime harbour. Would be happy to stay here for a longer visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandJ60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

With only shrot breaks available to us because of work committments the break at the Copthorne Wellington gave us the rest we needed. Breakfast in our room a must and the food is yummy.
Close to town but nice and quiet and with the water view perfect great staff pleasant and helpful overall i had a great rest in an enjoyable enviroment and look forward to continuing this in the future.

Room Tip: View and highter floor was lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

This hotel is in a great location, short walk to shops and restaurants; sadly this is the best aspect of this hotel. Very poor service made our stay frustrating - the front desk staff were unhelpful and didn't go the extra mile to help us out during our stay. Rooms are adequate, beds comfortable, but very tiny bathroom is almost laughable! Didn't eat at the restaurant as prices are exorbitant! Wifi charges are also a joke - $12.50 for 2 hours! Won't be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.1 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
1,434 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#8 of 47 in Wellington
1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#6 of 47 in Wellington
1,753 reviews
0.8 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#15 of 47 in Wellington
2,263 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#10 of 47 in Wellington
2,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay

Address: 100 Oriental Parade | Oriental Bay, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#5 Family Hotel in Wellington
#6 Business Hotel in Wellington
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: £87 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing