We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gorgeous views”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The reception staff are professional and friendly and very welcoming. The room we had was spacious, spotlessly clean and well appointed. On the 8th floor, the views were wonderful. Plenty of room to swing a cat. However, I take issue with the need to have complicated charging regimes to access the internet via wifi. Wifi should be available on the same basis as electricity and water, built into the tariff.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Richard T many thanks for reviewing our hotel. It is uplifting that you found our staff as a highlight along with our large level 8 rooms, the view is awesome from there. I take on board your comments regarding wifi charges; we are in the process of reviewing these with our management team. I hope you can return to the stay once again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    605
    171
    42
    23
See reviews for
322
619
62
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waikanae, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Booked our stay with copthorne dirctly by ringing and speaking with Ria,most lovely to deal with and recieved an upgrade promotional room. Stayed on the 8th floor in room 802m with great views and very tidy and clean. Did notice the wind whistles through the ranch slider...have to say it was a very blustery windy day but closed the slider extra firmly and this helped. Bathroom well equipped but water pressure average and the water doesnt flow to the drain when in shower and water goes all over the bathroom floor..used many towels to mop up regardless not a major just need extra towels. Went to lounge bar to watch all black game, nice atmosphere but was over charge for 1st drinks and when queried barman he was abrasive saying we ordered something else but knew how much drinks were and yes he overcharged and did remedy this. Had room service,beef wellington to die for, cooked perfect with flavours that blended well..but an extra $6.00 to deliver. In all a great stay woild definatly recommmend this hotel for any stay.

Room Tip: Go for harbour view..with balcony. Good if your a smoker. Dinner isnt cheap $46 for the beef welling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raelene2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear raelene2010 Thank you for choosing to stay with us and posting your comprehensive review. I am pleased you would recommend our hotel even though you had some concerns over the bar service, which we take very seriously. The Beef Wellington is our signature dish and is certainly worth mentioning!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Amazing people who care and look after people, thats what we found staying with the Copthorne Team in Wellington. Wonderful delicious meals, spacious surroundings. Stand up and take a bow team!!!!!!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MauriOho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear MauriOho I loved reading your positive review! We look forward to you welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel is in Wellington, a seaside city and overlooks the harbour. At first you will think the location is not the best but after staying there we changed our minds. It is only 5 minutes walking from the TePapa Museum (which is really amazing) and perfect for walking along the water. It is very close to so many fun restaurants near the water. Wellington is a very small city so it is possible to walk from this hotel to many of the landmarks and shopping streets--even the Parliament Building.The rooms are certainly adequate in every way---just realize you are in New Zealand, not New York.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thedoll1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear thedoll1 thank you for choosing to stay with us and posting your interesting and informative review. Our location is certainly great in our small easy to walk around city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Copthorne Oriental Parade is a centrally-located hotel with very comfortable rooms
featuring recent modern fit outs and a view that can't be beat. The restaurant is top notch and the beds are to die for. All this for a price that also can't be beat.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarence T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Clarence T Thank you for your comments and positive review of our hotel. I hope you can return again in the future to do it all again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I have stayed at this property before and though the views are fantastic the room was poor and dull. This time the room was outstanding, clean, bright, plenty of towels and everything you would want. BUT the internet, car parking and drinks were expensive. glass coke $4.00. Food was above average

Room Tip: I believe all rooms are good and with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clinton G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Clinton G Many thanks for you review. We are pleased you returned to stay with us once again and I am hopeful that the pull of our harbour views will see you return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2014

For regular business travel, the Copthorne is my preferred choice in Wellington, the staff are friendly, the service excellent and the rooms have lovely harbour views. The waterfront location being a short walk from restaurants and bars also provides a pleasant change from the central city feel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank IT_sap_consultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear IT_sap_consultant Thank you for choosing to stay with us and posting you positive review. I am pleased to read that we provide all you need when staying in Wellington on business. I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel once again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.3 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,603 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
747 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,851 reviews
0.8 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay

Property: Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Address: 100 Oriental Parade | Oriental Bay, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#6 Business Hotel in Wellington
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#6 Family Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where location is everything! A $10 million refurbishment and its prime waterfront position overlooking one of the world'€™s most beautiful harbors makes the Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay one of the most luxurious accommodation experiences in Wellington. Contemporary decor, exceptional dining options, heated indoor swimming pool and state-of-the-art technology with all the convenient comforts you would expect from a modern city hotel such as broadband internet, modem points and a large wall-mounted LCD TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing