We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great craft beer bar”
Review of Hashigo Zake

Hashigo Zake
Ranked #3 of 24 Nightlife in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hashigo Zake is New Zealand's most single minded beer outlet - defiantly excluding the bland, the boring and the industrial and only serving beer, wine, sake and whisky that our staff and regular customers get excited about. If any of that is a problem, Wellington has plenty of other outlets willing to take your money. But if you want an ever-rotating range of great drinks, brutally frank advice from knowledgeable staff, free wifi and a warm, welcoming environment, step out of the chaos above ground into our basement bar.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great craft beer bar”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This is the must go place for beer geeks. The staff are knowledgeable and friendly, and the clientele is interesting and varied. Over the years the staff and the clientele have become personal friends of ours. They will make a cup of coffee for a non-drinker, and there are good wines and spirits available for the non-beer drinker. But for the beer drinker there is an ever-changing variety of local and imported beers.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frances V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    14
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Excellent craft beer bar, great selection with friendly knowledgable staff. Very pleasant ambience. Would have stayed all night but had others to visit. Of all the craft beer bars I tried HZ certainly had the most interesting selection.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Craft beer at its best”
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

I took my dad here when he came to visit and we both absolutely loved it. A mix of very weird and wonderful beers on tap and knowledgeable staff. Everyone should give this place a go

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JessyMaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“No crap on tap”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Nowadays there are loads of "craft beer bars" around, but Hashigo Zake was one of the first, and is true to the original.
We have been going here since the week it first opened. It is our "go-to" bar if there was one. I feel comfortable here on my own with my laptop and a pint of something delicious in the afternoon, or a cosy place to hole up on a windy Wellington evening with a few friends. It is also a great escape from the riff-raff of Courtney Place.
If you are overwhelmed by the choice of brews, the knowledgeable bar staff are on-hand to recommend something. And not one pseudo-craft beer in sight!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ristari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Real cask conditioned ale”
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Hand pump drawn, served at the correct temperature. What more can I say? If you stick to drinking your CO2 filled fizzy crap then you won't appreciate how good this place is

Helpful?
1 Thank chow018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hashigo Zake also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Hashigo Zake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing