We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but then I got it for nothing”
Review of Bay Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Plaza Hotel
Ranked #39 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I booked a room here once I'd filled out a 'Stay 10 Get One Free' card, so because I paid nothing for my stay my review should be read in this light. Limited nights were available - the weekdays were mostly off-limits. The hotel is old as others have said, but room and bathroom were clean, it was nice to look out on Wellington city from a higher floor, and a range of room facilities were provided. One of the staff in particular was helpful when I woke up to a flat tyre on my car. A generally comfortable wee getaway. Can't really complain when you get the night for nothing!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ranui T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Good afternoon,
Thank you for taking valuable time to give us your feedback. We are pleased to learn that you've had an enjoyable time with us and that you found the location and facilities to your liking.
We look forward to another opportunity to welcoming you again soon to the Bay Plaza Hotel. Please contact us directly on our website and we will take care of your reservation personally.
Regards

Eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

Excellent location, with great views of Oriental Bay and Wellington CBD, directly behind large New World supermarket and adjacent to the entrance of Courtney Place.
Hotel has had a facelift in the bedrooms but would benefit from a more in depth refurb.
Prices for accommodation is fair and as an additional bonus Receptionist offered on checking in a reduced price full breakfast. This makes the overnight stay with breakfast very good value.
The stand out features that would have me rebook are the exceptionally welcoming and friendly staff, who offered assistance with sight seeing, map provision and suggestions for eating out. In addition the location, price and cleanliness of the bedrooms.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Good afternoon,
Thank you for this fantastic feedback. Our guests often tell us how helpful it is to read past guests' reviews before booking their own visits. I am sure your review will encourage them to stay at Bay Plaza Hotel Wellington!
Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and I look forward to welcoming you again soon, to our central Wellington hotel.
Regards
Eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We were using a shop a docket and have used these before and had no problems. the room was meant to be worth $279 but we paid $89. What?!? I wouldn't pay $65.

This place was old and dirty. The only saving grace was the staff were friendly enough. I would not eat there.

There was a party on our floor which took over an hour to "clear out". Not the fault of the hotel, but reflected on the experience.

Our fridge was on at the wall but turned off inside, so all our food for the next day was off by morning. This was discounted from our bill - free car parking $18.

As I said, the staff were friendly enough, I chatted at length with the duty manager and she was very pleasant

Room Tip: Don't, Don't
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Good afternoon Greg,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Bay Plaza Hotel.
We appreciate that you took the time to leave this comment It will certainly help other travelers choose our mid-range value for money hotel in the heart of Wellington, with great views and handy location.
It is a shame that your opinion of our accommodation was not what you would have liked. We are a popular mid range value for money hotel in the heart of Wellington city, and we have a great team at the Bay, who pride themselves on their customer service.
Once again thank you for your feedback.
Regards
Eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The view from the Bay Plaza was excellent and it was quite serviceable for the money. However, the staff were remarkably without knowledge of (or disinterested in) the surrounding area and were unable to answer many basic questions about locations or drive times and made little effort to find the answers they were unable to readily supply (which, with limited internet access, makes responsive and helpful hotel staff all the more important). The breakfast buffet was average-to-good (and the muesli was superior) but they had hard butter, which is such a shame in a country that has the best butter in the world. The bar was fairly well stocked but the chairs in the bar lounge were ridiculously uncomfortable. Our room was very warm but I was actually quite grateful for that since it was winter and NZ folks seem to like it colder indoors than I do. The duty manager was fairly nice but seemed a bit too introverted for the work. The car park was convenient and, expectedly, came at an extra charge ($16NZD/day, as I recall). The internet was average (read: no such thing as unlimited free access, even at throttled speeds) for NZ as well but buying a drink at the bar gets you 30 minutes and that was a nice benefit. As others have mentioned, it's overdue for an update (and that's probably why it's so economical) but is conveniently located. The Te Papa museum, the beautiful renovated Embassy movie theater (and other) and the excellent Zibibbo restaurant (and others) are all within a few block walking distance. All in all, a perfectly acceptable and we were happy with our choice of a three-night stay, with three breakfasts and parking all for under $500.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the bay and you'll be happy. Otherwise, there's not as much to re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Good afternoon,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Bay Plaza Hotel. I am disappointed that the hotel did not live up to your expectations.
We are fortunate to have a fantastic central city location and rooms with stunning views.
We have a great team at the Bay Plaza and it is disappointing to read your comments about the knowledge of the staff you were in contact with during your staff, as we pride ourselves in our customer service.
Once again thank you for your feedback.
Regards
Eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

I purchased on a deal and paid via hotels.com for just over $100 it is great value. Massive rooms - really good view, clean, friendly and conveniently close to courtenay place. It's an old hotel but great value - if you buy at the right price it's worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Good afternoon Trish,

Thank you for your excellent feedback regarding your recent stay at the Bay Plaza Hotel.
We are fortunate to have a fantastic central city location and rooms with stunning views.
We have a great team at the Bay Plaza and it is great to read all your needs were met.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Bay Plaza Hotel when you next visit Wellington city.
Regards
Eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed in a 7th level room facing the harbour. The view was amazing and the room was clean. I had other family staying in a room facing the other direction and it was very dark and small, so if you are travelling and planning to stay here, request a harbour room.

+ Affordable, clean, great location, nice views.
- Outdated, south side - cold and small.

We paid $135 for the night and $18 for a car park.

This is an ok hotel in a good location and would recommend to someone wanting a bed for the night.

Room Tip: Harbour facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammie1991pn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Good afternoon,

Thanks for your positive comments.
It’s always good for others to hear about our great centrally located Wellington hotel, and the team at the Bay Plaza Hotel are always doing their best to achieve out customers expectations.

Regards

Eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This Hotel is close to the restaurants and shopping of downtown Wellington. The rooms are very dull as is the rest of the Hotel. The Television that was in our room was of the old variety and the room itself was depressing. The staff at reception on the other hand we very good and somewhat made up fro this worn old hotel. Still paying big money for WIFI. The latest vogue around the world is free WIFI and surprisingly I think it can be the difference in selection

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Good afternoon,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Bay Plaza Hotel. I am disappointed that the hotel did not live up to your expectations. Customer Service is the main focus at the hotel, and we have a great team, it is good to ready your comments regarding the staff.
Regards

Eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.8 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
2,224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.5 mi away
West Plaza Hotel
West Plaza Hotel
#23 of 47 in Wellington
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Trinity Hotel
Trinity Hotel
#29 of 47 in Wellington
532 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges
0.8 mi away
Willis Wellington Hotel
Willis Wellington Hotel
#43 of 47 in Wellington
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Plaza Hotel

Address: 40 Oriental Parade | PO Box 9470, Wellington 6141, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range: £61 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Wellington's exclusive Oriental Parade, the Bay Plaza Hotel is affordable quality accommodation offering harbour and city views in perfect proximity to the Capital's vibrant city centre and superb leisure activities to experience and explore. Te Papa Museum and Courtenay Place 2/5 minutes walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bay Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Plaza Wellington
Wellington Bay Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing