We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This was our first trip to Wellington and this hotel was fine. The staff was great and very helpful as we had just flown in from Auckland and had wet clothes from a dryer that did not work at our last hotel! The staff kept our bags as we wandered around, dried our clothes and were just very helpful.
That being said, the hotel itself was just ok, But the location is great and accessable to many of the cities attractions.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank packmybagsreadytogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Mercure W, Director of Sales at Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear packmybagsandreadytogo

Thank you for your nice feedback and our staff do like hearing when they do a great job :)

Thanks again,

Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

362 - 368 of 583 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Grand Mercure W, Director of Sales at Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Marion J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Grand Mercure W, Director of Sales at Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Grand Mercure W, Director of Sales at Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Hi there,

I had a 5 day stay in the hotel and I found it to be average. My room was on Level 16 and it was supposed to be Harbour View! But there was not much of the harbour you would be able to see, yes you could see the big water but far away and half of it was blocked by the big building in front and at the corner. The balcony in the pictures in not like that at all, you wouldn't actually dare to walk on it and it is not harbour view at all, it is at the back corner! The shower was the worst, the water wouldn't splash smoothly and it was so small and it was like it was for piercing your head! such a focused beam of water! And the fan on the wall was as low as your head on the wall facing the outdoor, so you could see the outside when taking shower through it and the wind at level 16 was so crazy and it would blow into your ears and body with such a cold throughout your shower! The shower was 1 on a scale of 1 to 10. No bath tube, nothing fancy, the fan would run for half an hour whenever you turn on the lights in the bathroom! You could also see all the cabling and wires through the fan and the water was splashing on it all the time and you would automatically think you life was in real danger! The bedroom was good, there was so no safe for you to put your valuable stuff in. It was not worth the money you were paying. No restaurant in the building itself, you had to walk a long distance steep to get to their recommended restaurant where you could actually eat by showing your room access card and pay later on. No breakfast, no nothing. It was clean however, no bad smell or something, it was really a bit over average, nothing fancy at all. The shower which is really important to me was th WORST and it was really a negative point.

Room Tip: Don't go for harbour view, there is barely a view! The shower is awful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NesaeMouzehkesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Mercure W, Director of Sales at Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear nesaemouzekesh,

Thank you for providing this feedback,

We are looking into your comments on the shower. This is important to us as on occasions there are maintenance issues we need to address.

Thank you again

Kind regards,
Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This has only recently become an Accor property and as a regular accor customer I don't think it is up to standard yet but its getting there.

The staff are fantastic and did their best to help me out.

The main issue is the street noise and even wind coming through the old windows. They are not double glazed and many barely close so it is very hard to block out the night noise and it is in the centre of town.

Initially i was on a lower floor and it was a very unwelcoming room with limited amenities or places to put clothes etc. The bed was dreadful. When i asked for a change they kindly gave me a higher floor and the room was much more like an accor hotel however the noise was still an issue.

Fantastic location but not a place if you need your sleep!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank dramaticAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Mercure W, Director of Sales at Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear dramaticAuckland,

Thank you for your feedback

We are pleased we were able to accommodate a room move for you. Not so pleased about the external noise you heard, and on occasions central Wellington hotels will experience this.

Thank you again for your comments

Kind regards,
Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This was probably the worst hotel we stayed in during our three week visit to NZ. The property boasts "modern" appointed rooms, but couldn't be further from the truth. Our booking stated that our room had a balcony, so we needed to contact reception when our allocated room was without one- only to be told that this only "on request", despite our booking clearly stating "balcony". We were moved to a lower level room with a balcony, but were very disappointed with the tiredness of the room. They appear to have only replaced the carpet and bedroom linen and now call it a "modern" apartment. The bathroom had mould along the top of the shower recess, the kitchenette was very dirty (the hotplate was disgusting) and overall it was not a comfortable stay- with an obviously old mattress which had very worn springs. Not a comfortable stay. The only good point was a central location.

Room Tip: A balcony must be "requested" even if your booking includes this feature!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayMaker859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Mercure W, Director of Sales at Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear HolidayMaker859,

Thank you for your feedback,

We are sorry the experience has not met your expectations. We do receive positive feedback on our location and we are pleased you enjoyed this. The hotel has seen some improvements in the past 18 months however we acknowledge there will be continued work in this area.

Thank you again and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday

Kind regards,
Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
0.5 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#15 of 47 in Wellington
2,278 reviews
0.4 mi away
Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Park Hotel Lambton Quay
Park Hotel Lambton Quay
#20 of 47 in Wellington
181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trinity Hotel
Trinity Hotel
#31 of 47 in Wellington
545 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Wellington
Grand Mercure Wellington
#18 of 47 in Wellington
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments

Address: 130 Victoria Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6142, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: £71 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're in the heart of it all, 5 minutes to everywhere you want to be. Our very warm welcome and personal service will make you feel at home, while outside the front door the very best of Wellington awaits, right in the heart of all the shopping, entertainment and business districts. Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments features superb, modern, spacious apartment style hotel studio, 1 & 2 bedroom apartments with the best city & harbour views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central City Apartment Wellington
Hotel Central City Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing