We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great overnight stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bay Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bay Plaza Hotel
Ranked #37 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great overnight stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed in a 7th level room facing the harbour. The view was amazing and the room was clean. I had other family staying in a room facing the other direction and it was very dark and small, so if you are travelling and planning to stay here, request a harbour room.

+ Affordable, clean, great location, nice views.
- Outdated, south side - cold and small.

We paid $135 for the night and $18 for a car park.

This is an ok hotel in a good location and would recommend to someone wanting a bed for the night.

Room Tip: Harbour facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammie1991pn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Good afternoon,

Thanks for your positive comments.
It’s always good for others to hear about our great centrally located Wellington hotel, and the team at the Bay Plaza Hotel are always doing their best to achieve out customers expectations.

Regards

Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    120
    129
    47
    37
See reviews for
59
169
33
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

This Hotel is close to the restaurants and shopping of downtown Wellington. The rooms are very dull as is the rest of the Hotel. The Television that was in our room was of the old variety and the room itself was depressing. The staff at reception on the other hand we very good and somewhat made up fro this worn old hotel. Still paying big money for WIFI. The latest vogue around the world is free WIFI and surprisingly I think it can be the difference in selection

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Bay Plaza Hotel. I am disappointed that the hotel did not live up to your expectations. Customer Service is the main focus at the hotel, and we have a great team, it is good to ready your comments regarding the staff.
Regards

Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Bay Plaza was the choice given when attending the MotorSport NZ Annual General Council Meeting. This is the fourth time we have stayed. It's walking distance to all the attractions, but still not overly noisey. The staff are friendly and give the impression that they actually 'want' to be there. Lovely smiles all round. Safe parking is a bonus. Must ask for a bath next time, as I missed my soak. Will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Good afternoon,
Great to see you enjoyed your return visit to the Bay Plaza Hotel, for your recent weekend conference.
We are fortunate to have a fantastic central city location and rooms with stunning views.
We have a great team at the Bay Plaza and it is great to read all your needs were met.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Bay Plaza Hotel when you next visit Wellington city.
Regards
Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Just had a great weekend staying there.
Everything about the Hotel, staff, service, parking, food and location was incredibly good.
Very clean, comfortable bed, great view, room service excellent and the meals were a very good size.
Thank you Bay Plaza, we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Good morning,
Thank you for your excellent feedback regarding your recent stay at the Bay Plaza Hotel.
We are fortunate to have a fantastic central city location and rooms with stunning views.
We have a great team at the Bay Plaza and it is great to read all your needs were met.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Bay Plaza Hotel when you next visit Wellington city.
Regards
Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
napier
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

My partner and I spent a weekend at this very conveniently located hotel. As other reviewers have noted, this location is clearly the hotel's most redeeming feature. The check in was smooth and efficient and the staff member very pleasant indeed. However the front desk area was tired with tatty fittings and a computer that was surely passed its "best before" date. There was NO colour anywhere - no bright artwork or flowers that may bring cheer, just historical photos of the area with people all dead now! This was reflected in the basic room we had (completed with historic photo) where the brightest color was the lemon bar fridge (concealed in a worn cabinet below the TV). Sure it had a wonderful view over the waterfront and harbour, but the poor cleaning, cracked tiles, poor TV reception without Sky access seemed indicative of an indifferent management attitude.

This hotel could be stunning with some imagination and investment. It deserves it.

Room Tip: Ask for room with harbour view - you will be well-rewarded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NapierAro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
Good afternoon,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Bay Plaza Hotel. I am sorry if this did not meet your expectations. I will pass on your comments to my team and we hope to have an opportunity to better serve you again in the future.
It was disappointing to read your comments about the artwork, as we receive numerous positive comments about the foyer and room photos; and the fresh foyer and restaurant flowers.
I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotels close proximity to everything in Wellington, and the great views from your hotel room.
Once again thank you for your feedback.
Regards

Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otaki, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Only had a one night stay here but found it to be very friendly and more than adequate at a reasonably low cost. Near to all the restaurants and night life and also the waterfront. All of the staff we met seemed to want to go the extra distance to make us welcome. The room was very clean and comfortable and had all we needed. We would certainly stay again and probably will do in the future

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandBOtaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Good afternoon

Thank you for your excellent feedback regarding your recent stay at the Bay Plaza Hotel.
We are fortunate to have a fantastic central city location and rooms with stunning views.
We have a great team at the Bay Plaza and it is great to read all your needs were met.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Bay Plaza Hotel when you next visit Wellington city.
Regards
Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
302 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed here as the final hotel in our cycling Tour of NZ and thus hotel was packaged in our support crew costs. I have no idea what it cost but suspect it is probably overpriced.

We had a room on the 9th floor and the views were brilliant. BUT..... the room looked like it had been furnished with a student's bedsit cast offs. The furniture was so worn. I forgot to take the picture in the end but the fridge/TV cupboard was 'protected' from the massive CRT TV with an upside down piece of cast off carpet!!!!!! In this day and age?! (Oh and the carpet was a vile brown too). The bathroom was poky but functional and was probably the first hotel of the Tour we stayed in where the water stayed in the shower. The windows were ill fitting and the howling Wellington wind whistled through day and night.

The lobby looks smart enough but really hides the fact that this hotel should have been refurbished multiple times over the last 20 years. It feels very much like they are trying to get away with doing as little as possible and to that end they are succeeding.

We stayed here comfortably enough and it served it's purpose. The location is excellent but I'd be in no hurry to go back..... ever.....

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olthomas44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Good afternoon

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Bay Plaza Hotel.
We appreciate that you took the time to leave this comment It will certainly help other travelers choose our mid-range value for money hotel in the heart of Wellington, with great views and handy location.

Regards
Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.5 mi away
West Plaza Hotel
West Plaza Hotel
#19 of 46 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.8 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,071 reviews
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
0.6 mi away
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
0.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Plaza Hotel

Property: Bay Plaza Hotel
Address: 40 Oriental Parade | PO Box 9470, Wellington 6141, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Wellington's exclusive Oriental Parade, the Bay Plaza Hotel is affordable quality accommodation offering harbour and city views in perfect proximity to the Capital's vibrant city centre and superb leisure activities to experience and explore. Te Papa Museum and Courtenay Place 2/5 minutes walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bay Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Plaza Wellington
Wellington Bay Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing