We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges
Ranked #34 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Invercargill
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed at this location about two years ago before it was the Kingsgate. We were fortunate to obtain a good deal which included the accommodation for three nights and breakfasts. The hotel is very clean and the staff most pleasant. Some of the bathroom fittings are a little outdated, but they work so there was no problem. Having recently become a iPad user I was keen to try the free wifi. The receptionist was very helpful showing this elderly lady how to get started. We found the breakfast more than adequate with a good range of juice, tinned fruits and cereals. The hot buffet was of a good standard also. The evening meals were reasonably priced with a varied menu. We found it very easy to walk to the CBD and Te Papa. It was necessary for us to get to Lower Hutt so the close proximity of bus stops was also a bonus. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to any traveller.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    190
    169
    69
    50
See reviews for
72
216
57
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
391 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We chose the hotel because of its close proximity to the Picton Ferry and because it had private parking. We had considerable difficulty finding the hotel, as the map that we had wasn’t very accurate. However, on arrival we were pleased with our choice of hotel.

The room was very comfortable and slightly bigger than had been expected. Although the design of the bathroom was out-moded, as it was pre-fabricated, it was functional and had supplies of shampoo, shower gel and soap.

Having driven for over 7 hours that day, we were very much in need of a drink. The bar staff were very friendly and lively. We also decided to eat dinner in the hotel.

The menu in the restaurant was fairly varied. I chose salmon with orange sauce and sweet potato puree and red cabbage and my husband ate beef Wellington (when in Rome). Both dishes were cooked very well and were plated up in a decorative and imaginative manner. I followed with a passion fruit crème brulee and my husband had a chocolate brownie with berry coulis. Again, both were good. The service was satisfactory and the waitress very helpful. Including bar drinks and a bottle of wine, the total bill for the dinner came to 168 NZD for the two of us, which we thought was reasonable.

We would certainly recommend this hotel to others, it was very convenient for the ferry, quiet and comfortable and the cuisine in the restaurant was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CindyAnn37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We have stayed here 4 times now and this time is the best. We had a great corner room on the 8th floor, views of the Beehive. Good location, couple of minutes to Lambton Quay. New World across the road. The bed was lovely and the room very clean. We had breakfast included. This is standard but a good start to the day. Staff friendly. Not the most luxurious hotel but great value, clean, tidy, good location and would def stay again.

Room Tip: Higher floors are best and a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZMacLeods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellingtonhotels, General Manager at The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear NZMacLeods,

Thank your for your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are glad you keep returning to Kingsgate Hotel Wellington and we hope to see you back again in the near future.


Regards
Jeff Hermes
Kingsgate Hotel Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

I stayed here Sevens weekend (big rugby event in Wellington) and stayed in a very, very disappointing room. Not only did I pay a small fortune (to be expected Sevens weekend), but everything about it was mediocre. The bed was hard, the shower had fittings which were clearly older than me, the TV with 'Sky TV' only had 4 channels, all of them with sports on, the tea-making facilities didn't include milk (this might just be a UK thing though) and everything felt very outdated. I didn't dare see the rest of the hotel so I was just in and out as quick as I could, but didn't have a particularly nice stay. However, it was well located and within walking distance of everything which was great, and the staff took my (very heavy) bag up to my room prior to my arrival which was nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatherineLalevee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellingtonhotels, General Manager at The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Catherine,

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. In the last couple of years we have upgraded the rooms quite significantly except for a couple of small elements in the bathroom which you have mentioned. These items will be reviewed this year.

With regards to your other comments it is a shame that you did not contact reception about some of your concerns. The hotel does have a couple of styles of beds and one more suitable to your liking could have been found if requested. Sky TV has four channels of which two are sport, one movies and one news. There are also a number of other Freeview channels which are available.
The milk is located in the side door of the refridgerator.

Obviously we would like to see all of our guests satisfied and this was not the case and I apologise for this. I would like to mention though, that it is always better to contact reception immediately and we will address any concerns asap.



Regards
Jeff Hermes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1,418 reviews
277 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Kingsgate is a fresh, clean, airy hotel in an off the center location on a quiet street. However, it is a typical, generic hotel. Yet, it is refreshingly better than most others of its ilk, mainly because it does not have swarms of Chinese that seem to plague most of these hotels in NZ. The staff is very warm and helpful. The room I had was compact with a tiny, tight shower like on a cruise ship. Also, the sink does not have a water mixer, instead it has 2 separate faucets for hot and cold, making it a bit difficult. The windows open, so it is nice to be able to get some fresh air. However, the breakfast is as pathetic as it gets in most similar hotels, all of supermarket low quality that is just not edible. There were no fresh fruits or juices, and even the yogurt (it said natural) was sweetened and tasted more like mishti dahi from India. The coffee was surprisingly good here, unlike my general experience in NZ so far. Parking is very tight and a bit awkward, specially in the covered area. But there is ample street parking in case you do not wish to pay 15 NZD per day. Wifi is not free, but it is very fast and very reliable. In the lobby area, it is free.

Overall, a good choice for a couple of days.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZenHealer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Stayed here at Christmas 2013. Front desk staff very helpful and polite, room was comfortable and clean, and well equipped. The big TV was a plus.

Was a fairly good price too, so would certainly consider it again.

If location is paramount, it was a 5 minute walk from Wellington Train Station, and there is a huge supermarket just metres from the hotel, if you get hungry, there's a smashing little chippy next to it.

Laundry facilities are provided downstairs too, essential for my long trip across NZ.

Room Tip: Request higher floor - quieter with better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobWedekind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellingtonhotels, General Manager at The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear RobWedekind,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards
Jeff Hermes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

The Kingsgate is ideally located for those doing business in the inner city Thorndon area. Parliament, Wespac Stadium, TSB Area and NZ Rugby House are all close by. There are plenty of nearby dining options including on site of course. The Speight's Ale House and Backbencher would be the pick of the bunch for a hearty feed and a good ale. The rooms are simple, very simple but adequate. Higher up there are some good views of the city and the hills surrounding it. There is no air con and the windows are small and don't open far so it can be stifling hot which is an issue. The breakfast is pretty standard for hotels but definitely not cheap at $25 for a full cooked and $19 for a continental so if your on a budget and you probably are if your dropping in here try one of the local cafe's on for size. All in all an easy and convenient stay which didn't impact on the company travel fund to heavily. Thanks to the staff who were polite and efficient at both check in and check out.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Willis Wellington Hotel
Willis Wellington Hotel
#45 of 46 in Wellington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
1.1 mi away
Trinity Hotel
Trinity Hotel
#29 of 46 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges

Property: The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges
Address: 24 Hawkestone St | Thorndon, Wellington 6011, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Wellington)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges 3.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently upgraded Thorndon Hotel Wellington - by Rydges is located on the doorstep to the CBD and on the edge of the Government and Corporate precincts of Thorndon. The hotel is the closest hotel to Westpac Stadium providing the best location for all your sporting, concerts and major events. The hotel offers FREE WiFi throughout the building. The Thorndon Hotel Wellington - by Rydges prides itself in providing excellent facilities and all rooms are light, comfortable and fresh. With the back drop of Wellington's famous beautiful hills choose between panoramic views of the Harbour, City Skyline or overlook New Zealand's oldest and historic suburb Thorndon. The Hotel is perfect for both the business, conference and leisure traveler. When staying at The Thorndon Hotel Wellington - by Rydges, the CBD, Lambton Key, bus, train and ferry terminals, Parliament Buildings, Government offices and Botanical Gardens are all on your doorstep. Nothing is better than being accommodated by a hotel which has everything at its feet. Guests of The Thorndon Hotel Wellington - by Rydges can also enjoy complimentary access to city fitness and competitive pricing for off street car parking. Try our tantalising menu in Glasshouse Restaurant or relax and unwind in Glasshouse Bar. With contemporary cuisine and a beautiful setting overlooking established gardens Glasshouse Restaurant & Bar is perfect for all your dining occasions. Open for Breakfast and Dinner 7 days a week why go anywhere else? Additionally our conference rooms have natural light, air-conditioning, sound proof interconnecting doors and can seat 2 - 150 people. The Thorndon Hotel Wellington - by Rydges is a 3 Star Plus Qualmark Rated Hotel and has an Enviro-Silver rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing