We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Very Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 25 April 2009

My wife and I stayed 2 nights here, on the 9th floor. We were impressed by the cleanliness, the decor and the attention to detail in our room. The views were spectacular; so much so that we didn't want to close the curtains at night, the city and harbour being so interesting. During the day it was very easy to sit and watch the ever changing activity at the port and on the water.The room had an opening window and a large, glass sliding door on to a small terrace - very nice. Room service was quite fast and the food was adequate. Time to TePapa Museum was a mere 4 or 5 minute stroll and to the cable car in the city a pleasant 10 to 15 minute walk along the excellent waterfront esplanade. Staff were courteous and helpful always. We would absolutely stay here again and would have no hesitation recommending this hotel to family and friends.
John and Pam from Auckland.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lightlink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    605
    171
    42
    23
See reviews for
322
619
62
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2009

My room had harbour views and it was very quiet. A king size bed and, separated from this area by the bathroom, there were two singles, so ideal for a small family. Meals were good and the dining area also has views. I found the exposed kitchen to be noisy and it was OK for breakfast but lacking in ambience for dinner. I found the drink service slow and they got one order wrong, which were minor inconveniences. I had little to do with the front desk but they were helpful in booking me on the airport shuttle. On the fringe of the CBD, it was a flat walk to Te Papa museum and quite easy to get about, with a big supermarket close by.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikefromBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2009

We stayed at the Copthorne Oriental Bay on our wedding night in November 2008.

He had contacted the hotel directly a number of months earlier with a request to view some of their rooms. The happily obliged on two occasions (spending 30 minutes with us each time and showing us a number of rooms).

The hotel has several suites, superior rooms (in the large building on Oriental Parade) and standard rooms in a second building up the hill behind the first. The two buildings are joined by a 'bridge' from the seventh floor of the front building to the lower floor of the rear building. The seventh floor also has the restaurant, bar, pool and conference rooms.

The superior rooms came in two configurations... two sleeping areas (King/Queen plus a double/two singles) with the bathroom in between. This would be great for two couples or a family. The other configuration (which we chose) had a king sized bed and a kitchenette.

The major difference between the superior and standard rooms is air-conditioning. Both are newly renovated (the entire hotel is newly renovated) and are decorated to the same high standard. Higher level superior rooms have a magnificent harbour views (you could throw a stone into the harbour) while standard rooms have a harbour view plus a view of the front building.

Our bed was comfortable, the bathroom little small, but adequate. The TV was a mid-sized plasma with many SkyTV (NZ cable) channels.

The pool was functional... it is a 'fun' pool not an exercise pool... and the kids will love it. The view is great. For those wanting exercise, the hotel provides free passes to the 'Freyberg Pool', an excellent City Council operated 33m pool and gym complex roughly 100m away.

We had breakfast in the hotel... a good buffet by New Zealand hotel standards fare, and eggs were cooked to order. For those who don't have breakfast as part of their rate, the hotel is next to a two good cafes (Cafe Vista and Parade Cafe) and just a few minutes walk from Courtney Place (with more cafes and restaurants than I can count).

The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Te Papa and Courtney Place, and 5 minutes from the Oriental Bay beach.

We would certainly recommend the Copthorne Oriental Bay.

  • Liked — The renovation had been done to a very high standard.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Peggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg,Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2008

Great hotel.excellent location and very friendly and helpful staff

  • Liked — very clean rooms friendly and helpful staff
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank larrywinnipegcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2008

Stayed here for two nights in a standard room and I must say we were quite impressed with the renovation work undertaken on the hotel making it a very pleasant place to stay at an affordable price.
The location is good being within walking distance of the CBD but also not right in the CBD where it can get pretty busy and noisy on weekdays especially.
The hotel has a small heated swimming pool(which we actually thought was slightly too cold) and it has free use of another public pool and gym complex located just along the road.
In the lobby it has a tour desk and mini business facilities which guests might find useful.
The only potential problems with this hotel are the parking which is rather restricted and also the fact that most rooms have balconies which look very nice but due to Wellington's notorious strong wind you might struggle to find a day suitable to use it.
On the whole though a very nice stay for the price paid.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mozzroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2008

This hotel has recently undergone a refurbmishment and it shows! My room was spacious and comfortable and decor very pleasant. For an international traveller looking for something a little out of the high rises of the city this hotel is in an excellent location - far enough away yet close enough to get you into the main part of the city in 15 minutes (walk) along water front.

The staff were very helpful and friendly. I used the restaurant each morning for breakfast which were 'hearty'. If you're looking for an alternate to a gentle work out in the gym - right out the front of the hotel is a path that goes left into the city or right along Oriental Bay - very pleasant walk even in the blustery winds.

A great property and would definitely stay again.

Stay: 4 nights

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZachariahBullfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shakespeare, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2008

Nice, clean...much improved since last visit. Internet costs (like most of New Zealand) are expensive and could be better set up for use, not time.

  • Liked — location location location
  • Disliked — internet costs.....
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank drkahless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.3 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,606 reviews
0.4 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,391 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,855 reviews
0.8 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay

Property: Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Address: 100 Oriental Parade | Oriental Bay, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#6 Business Hotel in Wellington
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#6 Family Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where location is everything! A $10 million refurbishment and its prime waterfront position overlooking one of the world'€™s most beautiful harbors makes the Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay one of the most luxurious accommodation experiences in Wellington. Contemporary decor, exceptional dining options, heated indoor swimming pool and state-of-the-art technology with all the convenient comforts you would expect from a modern city hotel such as broadband internet, modem points and a large wall-mounted LCD TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing