We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tons of outdoor spaces”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tons of outdoor spaces”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed on the 8th floor of this Hotel and loved that our patio door opened up onto a rooftop terrace! The view of the harbour was amazing from there! The 9th floor has a public outdoor sitting area and the pool has a balcony as well (again with amazing views of the harbour). There is a laundry room, which was a nice surprise on a long trip. The front desk staff were on the ball and were in contact with our tour operators before we even thought to.

Room Tip: 822 or in that area has access to the rooftop terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiora1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Fiora1690 We appreciate you taking time to review our hotel. Your informative comments provide an excellent insight to our hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed the outdoor spaces with the great view and our staff stood out during your stay. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    602
    170
    41
    23
See reviews for
318
613
62
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mollymook, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We only stayed a night at this location as we were in transit. We had a family room that overlooked the harbour. We parked across the road from the hotel at the pay meters which are not in use from 6pm to 8am. So we had no valet charges and could see the car from our room. We were able to send the son to the pool with complete confidence that he would not get into mischief! We walked to a great Chinese restaurant all but 5 mins down the road, new world supermarket on the way which enabled us to pick up and re stock on items required for the next stop. Yes there was a fee for wifi but that would be expected in any city hotel. Room was clean, facilities good and bed comfy. Service by receptionist prompt and efficient and concierge knew their stuff. Very happy and would come back - and will do in the future but not as a stopover but more of a look see.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor recommend getting one on the higher floors to get a full appreciation of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocky2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Rocky2305 Thank you for choosing to stay with us and posting your feedback. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stopover with us. I hope you can return one day in the future to do it all again for a little longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I recently stayed here on business, I travel to Wellington often and have stayed mostly at the Amora but after one stay at the Copthorne Oriental Bay I will be staying there from now on! Great value for money, awesome bar staff, great location.

Room Tip: Forward facing rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Wayne H Many thanks for your positive review, we are pleased you enjoyed staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit to the capital.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
242 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located just away from the main busy area but it is only a 10 minute walk into the city for eating.
When you arrive there is only a tiny space for about 2 cars at the front of the hotel for unloading-have to compete with the taxis! There is a charge for parking-$25ish in a very small tight area at the rear. If you are a nervous parker- beware.
Our room was OK - standard chain hotel. We had not paid for a sea view so we overlooked the car park entrance on a residential street. No big deal as only an overnighter. Breakfast at $25 was good in a pleasant dining room.
My big gripe was the bed. It was awful-soggy and like a trampoline. I spent all night hanging onto the edge of the bed trying not to roll into the middle into my partner!
Also some noise from the hilly road outside as vehicles using low gears accelerated past.
Pity this chain hotel didn't check the quality of its beds & replace the mattresses regularly.
If someone had asked me at checkout if everything was OK I would have told them the above!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank francophile5310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear francophile5310 It was good to read your review. Your comments about the quality of our beds is concerning and I will review this with my team. Our beds are by no means old and we pride ourselves on a good nights sleep for all our guests. Your feedback is invaluable to us so many thanks for taking the time to comment. I hope one day to welcome you back one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The beautiful room overlooking the harbour was fantastic. After walking all day around the lovely city we had drinks at the bar where we enjoyed fantastic hospitality. The day and evening were topped off by one of the best meals in their restaurant.

Room Tip: If possible select a room with a view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Joan E Thank you for posting your review of our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed a wonderful experience with us and truly appreciate your generous compliments on the hotel facilities and it’s stunning location. We look forward to further delighting you with more of the same in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed in the Copthorne Oriental Bay after a great experience at the Copthorne Christchurch.

The location is very convenient and we had a great view of the harbour

Food was superb and the staff and service were excellent

Room Tip: Choose a harbour view room - it is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stegeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear stegeb Thank you for posting your complimentary review of Copthorne Hotel Wellington, it is always a pleasure when our guests enjoy their stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Stayed for two nights in a Double Room with harbour view. Our room was huge,with a king size bed, tea and coffee facilities and a wonderful view of the harbour. We could also see the Te Papa Museum from our balcony.
The hotel is really close to the centre, especially the Museum and waterfront.
We ate in the restaurant on our first night and the food was excellent. It was very busy , I think the hotel is popular with tour groups.
The hotel wifi is limited to 20mins per day and it is only in the public areas, it would have been more convenient if it was available in our room. We actually used the free wifi in the Te Papa Museum on both days.
Car parking was NZ$26 per day, which is what you would expect for a city hotel. It was valet parking and as we didn't use the car during our stay suited us.
The hotel staff were all very friendly & we had a lovely young lady on the reception desk on Sat evening 2nd March.
This is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackieshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear jackieshols Thank you for choosing to stay with us and posting your feedback. I am pleased to read you loved your room and your restaurant experience. I hope you can return one day in the future to do it all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.1 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,382 reviews
0.4 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
1,578 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,833 reviews
0.8 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay

Property: Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Address: 100 Oriental Parade | Oriental Bay, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#6 Business Hotel in Wellington
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#6 Family Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where location is everything! A $10 million refurbishment and its prime waterfront position overlooking one of the world'€™s most beautiful harbors makes the Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay one of the most luxurious accommodation experiences in Wellington. Contemporary decor, exceptional dining options, heated indoor swimming pool and state-of-the-art technology with all the convenient comforts you would expect from a modern city hotel such as broadband internet, modem points and a large wall-mounted LCD TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing