We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay”
Review of Bay Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bay Plaza Hotel
Ranked #39 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Feilding, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One night stay”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This place is very handy to Courtney Place, an area I REALLY like to visit when in Wellington, and central Wellington itself.

The Bay Plaza is showing its age the landings have a musty smell. The room I stayed in was VERY basic, tea/coffee etc was tucked away in the wardrobe. Room was small and the bathroom although functional was tiny. The floor tiles in the shower looked very dirty, like they needed a good scrub. Could have been the colour of them, but first glace was a bit off putting.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Good afternoon Alan

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Bay Plaza Hotel we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer, therefore your feedback is very important to us.
We are fortunate to have a great central city location, with excellent views at affordable prices.
We look forward to welcoming you again as a guest at the Bay Plaza Hotel when you next visit Wellington city.
Regards
Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    120
    133
    48
    38
See reviews for
59
173
33
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed one night. Check in was quick, staff are friendly and busy. The room was quite adequate Great view. It was warm and well ventilated Bed was comfy. I enjoyed a full breakfast in the morning. Great location within easy walking distance of most central city attractions.parking was easy and accessible.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smalloscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Good afternoon
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your great review and feedback. The Team and I are delighted to hear you enjoyed your overall stay; in particular our central location and the level of service provided. We look forward to welcoming you back to Bay Plaza Hotel for another memorable stay. Regards Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanganui
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The Bay Plaza Hotel in Wellington may not be the international visitor's choice of hotel, but for the occasional weekend visit to Wellington it provides a comfortable room close to theatres, restaurants and Te Papa Museum. Leave the car in the Hotel's car park and enjoy a stroll up town, or in Oriental Parade.The decor may be dated but the rooms are comfortable and clean, views from the windows reveal fabulous Wellington, the restaurant is well-priced, good breakfast! Staff are friendly and interested. For the "domestic" visitor the Bay Plaza Hotel is great value!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Going_again07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are fortunate to have a central city location, with great views and a great team.
Our restaurant has a great reputation, and it is pleasing to see you enjoyed your dining experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Bay Plaza Hotel when you next visit Wellington.
Regards

Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great location and potential. Reality is that services are extra (all of them) and the place is getting quite smudgy all over. My room was tidy but the grime was creeping at the edges.
Front desk was cordial if snide. Just one visit, but I might look elsewhere next time...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arqzea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Good morning,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At the Bay Plaza Hotel we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer, therefore your feedback is very important to us.it is certainly not the normally level of service that we provide. If you can let me know when you are next coming to Wellington, I will personally ensure that you have a great stay.
We are fortunate to have a great central city location, with excellent views.
Regards
Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We were greeted, on arrival by very friendly, helpful and professional staff and the Bay Plaza.
We stayed in a basic room on the 3rd. floor. The accommodation was not expensive and was ok for the price paid. Rooms were very dated although clean and tidy. The only problem we experienced was the extreme road noise during the night. The windows were not double glazed and was very noisy. Bed was comfortable and linen very clean. OK Stay

Room Tip: I guess if you were on a hight floor you may not have the loud road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Good afternoon Neil

Thank you for your feedback with regards to your recent stay and we very much appreciate the comments you made about the reception staff. Customer service is a major focus of the hotel, and it is pleasing to read your comments about the staff members, we have a great team at the Bay Plaza Hotel.
We are fortunate to have a great central city location, with excellent views and value for money.
We look forward to welcoming you again as a guest at the Bay Plaza Hotel when you next visit Wellington city.
Regards
Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The TV is old crt type with the edges of the programme missing, Off and on button on the remote does not work extremely annoying when laying in bed and you want to turn off the TV. Fridge extremely noisy clunking and whirring all night, Room furniture very old and worn, Easy access to only two plug sockets frustrating when in this day and age we have phones and computers to recharge.Evening meal was two steaks but the wrong steak was with the wrong sides we had to swap steaks the well done steak was left as far too tuff. I did not see any refurbishing or harbour views as advertised and finally extremely overpriced for what is provided. Booking out early never to return.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wellington hotels

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

On arrival, reception staff were very helpful and friendly.
The room was poor. Reasonably clean but shabby especially the bathroom which had definitely seen better days.
Didn't eat at the hotel restaurant as there were lots of nicer and cheaper places to eat nearby.
Had to pay extra for car parking and internet access.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sabingates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,571 reviews
0.8 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Willis Wellington Hotel
Willis Wellington Hotel
#44 of 46 in Wellington
347 reviews
0.6 mi away
Trinity Hotel
Trinity Hotel
#30 of 46 in Wellington
502 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Plaza Hotel

Property: Bay Plaza Hotel
Address: 40 Oriental Parade | PO Box 9470, Wellington 6141, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Wellington's exclusive Oriental Parade, the Bay Plaza Hotel is affordable quality accommodation offering harbour and city views in perfect proximity to the Capital's vibrant city centre and superb leisure activities to experience and explore. Te Papa Museum and Courtenay Place 2/5 minutes walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bay Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Plaza Wellington
Wellington Bay Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing