We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A mixed Bag” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Hotel Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A mixed Bag”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

We chose Travelodge due to its location.In retrospect there are many other Hotels in Wellington
that have an equal location to Wellington CBD. Reasonably friendly staff ,clean rooms and a few extras such as kettle and microwave.Many rooms have an uncomfortable L shape which is slightly claustrophobic especially if you are staying a few days.Access is disjointed and floors are blocked off which can create problems when visiting other guests.
For anyone who is using Broadband the prices are over the top and inflexible. Prospective guests should carefully check other options in Wellington.Free Wifi is the new norm so Travelodge has a way to go.
Overall not an unhappy experience however we will look for other options next time around.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWLG, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 18 December 2011
Dear Glenn H
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Travelodge Wellington.
We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your comments.
If you would like to discuss this in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel or email me at jbristowe@travelodge.co.nz
Kind Regards
John Bristowe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    1,150
    481
    123
    58
See reviews for
440
949
190
508
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

One night stop as part of touring holiday. Room to good standard with all advertised amenities. Good restaurant with friendly and helpful staff.

A comfortable 'no hassle' stay. Would use again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ASC_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWLG, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
Dear ASC_Surrey,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. The Team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future. Kind Regards, John Bristowe Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

We had a twin room. Room was of a good size, had all the advertised amenities - microwave, fridge, kettle. Staff were friendly and helpful - we were allowed to store our large bags in thier office prior to check-in as we'd arrived early so we could go get something to eat etc and then they stored our bags after we'd check-out as we had a late flight booked so we could carry on a little last minute sight-seeing.
Access - we found its best to gain access to the tower via Plimmer Steps from Lambton Quay or by using the escalators from the shopping mall in Lambton Quay as this then takes you direct into the lift for the Travelodge.
Kipps cafe in the shopping mall immediately outside Travelodge is great for breakfasts etc.
Overall - a good stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank w j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWLG, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear W J,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. The Team and I are delighted that you enjoy your staying with us. We are always more then happy to assist with storing guest bags and next year we will have new secure bag storage area at our reception! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast, we have recently changed our buffet offerings and have been receiving some excellent feedback about it. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future. Kind Regards, John Bristowe Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

We stayed here in early November for three nights for a weekend away from Sydney.
The room size, view and facilities were good.

The property does not have air-conditioning (only a heater) and this may be a problem for some. Two things we were not impressed with:

We arrived late on a Friday night and spent most of out time out of the hotel (shopping, Te Papa and in restaurants) only noticed on Saturday that there were quite a few stains on the bedside table and pair of used socks (not my own!) behind the curtains.

There were Guy Fawkes fireworks in Oriental Bay one evening, we asked reception what time these would be they said they did not know – ok. The lady at reception went inside their reception office to ask to ask her Manager/colleague and he dismissably said he did not know (he was on a computer). I asked if they could look it up on the internet and she stared at us with a blank face. Great customer service! Walked over to the Intercontinental and was told straight way that the Fireworks were on at 9am straight away.

I doubt we would return to this property

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blueram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWLG, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
Dear Blueram,
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback about your recent stay at Travelodge Wellington.
I have personally communicated your comments onto the housekeeping and front office departments to address these concerns immediately.
We really do appreciate your feedback that allows us to provide a better experience for future guests.
We trust your stay has not tarnished your overall view of the hotel, and look forward to being able to welcome you back. If you would like to contact me to discuss your stay please feel free to email me at jbristowe@travelodge.co.nz
Kind Regards
John Bristowe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

Stayed in a standard room, pretty average with basic services but comfy bed & great location. Staff helpful & pleasant. Will be happy to stay again next time I'm in Wgtn.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room with view if you manage to get a good deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susannia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWLG, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
Dear Sussannia,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. The Team and I are delighted that you enjoy your staying with us. The team and I work very hard to make Travelodge the great hotel that it is and if we can ever be of any assistance during your stays with us please let us know. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future. Kind Regards, John Bristowe Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

Over priced, good location, they charge you for parking, nothing to keep the kids busy

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWLG, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Dear John J,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Travelodge Wellington. I am sorry to hear that you found us to be overpriced. I do not know what dates you stayed with us or what rate you paid but we are very competitively priced for the Wellington Market for both our rooms and our parking. If you would to contact me to discuss your stay please feel free to email me at jbristowe@travelodge.co.nz Kind Regards
John Bristowe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

Have stayed at this hotel several times even before Travelodge took the place over and have always liked the place. The changes travelodge have made have improved it, the rooms are not large but are very comfortable and travelodges addition of a kitchenette makes it even better value than it was previously. location is good right in the centre of the city and most rooms have a reasonable view. Staff that I had contact with friendly enough without overdoing it. OK this is not a luxury hotel but it is clean, modern and comfortable at a good price for central Wellington.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oldmikeNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWLG, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Dear oldmikeNewZealand,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. The Team and I are delighted that you enjoy your staying with us and that we are your favourite hotel in Wellington! The team and I work very hard to make Travelodge the great hotel that it is and if we can ever be of any assistance during your stays with us please let us know. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future. Kind Regards, John Bristowe Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
0.1 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.5 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.8 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Wellington

Property: Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Address: 2-6 Gilmer Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Wellington
#12 Business Hotel in Wellington
#13 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#14 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour, in the centre of Wellington's CBD and shopping hub. With close proximity to the city's financial hub as well as many Wellington attractions, such as Wellington Zoo, the Wellington Cable Car, the Te Papa Museum of New Zealand, and the Wellington Botanic Gardens, Travelodge Hotel Wellington is perfectly located for both business and leisure travel. We offer fantastic Wellington accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 132 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Enjoy meals and refreshments in the Steps Restaurant & Bar - the perfect place to unwind with friends or to impress clients. Room service is also available, if you would prefer to stay in your own spacious and comfortable room. Ours is one of the best-placed Wellington hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this harbourside city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Hotel
Wellington Travel Lodge
Wellington Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing