We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away for two”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Weekend away for two”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Grand Mecure for three nights as a double celebration his birthday, our engagement. The room was on the 16th floor and was small but had everything we needed including an amazing view of the harbour and downtown. Service was friendly and very obliging with staff on hand 24/7. The only downside to the room was the bathroom, my partner is 6'3 and the shower and room itself was very small for him.
The location of the hotel was very important to us as we are from Christchurch and had not been in a city centre for a long while, access to shops, cafes , the information centre and all of the tourist attractions was great and only a few minutes walk away. Cuba St is located just around the corner and Courtney Pl and the waterfront only minutes away. We discovered two great bar/restaurants tucked in just behind our hotel.
My partner and I completed all of the suggested "things to do" in Wellington including riding the cable cars up to the gardens and to the Carter observatory (which is best to do at night). Took a day trip around the harbour and across to Matiu Somes island and to Days bay for cake and wine at a fabulous café called "Chocolate Dayz". We visited the markets, museums, Te Papa and of course the zoo. We watched a great NZ movie "Shopping" in the famous Embassy cinema, which I highly recommend!!!. We were most impressed with all of the quirky and funky places there were to eat close by enjoying great southern food from "Sweet mothers kitchen" to beautifully presented food from "Foxglove" on the waterfront and Mexican specials from "Arizona bar and grill" just down the road. Our stay in Wellington in the Grand Mecure was great and definitely not long enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank ErinandJoe_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Mercure W, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Dear ErinandJoe_13,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay as well as the hotel facilities. We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Grand Mercure Wellington again in the future.
Kind regards
Ankit Nagpal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    213
    159
    66
    30
See reviews for
91
201
42
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We stayed there for one night. It was very basic. Bought it on special, so it was ok. Wouldn't want to pay the full price for what it is though. Pretty good location, short walk to Cuba street, the Museum etc. Lots of places to eat too.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlin071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Mercure W, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Dear jlin071

Thank you for choosing to stay with Grand Mercure Wellington and really appreciate that you took time out to comment on your stay with us. We have taken your comments on board and are working towards improving our services.
We hope to welcome you back in near future.

Kind Regards
Ankit Nagpal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Stayed twice on our recent trip to NZ, having both a studio and a one bedroom apartment. Although not really sure what to expect we were more than pleased with both stays. The hotel has a narrow frontage and this is obvious when one leaves the lifts on each floor, quite a narrow corridor leading to the rooms but our studio although only small was totally adequate for a one night stay while the one bedroom apartment we had on our return was large and very comfortable.

We had booked through the Accor sales using our Advantage Plus discounts so had a brilliant deal, booked the one bedroom water view for our second stay–our water view was obtained by standing at either the lounge or the bedroom windows and looking to the right but the direct view out from our windows was of the top of the next door building – we were on the 15th floor so lower down would be worse. Apartments at the other end of the corridor would have picked up much better views but I could still view the Island ferries coming and going so all was good for us .

Our apartment had a very comfortable bed, quality furniture and appreciated a TV both in the living area and in the bedroom. Apparently not all one bedroom units have a kitchen, ours only had a microwave plus crockery and cutlery – as we were eating out most of the time this was not a problem but would have liked to have had a sink which is really essential in any apartment so one doesn’t have to resort to the bathroom sink to wash dishes if eating in. Heating worked well on the cold days we experienced in Wellington

Staff were very polite and helpful and we were able to leave luggage on our last day. Washing machine and dryer available for a reasonable charge and a continental breakfast if required but we didn't avail ourselves of this as we did our own. The hotel has great deal going with a taxi company for a cheap fare to the airport – used this a couple of times and found the drivers to be exceptionally good and an easy way to reach the airport for a fraction more than the bus. Internet here is a better deal than most at $10 for 1gb but as I had my own modem didn't get to use it.

The hotel location is just brilliant, only about 5 minutes walk to Cuba Street, Courtney Place, Te Papa, a couple of minutes to Willis Street and just a few metres walk to bus connections and the airport bus. There are numerous restaurants close by including the Abel Tasman Pub, Meow Restaurant, Indian, Chinese and Asian Restaurants plus convenient stores and a bottle shop. Fast food places galore including McDonalds over the road.

Although not up to the standard of some Grand Mercures we have stayed in, we most certainly would return to the Grand Mercure Wellington, for comfort and location it certainly takes some beating – definitely not five star but a nice place to stay particularly if you can secure an amazing deal like we did

Room Tip: High Floor but ask for Harbour facing room or apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barkem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Mercure W, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Dear barkem ,

Many thanks for taking time out to post a review for your stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a really good experience.
We look forward to welcome you in near future.

Kind Regards
Ankit Nagpal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed here over Queens Birthday while having a visit to Wellington. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Room was clean and tidy and bed very comfortable. The only downside was the lack of noise proofing and we found noise from upstairs most intrusive. Very hand location for shops, restaurants and the sights of Wellington.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwitreki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Mercure W, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Dear kiwitreki ,

Many thanks for your feedback for your recent stay at the Grand Mercure Wellington, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I have passed on your comments to our team and it definitely motivates all of us to provide more consistent good quality service for all our guest.

We look forward to welcome you in near future.

Kind Regards
Ankit Nagpal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My husband and I spent time at the beginning and end of our trip to NZ at this hotel a total of five nights in all. We were a bit unsure what to expect given we were able to get a very good deal through advantage plus and paid less that $ 90 a night but we were very pleasantly surprised. Friendly, respectful and courteous staff at reception, small, but modern one bed apartment with with everything we needed including kitchenette with microwave and hot plates which gave us the opportunity to eat in for a change and look out at the wonderful water view from sixteenth floor.
We also appreciated the great city location which allowed us to walk everywhere in the city. Parking was a little problematic when we came back at the end of the trip but the staff helped us sort that out. This was definitely the best value for money accommodation in NZ .

Room Tip: The one bedroom apartments with a view are worth the extra charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marilynov4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Mercure W, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Dear jodrla ,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay as well as the hotel facilities. We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Grand Mercure Wellington again in the future.

Kind regards
Ankit Nagpal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed here on 25 and 26 May with another couple had studio rooms on 15th and 16th floor. Renovated and modernised rooms , compact but more than adequate. The apartmnents do not have a restaurant but meals in your room can be ordered apparantly coming from a sister hotel close by. Handy location close to Cuba Mall and Courtney Place. Murphy,s Irish Bar on Cuba mall great for a generous cooked breakfast at $6 _$10.! No car parking at Apartments but can receptuion can arrange in sister hotel close by if available. We however did the Auckland-Wellington northern explorer train journey. Very relaxing trip leaves Auckland about 8am 3 times per week arrives Wellington about 6 pm. Reception arranged a very competive Taxi fare to airport which was half what we got charged for the short trip from central rail station.

Room Tip: Rooms on south side if below floor 15 will have a better out look
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malcolm i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Mercure W, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Dear malcolm i

Many thanks for your feedback for your recent stay at the Grand Mercure Wellington, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I have passed on your comments to our team and it definitely motivates all of us to provide more consistent good quality service for all our guest.

We look forward to welcome you in near future.

Kind Regards
Ankit Nagpal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2013

My husband and I stayed here recently on our honeymoon. We were very grateful to be given an upgrade to a King apartment.

The apartment was very clean and quite spacious.
A downside was the paper thin walls - our bedroom was right next to the lifts and they could be heard throughout the night. We could also hear loud footsteps and the neighbours tv. We were also disappointed that it was advertised as having sky tv, but this actually meant only a few channels and no ordinary tv.

Apart from that, it is in a great, central location - the staff were very friendly!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwah2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Mercure W, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Dear mwah2,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we very much appreciate the comments. We have passed on you comments to related departments and hope to be of service you again in the near future.


Kind Regards
Ankit Nagpal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Wellington
Grand Mercure Wellington
#23 of 46 in Wellington
27 reviews
0.5 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
740 reviews
0.4 mi away
Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
0.1 mi away
West Plaza Hotel
West Plaza Hotel
#22 of 46 in Wellington
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments

Property: Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments
Address: 130 Victoria Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6142, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're in the heart of it all, 5 minutes to everywhere you want to be. Our very warm welcome and personal service will make you feel at home, while outside the front door the very best of Wellington awaits, right in the heart of all the shopping, entertainment and business districts. Central City Apartment Hotel features superb, modern, spacious apartment style hotel studio, 1 & 2 bedroom apartments with the best city & harbour views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central City Apartment Wellington
Hotel Central City Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing