We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel needs a refurb!”
Review of Bay Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay Plaza Hotel
Ranked #39 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“This hotel needs a refurb!”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We booked in to the Bay Plaza Hotel because we stayed in Wellington unexpectedly and rooms were few and far between. The reception staff were polite but not overly friendly or helpful. The reception area looked quite modern and we hoped for a nice room. What a terrible disappointment! I could have cried. Our rooms were old and felt grubby. The bathrooms had mouldy sealant around the bath and the tiles were avocado green. The toilets flushed with a loud 'gush' which wouldn't have been so bad if we weren't woken up by our neighbour every time they used theirs too. The bed covers and cushions were old and brown and the first thing I did was strip them off the bed. The bed linen looked clean but had a crumpled, un-ironed look so I couldn't help wondering if they'd actually been changed. It's the kind of hotel where you don't fancy walking on the carpet with bare feet and don't want to touch anything really. To sum up, for the money I expected more and it's not acceptable in 2013. I've stayed in several hotels in the last two weeks and this is easily the worst. Come on management, stump up some money and bring the Bay Plaza in to the 21st century. Don't stay there!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Good afternoon David,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Bay Plaza Hotel.
We appreciate that you took the time to leave this comment It will certainly help other travelers choose our mid-range value for money hotel in the heart of Wellington, with great views and handy location.
It is a shame that your opinion of our accommodation was not what you would have liked. We are a popular mid range value for money hotel in the heart of Wellington city, and we have a great team at the Bay, who pride themselves on their customer service.
Once again thank you for your feedback.
Regards
Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    120
    133
    48
    38
See reviews for
59
173
33
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lyttelton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed at The Bay Plaza Hotel for three nights in December, 2013.

The hotel is an ideal location – minutes from the waterfront and a short stroll to Courtenay Place and the city centre. A large supermarket across the road from the hotel is open until midnight.

On arrival the reception staff were polite and the process was fast and efficient, but I didn't feel welcomed, just simply another arriving guest.

I booked the hotel a few weeks in advance and had stayed on two previous occasions. I would have hoped that I would have been offered a room on a higher level with a view. Perhaps it's because the higher floors offer superior rooms. The room we were given overlooked the car park, but it did have the advantage of being away from the traffic noise.

I should have remembered my review of 2011 when I suggested request a room on the 9th floor!

The standard room we had was quite small (not a problem as we only wanted to be in the room to sleep and shower) and had the basics: two chairs, a desk and a suit case holder, an adequate wardrobe and a safe. Although the guest information folder mentioned the mini bar – the small fridge was empty, simply containing a few long life milk portions. (Fresh milk was available from reception). A mini bar isn't on my list of wants – especially with a supermarket over the road.

The bedding was spotless and the bed very comfortable. Extra pillows and a blanket were available in the wardrobe. The room was rather dated and in need of a freshen up – again, it didn't matter as we weren't in it during the day. The fridge would be better to be 'bolted' to the cupboard it was in, as each time the fridge door was opened, it moved and had to be pushed back into place – a minor moan but something that could very easily have been rectified with a little effort.

I note from previous reviews guest's comments about the antique televisions in the room and I also note the lack of response from the management concerning this. Of course, replacing TVs is expensive, but a perfectly respectable flat screen TV is now readily available for about $100. It's time the Bay Plaza entered the 21st century.

The bathroom, although small was clean and fresh with a very good shower.

The guest imformation folder was 'tired and grubby' – again, just a little effort and attention to detail needed. Despite trying to set the bed side alarm clock, I had to resort to requesting a wake up call. Rather than a note in the folder saying to contact reception for instructions on how to set the alarm, why not simply say how to do it? Fortunately I had a back up, but that wasn't needed as a 'real' person phoned to wake me!

The rooms have no obvious sound-proofing and the noise of running taps and flushing toilets from nearby rooms is noticeable, but that's just a 'fact of life' when staying in a hotel.

The room rate on this stay didn't include breakfast, so I'm not able to comment on the food, but remember from our last stay the breakfasts to be very good. We didn't use the restaurant.

So, would we stay again? Probably yes, if the deal included breakfast, but with so much competition and choice, it would need to be a good rate.

The Bay Plaza hotel is a 'good' hotel and is perfectly acceptable, but with a little bit of an effort and a 'lick of paint' it could be a 'very good' hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrizBee59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Good afternoon,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At the Bay Plaza Hotel we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer, therefore your feedback is very important to us.We are fortunate to have a great central city location. I look forward to another opportunity to welcoming you again in a very near future to the Bay Plaza Hotel.Please contact us directly on our website and we will take care of your reservation personally.
Regards
Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The Bay Plaza was our second choice after we found our original accomodation unsuitable.
The staff welcomed us and made us forget our bad experience. We stayed for 5 nights and again for 1 night upon our return to Wellington. The staff are very friendly & we enjoyed several meals in the dining room. Very close to everything.

Room Tip: Higher floors, better views. Right across from New World
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Good afternoon Wendy,
We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Bay Plaza Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We have a great team in the kitchen, so it is great to see you enjoyed your dinning experience.
We are fortunate to have a great central city location, with excellent views, and we look forward to welcoming you again as a guest at the Bay Plaza Hotel when you next visit Wellington city.
Regards
Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed here one night prior to catching the ferry . Hotel is Centrally located with free parking for the guests. Though we highlighted in the booking we are 3 guests checking together but room was prepared for 2 guests only. Staff was really quick and made it for 3 guests in no time.

Rooms are quite small but clean. Bathroom was OK. And TV hahahha .... i think last i saw that model was in 80's.

Very avg Hotel but with good location,.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vid-love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Good morning
Thank you for taking valuable time to give us your feedback in regards to your recent stay at the Bay Plaza Hotel Wellington. I am very pleased to learn that you've had an enjoyable time with us and that you found the location and facilities to your liking, as we are central located affordable hotel with stunning views.
I look forward to another opportunity to welcoming you again in a very near future to the Bay Plaza Hotel.
Please contact us directly on our website and we will take care of your reservation personally.
Kind Regards
Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed one night prior to catching the ferry . Managed to get a deal with free parking which was great.Good location. Walking distance to the shops and restaurants and across the road from the supermarket. Greatt view of the harbour. A little noisy though with the traffic, but thats big cities. Will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spendkidsinheritance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Good afternoon
Thank you for your excellent feedback regarding your recent stay at the Bay Plaza Hotel.
We are fortunate to have a fantastic central city location and rooms with stunning views.
We have a great team at the Bay Plaza and it is great to read all your needs were met. Our current $120.00 special (room and car parking) has been very popular.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Bay Plaza Hotel when you next visit Wellington city.
Regards
Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Great Location for getting out and about into the city
close to the eating end of the city, including the super market
just a short stroll to the beach and the Embassy theater

Rooms are a little tired, however spotless.
Bathrooms are smooth, very clean and well maintained.

Never had a full decent night's sleep in this hotel as the rooms are not soundproof and is on the main street, traffic never stops and there is an emergency services right next door.

However I've stayed several times, as it is good clean value for money.
Have always found the staff very accommodating whether I've turned up early or requested to leave late.

Restaurant is good value for money too, nothing flash however tasty and filling

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingturtle_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Good morning
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Bay Plaza Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
We are fortunate to have a great central city location, with excellent views, and we look forward to welcoming you again as a guest at the Bay Plaza Hotel when you next visit Wellington city.
Regards
Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The friendly staff, location & price really keep this aged property alive,
The room décor & facilities are very dated but are kept clean & some rooms have the best views in the city, I am a low maintenance traveller when travelling alone - This was perfect for my stay.
Wellington CBD's biggest supermarket is across the road! - I loved that:-)
Wifi is not free.. one downside for me, but some parts of the CBD have free wifi as does the airport bus:-)

Room Tip: Ask for bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boybandlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Good afternoon,
Thank you for your excellent feedback regarding your recent stay at the Bay Plaza Hotel.
We are fortunate to have a fantastic central city location and rooms with stunning views.
We have a great team at the Bay Plaza and it is great to read all your needs were met.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Bay Plaza Hotel when you next visit Wellington city.
Regards
Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,571 reviews
0.8 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Willis Wellington Hotel
Willis Wellington Hotel
#44 of 46 in Wellington
347 reviews
0.6 mi away
Trinity Hotel
Trinity Hotel
#30 of 46 in Wellington
502 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Plaza Hotel

Property: Bay Plaza Hotel
Address: 40 Oriental Parade | PO Box 9470, Wellington 6141, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Wellington's exclusive Oriental Parade, the Bay Plaza Hotel is affordable quality accommodation offering harbour and city views in perfect proximity to the Capital's vibrant city centre and superb leisure activities to experience and explore. Te Papa Museum and Courtenay Place 2/5 minutes walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Bay Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Plaza Wellington
Wellington Bay Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing